Customer Reviews for

The Future of Us

Average Rating 4
( 306 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

Totally loved it. It has a story that kept me turning pages.

posted by booksonmynook on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Fast Read, But Cliched At Times

In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best frien...
In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best friends, now awkward moment neighbors, 96' is the year they discover their future selves; all thanks to AOL and the appearance of a website with profiles that very much resemble themselves and people they know.

As far as the premise goes, The Future of Us had me sold. Back that with talented authors Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, and I was more than eager for this book. I'm happy to say that the book had all the aspects I had looked forward to, but it didn't blow me away.

Emma can be quite whiny and annoying at times, complaining that she has to change what she believes is a horrible, unhappy future, and all based on her future self's random postings. In 200 characters or so, Emma decides that her future sucks, but since she's still in 1996, she can change that. And does so more than willingly.

Josh, on the other hand, is much more wary of changing the future on purpose. He's laid-back and more level-headed than Emma. He also has that pining away for a girl who doesn't want him thing down pat. Readers will like him and feel for him. I know I did.

The Future of Us is a fast read, with short chapters that alternate between Emma's and Josh's POV. At times, it tries too hard to be 90's and it never manages to actually do that. Still, it's fun to see Emma's utter confusion about what Harry Potter is and why it's one of her favorite books, as well as her future self's excitement over a night of Netflix and Glee. If you're looking for a quick read that will entertain you, The Future of Us is sure to do just that.

posted by Nikkayme on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Read, But Cliched At Times

    In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best friends, now awkward moment neighbors, 96' is the year they discover their future selves; all thanks to AOL and the appearance of a website with profiles that very much resemble themselves and people they know.

    As far as the premise goes, The Future of Us had me sold. Back that with talented authors Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, and I was more than eager for this book. I'm happy to say that the book had all the aspects I had looked forward to, but it didn't blow me away.

    Emma can be quite whiny and annoying at times, complaining that she has to change what she believes is a horrible, unhappy future, and all based on her future self's random postings. In 200 characters or so, Emma decides that her future sucks, but since she's still in 1996, she can change that. And does so more than willingly.

    Josh, on the other hand, is much more wary of changing the future on purpose. He's laid-back and more level-headed than Emma. He also has that pining away for a girl who doesn't want him thing down pat. Readers will like him and feel for him. I know I did.

    The Future of Us is a fast read, with short chapters that alternate between Emma's and Josh's POV. At times, it tries too hard to be 90's and it never manages to actually do that. Still, it's fun to see Emma's utter confusion about what Harry Potter is and why it's one of her favorite books, as well as her future self's excitement over a night of Netflix and Glee. If you're looking for a quick read that will entertain you, The Future of Us is sure to do just that.

    37 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good read!

    Good read. Interesting how things have changed and how Facebook affects our lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Not bad

    This was a decent book, but not fantastic. Jay ashers first novel blew me away and i kept waiting for this one to do the same but it never did. I feel they had a great story line and they really could have done so much more with it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    A must-read

    Really 3.5 stars

    After reading Thirteen Reasons Why, I was especially excited to read this book. Add to that the fact that this book is set in the 1990s and involved Facebook, and I knew it was a must-read.

    When Emma loads her AOL CD onto her computer, she has no idea that she will get a glimpse into her future. But that's exactly what she sees - her Facebook page in fifteen years. Together she and Josh, her neighbor who gave her the CD, are lost in the world of Facebook, learning about their futures as well as their friends' futures. Only their futures constantly change based on even the smallest decisions. As Emma struggles to make her future exactly perfect, Josh struggles with his feelings for Emma. However, Emma soon comes to learn that some things about the future she is better off not knowing...because once she does, how can she change them?

    This book has such an intriguing premise, and it was very well executed. Haven't we all wished that we could see what our future holds? I loved seeing how little decisions could affect status updates and bigger decisions could change the course of their lives. Reading this book certainly makes you think about how little decisions impact your life. Beyond that, one of my favorite things about this book was the time setting. I loved revisiting the 90s - reading this book was like a trip down memory lane. I also enjoyed the alternating points of views in this novel; they allowed me to feel connected to both of the characters, and I cared about both of them. Emma especially had a lot of growth as a character. Aside from seeing into the future, everything about this book was very realistic and it made for a very enjoyable read.

    Although the 90s references may not matter much to current teens, there are still many aspects of this book that would be appealing. Occasionally the plot moved a bit slowly with emphasis on Emma trying to figure out her life. While I enjoyed some of these moments, at times I just wanted to know what would happen next. With that, I would also love to know what really does happen for these characters fifteen years down the road.

    Once again, Jay Asher, along with Carolyn Mackler, has written a novel that carries a great message about how choices impact your life. I will look forward to reading more from both of these authors in the future!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    I had read this book and sometimes everything was very predictab

    I had read this book and sometimes everything was very predictable and there was so much exaggeration. I thought the story line was great though. Overall a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Good but needed better ending

    Personally I think there should have been an epilouge since a large focal point of the book was what happened to them in the future. Emma's attitude throughout most of the book also iritated me, she was so selfish and didn't care how her actions effected people around her, mostly Josh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    So intriguing

    This is a book that takes you back in time when the internet was a new not often used thing. It takes this sort of old time period and meshes it with today and makes the reader think of what they would do when they saw their future. Would you try to change it? Would you leave it alone? Or maybe you are meant to see the future so you can change it because maybe the boy you rejected is the one who you should be married to on facebook?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Ok

    It was ok only read 5 chapters it got boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    I would not recommend fro anyone over the age of fourteen. It is

    I would not recommend fro anyone over the age of fourteen. It is too easy. Not a bad book, but a cliche teenage love story. However, I would not recommend it for anyone under the age of twelve because of some mature content.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Not His Best.

    The story is interesting, but the way it's written is nauseating. Although I suppose it's suitable for the young adults it's intended for. After reading Thirteen Reasons Why, this was just a disappointment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Best for young readers

    I only found this story to be only okay. It just didn't live up to its promise, in my opinion. However, if you are a young reader, I think this book would make for a charming and interesting read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    I expected more from the story, more action, but its a good book :)

    Emma and Josh are two teenagers back in 1996. Computers just started to get out and Emma gets one computer from his father (since he is never there for her). Josh and Emma discover this web side called Facebook where all their future its write it down, who are they gonna merry? where are they going to work? where are they going to live? how are they going to look like? how their kids are going to look like? And the most important thing, are they going to be happy?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    I like the idea of the book. Quite interesting. However I don't

    I like the idea of the book. Quite interesting. However I don't believe that the story was able to reach my expectations. The conflict between Emma and Josh was quite bland. There was very little development. Also, Emma can be quite an annoying character. Overall, the book itself isn't terrible. I would compare reading this book to watching a lame episode of your favorite series. If you read 13 Reasons Why and you're interested in this book, go ahead and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty good, considering my experiences with these authors. Thou

    Pretty good, considering my experiences with these authors. Though the middle was somewhat irritating, the ending was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    This story kept me reading until the late hours of the night. Th

    This story kept me reading until the late hours of the night. The pace is good and the anticipation of what the main characters will see next as their futures was a fun aspect. The reason I've only given it three stars is because there was really no conclusion at the end. You don't ever actually find out what the characters' futures become, which I kind of thought was the whole point of the book. In my opinion, there should have been an epilogue showing the characters' future Facebook pages. But, all in all, it was still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    :|

    I would hate to live ina world without computer orsmart phone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Okay

    The plot intrigued my intrest in this book, so I picked it up from the library. If I would say anything about this book, it would be dissapointment. It had so much potential to be more, not that it wasn't bad. I was frustrated how the authors built up to the ending, and the conclusion didn't live up to it. It wasn't a terrible book, but not something I really enjoyed. Just OK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Future of Us is a fun, nostalgic trip into the lives of 2 te

    The Future of Us is a fun, nostalgic trip into the lives of 2 teens in the mid 90's who discover their future selves on Facebook and all the chaos that ensues.

    The novel alternates between Josh & Emma's POV and I'm a huge fan of dueling narrative, especially when its done as brilliantly as it is here. Both characters easily have their own distinct voice, with Josh clearly winning out as my favorite. He's funny, a bit awkward and very honest about who he is. Emma, on the other hand, annoyed me a bit since she comes off quite selfish. I also have very little tolerance for the whole "woe is me" thing. Thankfully though, she isn't like that through the whole book.

    As someone who was a teen in the mid 90's I found many of the pop culture references and 90's lingo to be spot on and I think it helped bring a lot of atmosphere to the story. It was honestly one of my favorite things about the book, it was like someone had put me in a time warped and taken me back to high school.

    While the Facebook premise is cute in theory, there's never really an explanation as to how it's all happening making it feel much more gimmicky then I would have like. In fact if you take out the entire Facebook plot device, nothing about the novel is all that original. Sure the characters all feel real and there's tons of fun 90's references and humor throughout but I kind of expected more from these two established writers.

    If your looking for a fun, quick read then look no further then The Future of Us. There's enough nostalgia in this book to make any 30 something YA reader jump for joy. Although if you were born in the 90's, you may find the premise and characters a bit lacking. No matter what your age, I do hope you will still give this one a go because I had a blast (from the past) reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    :)

    Over all, it was a very good book. With the exception of the main female charector(who's name I share) the people in the bok were awesome. The plot was great though at some points slightly preductable and it really made the reader think about how what you do know will effect you later even un the smallest ways. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    pretty good

    Very intriguing premise in our FB centric world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3