Customer Reviews for

The Future of Us

Average Rating 4
( 312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

Totally loved it. It has a story that kept me turning pages.

posted by booksonmynook on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Fast Read, But Cliched At Times

In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best frien...
In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best friends, now awkward moment neighbors, 96' is the year they discover their future selves; all thanks to AOL and the appearance of a website with profiles that very much resemble themselves and people they know.

As far as the premise goes, The Future of Us had me sold. Back that with talented authors Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, and I was more than eager for this book. I'm happy to say that the book had all the aspects I had looked forward to, but it didn't blow me away.

Emma can be quite whiny and annoying at times, complaining that she has to change what she believes is a horrible, unhappy future, and all based on her future self's random postings. In 200 characters or so, Emma decides that her future sucks, but since she's still in 1996, she can change that. And does so more than willingly.

Josh, on the other hand, is much more wary of changing the future on purpose. He's laid-back and more level-headed than Emma. He also has that pining away for a girl who doesn't want him thing down pat. Readers will like him and feel for him. I know I did.

The Future of Us is a fast read, with short chapters that alternate between Emma's and Josh's POV. At times, it tries too hard to be 90's and it never manages to actually do that. Still, it's fun to see Emma's utter confusion about what Harry Potter is and why it's one of her favorite books, as well as her future self's excitement over a night of Netflix and Glee. If you're looking for a quick read that will entertain you, The Future of Us is sure to do just that.

posted by Nikkayme on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great, futuristic, tale!

    I received this book in the mail about a week ago (without my knowledge!), and I'm so glad I did! I don't think I would have picked up this book on my own, which would have been a shame because it was so endearing! The story is over the course of only one week, but it's definitely enough time for you to learn a lot about the characters and enjoy the story. The whole thing is written from altering perspectives between Josh and Emma (Emma Nelson, which made me think of Degrassi!!), and I really like it when authors do that because then you get both sides of the story. It was a great way to get me to fall madly in love with both characters.

    At first, I wasn't a big fan of Emma. She doesn't really appreciate anything she has, and she's kind of a whiney brat, but she really grows throughout the story. I loved watching Emma grow and develop and sort of find herself and appreciate what's directly in front of her, rather than always wanting more. And Josh. Oh Josh. He's such a kind guy, he's totally crush worthy! I pictured him as the tall, somewhat dorky, skater kid who gets overlooked by a lot of girls, but is such a sweetie he made my heart melt.

    The plot itself is really interesting as well, the idea of finding yourself on Facebook in 15 years and learning about your future self through status updates was a really cool aspect. And all the different things they go to to try and change their futures, or keep them the same, are great to read about. Emma's not happy about her future husband so she decides she'll never meet him. Josh loves that he'll marry the hottest chick at school so he tries as hard as he can to hold on to her in the present. Eventually they learn more about themselves in the present then they ever could, knowing the future.

    Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a little romantic, realistic fiction. The characters go through a lot of real life dilemmas (albeit in a weird time travelish way), and I think anyone (boy or girl) could relate to the story. I really enjoyed reading this, it was quick, fun, thought-provoking, and I even teared up a bit! Go check this one out as soon as you can!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Definately Recommended

    If you read and liked 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asther then you will definately love this!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Is this book to fasr!!!!!

    I luv fast paced books but im woundering if this book is to fast somwone plz reply thanx

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    13 reasons why

    Thirteen reasons why is better even though it is more sad.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    A very good book

    This book is spectacular! It kept me reading late through the night, and I think its really uplifting. I just wish it had been longer and in more detail because i liked it so much!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Really good book

    This is a really good book and a quick read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    This book was AMAZING. I absolutely enjoyed it but it go innapropriate at times. Other then that it was just superb. I told eveyone about it and now everyone wants to borrow it frim me!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Valerie Book purchased for review Review originally

    Reviewed by Valerie
    Book purchased for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    The premise of this book had me hooked from the beginning! Imagine that you receive a new computer and a CD to log on to the internet…back in 1996. AND, once you log on, you see something called Facebook with pictures of someone with YOUR name…

    This is what happens in the world of Josh and Emma. Emma receives a new computer because her Dad and his new wife have a new baby, and a new family…she feels left out. Josh’s mom doesn’t want him using any type of CD where the phone line will be tied up and suggests that he gives it to Emma. What really confuses Emma is that the picture that pops up of a person with her name also has a different last name added on…and types sentences that imply she is very unhappy.

    Over time, Emma is convinced that she is seeing her future self but Josh is skeptical and thinks that someone is playing a prank on her using what they know about her already, like using pictures from their yearbook, etc. As Josh accepts that they are indeed seeing the future, he is very pleased and astonished that he’s managed to snag the hottest girl in high school. He LOVES his future.

    Emma, on the other hand, keeps tabs on herself and doesn’t like her future at all. She determines that she will change it – and does. What she doesn’t expect is that Josh doesn’t want her to do one thing that will affect his future also…soon, they aren’t talking and their friends have no idea what’s going on.

    What makes this story so very sweet is that Josh and Emma are neighbors and childhood friends. As they grew up, Josh started having a crush on Emma but she didn’t return his feelings. As they work through present problems trying to avoid future problems, they both have to decide what’s most important to each of them – and deny the temptation to see other people’s future as well.

    I really enjoyed this story which was a joint collaboration between the authors.  At times, I disliked Emma’s character since she seemed so selfish but, over time, she grew on me.  She was simply a teen trying to figure out her feelings and what she wanted.  I liked Josh’s character from the very beginning and he continued to be a character I enjoyed.  The plot of this book was so different that it really had me turning pages late into the night wondering how it would all end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

       I love the premise of The Future of Us, and I am actually kin

       I love the premise of The Future of Us, and I am actually kinda sad that it has taken me this long to pick it up. I immediately connected with Emma and was pulling for Josh, the other main character, and the boy next door. They used to be close, but things have changed for them in the last 6 months, but Emma's discovery of her... and Josh's future facebook pages draws them back together. 
       It was a really cute story and the romance was a slow build and a little frustrating at times, but the ending came together and it was solid. 
        I loved seeing how even the smallest detail can have huge waves, and it was hard for them to learn the lessons the hard way. Sometimes it is better not to know. If each moment can change things in such a big way, then you can't make decisions on that little bit of information.
       The nostalgia factor is really nice, but sometimes overplayed. 
       I enjoyed the friendship basis between Emma and Josh, and the subtleties of them trying to figure out if it could work and what their feelings for themselves, others and each other are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    I couldn't put it down. Nice easy read with a lot to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    i am junior in high school, so i am the same age as the characte

    i am junior in high school, so i am the same age as the characters in the book. Honestly, it was cliche as times, but overall it was really good and relate-able.
    if you want a nice, quick read that leaves you satisfied, then read this book. i read it in two days and now im ready to start a trilogy. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    If you guys love books & have a instagram go follow @bloggin

    If you guys love books & have a instagram go follow @bloggingaboutbooks & please support us !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I like fiction and fantasy book. I loved this book because, it describes how it would be to see your future. It shows in this book that knowing your future can have some ups and downs. Don't abandoned this book it's a good this if you like realistic fiction as well. I well be writing a letter to the author to ask for a sequel. Please write the author for a sequel if you loved this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Amazing

    The book realy caught my attention

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    This book is one of the better books I've read over my many year

    This book is one of the better books I've read over my many years of reading. It shows the American Teenage Perspective on life, with Facebook.
    I always wanted to be reading this book as much as possible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    I enjoyed this book. At the end of each chapter, I was tempted t

    I enjoyed this book. At the end of each chapter, I was tempted to keep reading on and on. I thought the topic of this book was fascinating. I would recommend this to teens(since some parts are mature). Overall, this book was a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Great read...couldnt put it down

    Great read...couldnt put it down

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    The future of us review

    I think its a really good book to a certain degree. You just really need to pay attention to when the point of view changes from chapter to chapter. Thats what really has me messed up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So with having a facebook, I am able to talk to my friends, see

    So with having a facebook, I am able to talk to my friends, see what's going on with school and work and even post comments. So cool right! Well what if I had the opportunity to refresh my page and see my future life. Wicked! I would probably think I am taking some kind of hallucination drug or think I might be going crazy.

    I loved the characters, even though some of their choices were not the smartest. Seeing them grow up I think was the greatest thing of this book. We were able to see them make mistakes, that most teenagers make, but we also saw the maturity that grew out of them as the book progressed.

    The love interest was there and of course there is going to be a little twist but by the end the characters end with the people we all prayed for it to happen. This is where some of the main mistakes happened in but they realized their mistakes and went forward with their feelings out front.

    Even though I wasn't with AOL for all my childhood years, I can still relate to this book and I believe that anyone who did have AOL can too. So I still recommend that everyone give this book a chance and see where it goes for you!

    I give this book 4 souls!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Amazing!

    LOVED IT! Couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4