Customer Reviews for

Fuzzy Nation

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A fun read anyone will love

I read a good bit of science fiction. Lots of it, I don't end up recommending to others. Why? Sometimes sci-fi demands a specific taste. With Fuzzy Nation, I can say that it is a book that has a broad range of folks who will enjoy it.

Science fiction can get lo...
I read a good bit of science fiction. Lots of it, I don't end up recommending to others. Why? Sometimes sci-fi demands a specific taste. With Fuzzy Nation, I can say that it is a book that has a broad range of folks who will enjoy it.

Science fiction can get lost in the "science" aspect at times and ignore the reasons you set out to read a story in the first place. Fuzzy Nation does a great job of telling a story and asking questions that couldn't be asked otherwise.

Don't mistake this review as me saying it is too heavy. It is a fun book that literally had me laughing out loud (not lol . . . I mean REALLY laughing) at the one liners delivered by the imperfect hero of the book. Get Fuzzy Nation. You won't regret it.

posted by 3322509 on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good Entertaining Scifi

John Scalzi has set a very high bar for himself. While I've never read the H. Beam Piper book upon which "Fuzzy Nation" is based, I've read a lot of John Scalzi, and his other tremendous work which form the basis of my opinion on his latest short novel.

Make no mista...
John Scalzi has set a very high bar for himself. While I've never read the H. Beam Piper book upon which "Fuzzy Nation" is based, I've read a lot of John Scalzi, and his other tremendous work which form the basis of my opinion on his latest short novel.

Make no mistake; ANYTHING from Scalzi is better than 90% of what's being produced today. The story of the discovery of a new alien species is deliberately light-weight, fun and funny. The fuzzys, small cat-like beings who have a mysterious intelligence about them, are wonderfully written. Scalzi's at his absolute best in piecing together interactions between fuzzys and humans and fuzzys amongst themselves.

It's a given that Scalzi's stories will be well-written, have solid characters, good science, and great dialogue. His "Old Man's War" series combine all of that with a deep multi-layered plot which, in total, delivers the best science fiction being written today. "Fuzzy Nation", however, falls short of the standard he's set for himself. The characters, with a few exceptions, aren't as vibrant, the plot is more predictable, and the multi-layered threads of the story are thinner.

Scalzi always writes very smooth and witty dialogue. The protagonist, Jack Halloway, is purposefully only sort of likable. Every interaction he has is laced with snide, biting dialogue - funny in spurts, but frustratingly unrelenting throughout.

It becomes clear, early on in "Fuzzy Nation", who wears white hats and who wears black. The baddies are too clichéd. I'm usually pretty dense when it comes to predicting plot routes and destinations, but they're fairly obvious here.

Despite those shortcomings, I highly recommend this book and am considering having my 6th grader read it as well. It¿s a short simple story, with clear themes of good v. bad, smart environmentalism, with a story arc that concludes satisfactorily (if not unexpectedly). If you consider Scalzi's "Old Man's War" as movie-grade entertainment with large scale, cross-universe, sweeping scifi themes, then consider "Fuzzy Nation" as a high quality TV Movie or Mini Series.

posted by JGolomb on December 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    A fun read anyone will love

    I read a good bit of science fiction. Lots of it, I don't end up recommending to others. Why? Sometimes sci-fi demands a specific taste. With Fuzzy Nation, I can say that it is a book that has a broad range of folks who will enjoy it.

    Science fiction can get lost in the "science" aspect at times and ignore the reasons you set out to read a story in the first place. Fuzzy Nation does a great job of telling a story and asking questions that couldn't be asked otherwise.

    Don't mistake this review as me saying it is too heavy. It is a fun book that literally had me laughing out loud (not lol . . . I mean REALLY laughing) at the one liners delivered by the imperfect hero of the book. Get Fuzzy Nation. You won't regret it.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    quick fun read - another great book by John Scalzi

    First I must say that I have never read the original, so this is a book which for me is standing on its own. This book was everything I look for in a fun novel - witty, sarcastic, an easy read, and a story which presents a neat idea. John Scalzi's characters tend to be extremely sarcastic - a trait which I appreciate. Furthermore, his sci-fi novels are easy reads set it novel universes. I would highly recommend this to you if you enjoy any of Scalzi's other works (AKA: enjoy neat universes and sarcastic characters ).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    greatly, highly, recommended

    this is the one that started me on sci-fi all those years ago. I actually cried in a couple of places so that my mom took away the book. (which brought on bigger tears) she read the book at my insistance and soon my dad and both older brothers did also.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Update of a Classic

    before I read Fuzzy Nation I read "Little Fuzzy". They both are engaging but approach the same topic and basic premise differently. As with all of Scalzi's books I have read so far, he brings his own imagination and spin to this classic story about a newly discovered species and the conflict around determining whether they are sapient. You won't regret buying this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Bellakit

    Can i join

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Very nice

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Blazin

    I don't really care if i'm in it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Firework

    Can i b in it pweeze? I think u already know wat i look like...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Blue lightning

    Fairly interesting! Can I beh in it pwuez?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    My fuzzy past pt 1

    "Torak time for dinner." *i get up from my bed i was watching on youtube honest movie trailer frozen* "Chornos come on get up." My brother always takes afternoon naps. This time i decided to have some fun with him. I shot him with a nerf gun. Then i ran onto the dinner table casually. "So had dad come back yet?" I asked. Mum stared at me and said "When you go to the dark valley evil things happen were not sure." She replied. *Chornos walked in* "i had a nightmare i got shot in the head with a nerf gun." I snicker. The next day as i'm walking to school i found someone who isn't in the village. He picked me up his cutie mark was a pair of glasses with a skull. "LET ME GO OLD FREAK!" He takes me through a series of tunnels and then i see this lab. I wake up hours later not to know anything. 5 years later i've gotten used to this for days. I was wearing headphones that gave me powers and no memory. I had a sword that streches out like a whip. And tech armor. He renames me Nitro.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Writing, Well Handled Ethical Conflicts

    While the book is written in a interesting style, with excellent prose and wit, the book is actually a discussion of the methodology for resolution of ethical conflicts.

    The context of the ethical conflict is, of course, the discovery of a "new" intelligence. However, conflicts of individual vs. corporate monetary incentives; the ethics of an attorney as opposed to disbarred attorney; and the search for insight into resolution of personal failings sets the stage for the readers personal search of what they would do.

    A good, fast read with a moving, and complicated, narrative. Very will done by an excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Fast paced and glorious

    Laughter, tears and pleasure. This book will provide you with all three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Another hit

    I usually love John Scalzi's books. This one was no exception. Really enjoyed it. Kept me turning pages and the ending was satisfying. One of my new favorites. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    A Classic redone well!

    A must read for any age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Brilliant

    The flavor of a Heinlein, but in Scalzi's inimitable style. Among Scalzi's books, this is one of my favorites...no,among books in this genre, this is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Fuzzy

    He aint right

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3