Customer Reviews for

The Future of Us

Average Rating 4
( 311 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

great

Totally loved it. It has a story that kept me turning pages.

posted by booksonmynook on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Fast Read, But Cliched At Times

In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best frien...
In the age of Facebook and smartphones, it's almost difficult to remember a time when every American household didn't have at least one computer. But that's exactly the life that Emma and Josh live. 1996 was the year of Toy Story, but for these two used to be best friends, now awkward moment neighbors, 96' is the year they discover their future selves; all thanks to AOL and the appearance of a website with profiles that very much resemble themselves and people they know.

As far as the premise goes, The Future of Us had me sold. Back that with talented authors Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler, and I was more than eager for this book. I'm happy to say that the book had all the aspects I had looked forward to, but it didn't blow me away.

Emma can be quite whiny and annoying at times, complaining that she has to change what she believes is a horrible, unhappy future, and all based on her future self's random postings. In 200 characters or so, Emma decides that her future sucks, but since she's still in 1996, she can change that. And does so more than willingly.

Josh, on the other hand, is much more wary of changing the future on purpose. He's laid-back and more level-headed than Emma. He also has that pining away for a girl who doesn't want him thing down pat. Readers will like him and feel for him. I know I did.

The Future of Us is a fast read, with short chapters that alternate between Emma's and Josh's POV. At times, it tries too hard to be 90's and it never manages to actually do that. Still, it's fun to see Emma's utter confusion about what Harry Potter is and why it's one of her favorite books, as well as her future self's excitement over a night of Netflix and Glee. If you're looking for a quick read that will entertain you, The Future of Us is sure to do just that.

posted by Nikkayme on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Totally loved it. It has a story that kept me turning pages.

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Loved it :)

    <3

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Amazing story and fantastic plot. It's now on my shelf waiting to be read over and over agian. Truly awesome!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    From previously reading "13 Reasons Why", I was more t

    From previously reading &quot;13 Reasons Why&quot;, I was more than excited to start this book. Jay Asher and Carolyn Macklers writing styles paired perfectly together to make for an amazing read. I highly recommend this book to anyone. I was able to finish it in 2 DAYS! The book kept me turning the pages and wanting more and more. It was hard to not fall in love with the characters and story line.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Best book ever

    This book, even though fiction, makes you reflect on your choices and what the outcome could be

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Love It!

    This book is all about Emma and Josh looking at their own future, i finished this book in one day! i recommend it this book is awesome


    PS: i'm a very picky person when it comes down to books!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Great book

    If you are looking for a great book to read then i would pick this one it was fast pass and very amazing looked this book but it is mostly for teens that like romance and mistory it was fantastic please read this book you will love it i promise you that

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Book looks like bout love

    Is thiz book bout LOVE p.s. michie wrote this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Amazing book!!!!!!!

    I recently read this book it was amazing,i loved the two poinys of views of Emma and Josh i have nothing bad to say.I like Carolyn Mackler's view a littler more for emmas side than josh's but Jay asher also did a good job.this is my number two favorite book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    FirePaw

    I vote DarkStripe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Snowpaw & Dustflight

    Snowpaw's vote- Shadowfur
    <p>
    Dustflight's vote- Darkstrike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Leopardpaw

    Wakes up again and limps back to camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Josh & Sydney's relationship

    BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Great book

    It was a good book even though i wanted emma to hook up with cody and josh to hook up with sydney it was okay. But i really wanted josh to be with sydney.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    ..

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Post your applications here!

    Hazzah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Really good

    I really liked this book. I was in high school at the same time as the characters so it was a fun little bit of nostalgia for me. It was a very fun book to read. Emma was a little on the annoying side and a little bit boy crazy and superficial when it came to the reason that she went out with guys. Anyone who reads this needs to remember that teenagers are not always the most rational when it comes to the opposite sex. I really enjoyed this book and would love to read more by these two authors.

    Plot:
    Josh and Emma are about to discover themselves—fifteen years in the future.
    It's 1996, and Josh and Emma have been neighbors their whole lives. They've been best friends almost as long—at least, up until last November, when everything changed. Things have been awkward ever since then, but when Josh's family gets a free AOL CD-ROM in the mail, his mom makes him bring it over so that Emma can install it on her new computer. When they sign on, they're automatically logged onto Facebook-but Facebook hasn't been invented yet. Josh and Emma are looking at themselves fifteen years in the future. Their spouses, careers, homes, and status updates—it's all there. And every time they refresh their pages, their futures change. As they grapple with the ups and downs of their future, they're forced to confront what they're doing right—and wrong—in the present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    By KolbyBM, The future of us is intriguing book using two points

    By KolbyBM,
    The future of us is intriguing book using two points of views to tell a story. The first point of view is from a girl named Emma, a high school junior in a crappy relationship who is also dealing with her parent’s divorce and her dad moving to Florida. She recently went through a fall out with her childhood best friend and neighbor Josh, who tells the other point of view in the story. 
    Things between Josh and Emma have been awkward ever since Emma slipped up and said something that accidently hurt Josh. Being in the same grade and seeing each other constantly, this was hard for both of them. 
    One-day Josh’s family gets an America Online CD-ROM in the mail. Josh is forced by his mom to bring it to Emma’s house to install it on her new computer she got from her Dad. When they open the software a website called “Facebook” is saved in her favorites. The problem is it’s 1996, and Facebook hasn’t been invented yet. 
    The website shows details about their life in 15 years from now, which isn’t what they would have predicted. Every time they go back to the website to refresh the page their future changes in good and bad ways. The two together now must face the present to deal with the good and bad they are doing to affect their future. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Luved it

    I love this book recommended to ages13 and up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is really good. I highly recommend it to mainly teen girls like myself. I love the ending. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8