Customer Reviews for

Fuzzy Nation

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A fun read anyone will love

I read a good bit of science fiction. Lots of it, I don't end up recommending to others. Why? Sometimes sci-fi demands a specific taste. With Fuzzy Nation, I can say that it is a book that has a broad range of folks who will enjoy it.

Science fiction can get lo...
I read a good bit of science fiction. Lots of it, I don't end up recommending to others. Why? Sometimes sci-fi demands a specific taste. With Fuzzy Nation, I can say that it is a book that has a broad range of folks who will enjoy it.

Science fiction can get lost in the "science" aspect at times and ignore the reasons you set out to read a story in the first place. Fuzzy Nation does a great job of telling a story and asking questions that couldn't be asked otherwise.

Don't mistake this review as me saying it is too heavy. It is a fun book that literally had me laughing out loud (not lol . . . I mean REALLY laughing) at the one liners delivered by the imperfect hero of the book. Get Fuzzy Nation. You won't regret it.

posted by 3322509 on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good Entertaining Scifi

John Scalzi has set a very high bar for himself. While I've never read the H. Beam Piper book upon which "Fuzzy Nation" is based, I've read a lot of John Scalzi, and his other tremendous work which form the basis of my opinion on his latest short novel.

Make no mista...
John Scalzi has set a very high bar for himself. While I've never read the H. Beam Piper book upon which "Fuzzy Nation" is based, I've read a lot of John Scalzi, and his other tremendous work which form the basis of my opinion on his latest short novel.

Make no mistake; ANYTHING from Scalzi is better than 90% of what's being produced today. The story of the discovery of a new alien species is deliberately light-weight, fun and funny. The fuzzys, small cat-like beings who have a mysterious intelligence about them, are wonderfully written. Scalzi's at his absolute best in piecing together interactions between fuzzys and humans and fuzzys amongst themselves.

It's a given that Scalzi's stories will be well-written, have solid characters, good science, and great dialogue. His "Old Man's War" series combine all of that with a deep multi-layered plot which, in total, delivers the best science fiction being written today. "Fuzzy Nation", however, falls short of the standard he's set for himself. The characters, with a few exceptions, aren't as vibrant, the plot is more predictable, and the multi-layered threads of the story are thinner.

Scalzi always writes very smooth and witty dialogue. The protagonist, Jack Halloway, is purposefully only sort of likable. Every interaction he has is laced with snide, biting dialogue - funny in spurts, but frustratingly unrelenting throughout.

It becomes clear, early on in "Fuzzy Nation", who wears white hats and who wears black. The baddies are too clichéd. I'm usually pretty dense when it comes to predicting plot routes and destinations, but they're fairly obvious here.

Despite those shortcomings, I highly recommend this book and am considering having my 6th grader read it as well. It¿s a short simple story, with clear themes of good v. bad, smart environmentalism, with a story arc that concludes satisfactorily (if not unexpectedly). If you consider Scalzi's "Old Man's War" as movie-grade entertainment with large scale, cross-universe, sweeping scifi themes, then consider "Fuzzy Nation" as a high quality TV Movie or Mini Series.

posted by JGolomb on December 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    A fun read anyone will love

    I read a good bit of science fiction. Lots of it, I don't end up recommending to others. Why? Sometimes sci-fi demands a specific taste. With Fuzzy Nation, I can say that it is a book that has a broad range of folks who will enjoy it.

    Science fiction can get lost in the "science" aspect at times and ignore the reasons you set out to read a story in the first place. Fuzzy Nation does a great job of telling a story and asking questions that couldn't be asked otherwise.

    Don't mistake this review as me saying it is too heavy. It is a fun book that literally had me laughing out loud (not lol . . . I mean REALLY laughing) at the one liners delivered by the imperfect hero of the book. Get Fuzzy Nation. You won't regret it.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Entertaining Scifi

    John Scalzi has set a very high bar for himself. While I've never read the H. Beam Piper book upon which "Fuzzy Nation" is based, I've read a lot of John Scalzi, and his other tremendous work which form the basis of my opinion on his latest short novel.

    Make no mistake; ANYTHING from Scalzi is better than 90% of what's being produced today. The story of the discovery of a new alien species is deliberately light-weight, fun and funny. The fuzzys, small cat-like beings who have a mysterious intelligence about them, are wonderfully written. Scalzi's at his absolute best in piecing together interactions between fuzzys and humans and fuzzys amongst themselves.

    It's a given that Scalzi's stories will be well-written, have solid characters, good science, and great dialogue. His "Old Man's War" series combine all of that with a deep multi-layered plot which, in total, delivers the best science fiction being written today. "Fuzzy Nation", however, falls short of the standard he's set for himself. The characters, with a few exceptions, aren't as vibrant, the plot is more predictable, and the multi-layered threads of the story are thinner.

    Scalzi always writes very smooth and witty dialogue. The protagonist, Jack Halloway, is purposefully only sort of likable. Every interaction he has is laced with snide, biting dialogue - funny in spurts, but frustratingly unrelenting throughout.

    It becomes clear, early on in "Fuzzy Nation", who wears white hats and who wears black. The baddies are too clichéd. I'm usually pretty dense when it comes to predicting plot routes and destinations, but they're fairly obvious here.

    Despite those shortcomings, I highly recommend this book and am considering having my 6th grader read it as well. It¿s a short simple story, with clear themes of good v. bad, smart environmentalism, with a story arc that concludes satisfactorily (if not unexpectedly). If you consider Scalzi's "Old Man's War" as movie-grade entertainment with large scale, cross-universe, sweeping scifi themes, then consider "Fuzzy Nation" as a high quality TV Movie or Mini Series.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Not up to the original

    This book is a revisiting of the H. Beam Piper novel Little Fuzzy. It is inferior to that book. In the original book the Zarathrustra Corp was much more real. It had people trying to convince themselves that the fuzzies were not people, not just greedily killing them off. Corporations frequently do evil by blinding themselves first(think the recent mortgage bubble), they almost never go beyond that. Secondly, the protaganist was much more likable in the Piper story, and more believable as well. Mr. Scalzi is writing for a more cynical time, but it does not improve the story.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    quick fun read - another great book by John Scalzi

    First I must say that I have never read the original, so this is a book which for me is standing on its own. This book was everything I look for in a fun novel - witty, sarcastic, an easy read, and a story which presents a neat idea. John Scalzi's characters tend to be extremely sarcastic - a trait which I appreciate. Furthermore, his sci-fi novels are easy reads set it novel universes. I would highly recommend this to you if you enjoy any of Scalzi's other works (AKA: enjoy neat universes and sarcastic characters ).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as the origional,But worth reading.

    I didn't thing I would like this book,since i grew up with the H Beam Piper version,Although the story started out slow,I got to the point where I couldn't put it down. I recommend reading the three H.Beam Piper books before reading this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    A great quick read!

    I enjoyed Fuzzy Nation. Good story, good setting, and well told....with just a touch of legal suspense novel thrown in.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    greatly, highly, recommended

    this is the one that started me on sci-fi all those years ago. I actually cried in a couple of places so that my mom took away the book. (which brought on bigger tears) she read the book at my insistance and soon my dad and both older brothers did also.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2012

    A very good book. A quick enjoyable read.

    This is a reboot of the 1960's novel "Little Fuzzy" by H. Beam Piper.
    The original story is one of my favorites.
    Mr. Scalzi's reboot is very good. He updated the story and added some depth that many newer readers would find lacking.
    I recommend this to anyone looking for a quick enjoyable read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Update of a Classic

    before I read Fuzzy Nation I read "Little Fuzzy". They both are engaging but approach the same topic and basic premise differently. As with all of Scalzi's books I have read so far, he brings his own imagination and spin to this classic story about a newly discovered species and the conflict around determining whether they are sapient. You won't regret buying this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Not bad

    Fuzzy Nation is a fast, easy read (a serious reader can sit down and finish it in one afternoon). Not a whole lot of action, but not boring either. All in all, a pretty good book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Bellakit

    Can i join

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Stormpatch

    Leaves to find a more active mate.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Kudos!

    A fine homage to H. Beam Piper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    A good read!

    Not quite on par with Scalzi's other novels but a great read. I have not read the original yet, and it isn't needed to enjoy this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    not recommended - save your money

    What is it that so many movies, TV shows and now books are re-treads of earlier works? Do the writers lack the imagination and creativity to do something new? Are the publishers simply so cowardly that they will only select books that are already proven money-makers?

    Whatever the reason, this is a terrible way to sell science fiction.

    I've always loved H. Beam Piper's Little Fuzzy stories and I read this book with the hopes that someone was attempting to take up where Piper left off. I was wrong! This book is nothing but a rip-off, - an inferior rip-off at that.

    Save your money and get a copy of the original Little Fuzzy instead.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Had high hopes

    But alas, I found it to be boring in the end.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Very nice

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Blazin

    I don't really care if i'm in it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Firework

    Can i b in it pweeze? I think u already know wat i look like...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Blue lightning

    Fairly interesting! Can I beh in it pwuez?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6