Customer Reviews for

Fuzzy Navel (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absurd Nonstop Nonsense

    This is the fifth book in Konrath's Jack Daniels series. I loved the first four. This one, however, was a huge disappointment for me. Halfway through, I gave up and skipped ahead to the last few pages just to see how it ended. It didn't, really.

    Lots of "action", that was more gratuitous violence than anything else. Most of it made no sense. Lots of shooting. I mean lots! Houses being ripped apart by high-powered bullets. Yet the people inside are discussing birthmarks and Jack Daniels is holding a frozen bag of peas to her sore jaw, as if it's just another day at the office. Coincidences bordered on the ridiculous. Jack Daniels' life has become a violent comic strip, with her as the heroine pursued by a constant onslaught of madmen and women that no one but her can stop. This was more of a satirical spin on suspense than a book I could take seriously, even for a moment.

    Konrath has proven himself a brilliant writer with prior books in this series, which is the only reason I bumped this one from 1 star to 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    All I can say is I love "Jack", and her stories, especially when "Harry" is involved.

    I wish there was more interaction between Jack and Harry, because when they are together, I literally laugh out loud. I enjoy the different stories, and as always, can't wait for the next one to come out. This is a home library keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Another fun read in this great series!

    If you want a detective story that has fun with interesting characters and keeps you on the edge of your seat - you need to read this series. I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Konrath does it again.

    The thrills keep coming with each Jacqueline Daniels book. "Who dies" is the big question. He is giving nothing away before Cherry Bomb gets here and that isn't soon enough. His books are keepers for personal mystery libraries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Fuzzy Navel not up to Konrath's usual standard

    After reading all of Konrath's other Jack Daniels novels, this was a disappointment. The humor and suspense are still there, but the violence and gore make this less than a page turner. I hung in there to the end, then threw the book into the garbage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Chicago PD Lieutenant Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels is going through a good period in her life. She's engaged to Latham, a guy she's crazy about, is living with her mom in a house outside the city, and has just received word her archenemy Alex Kork is dead. Jack and her partner Herb Benedict are called to the scene of a murder, where a sex offender has been killed by a sniper. But the sniper isn't finished and keeps taking potshots at Jack and the police officers investigating the crime scene. Jack manages to get the officers out of danger, attracting the attention of the sniper, and learns that two other snipers have murdered sex offenders in other parts of Chicago. In the midst of all this, Jack gets a call from her mother telling her she needs to come home. Jack, feeling something isn't right, rushes home, where she finds her mother and Latham held prisoner by Kork. From that point on, Jack is engaged in a battle to save her own life, as well as her mom's and Latham's, and even that of her ex-partner Harry McGlade when he shows up. And not just from Kork, but from the snipers, who have tracked Jack down and want in on the fun.

    Take a deep breath before beginning this book because there's nonstop action and nail-biting suspense from the first page. Jack Daniels is a tough cop but Kork proves herself to be more than a worthy adversary and is as relentless as the Energizer bunny. The book moves along at a fast pace, with plenty of dark humor and witticisms thrown around, and a quirky surprise involving the obnoxious McGlade. Some readers may feel cheated by the ending, which leaves a question unanswered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    J. A. Konrath has done it again!

    J.A. Konrath has done it again. He has written a book that is action packed and hilarious. How Jack Daniels gets herself in and out of these situations makes for a fun ride. Lt. Daniels is trapped in her own home with those she loves and with a psycho bent on killing them all, and with a band of crazed snipers outside wanting the same. It is quick and enjoyable read. Only problem; it has a cliffhanger ending and I now have to wait until the next book comes out. And believe yous me, I will be reading that one also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    Waiting for Cherry Bomb is going to be hard

    Just finised reading Fuzzy Navel. It kept me on the edge of my seat, and could not put it down. No housework today!!! I work in a Library and we ordered all of your Jack Daniels books. They were being checked out at such a rate. My co-worker and I decided to read them and let me tell you, we were almost fighting over who got the next book when it came back in. We figured it all out and we have read all of them. We are going to flip for who gets Cherry Bomb first. Mr. Konrath, thank you so much for such an enjoyable series. Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Totally boring and tired

    I loved all the other Jack Daniels novels- very funny, absorbing characters and solid relationships made this humorous series work. These books had great elements of crime, but their humor really made them work. This entry however just did NOT work, Konrath, keeps bringing back serial killers of past works, and my interest in them had long gone. It is as if Konrath is fearful of introducing new characters into his formula. Gone are the rich relationships between partners and especially between Jack and her mom. I felt as if the author wrote this book on a dare, without the reader in mind. Hopefully, if he chooses to continue this series, he will use his creative juices and bring us some characters we can embrace. This book is a total failure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Holy Cow!

    Git on wit yo bad self, J.A. Konrath! Those who loved the previous books in the Jack Daniels series won't be disappointed with FUZZY NAVEL. From the first sniper's shot, this book is slam bam in your face. Jack Daniel's day has been pretty bad, but no one can imagine what's still in store for the detective when she heads home to check on her mom in the burbs. But when she gets there and finds that everyone is all tied up-literally, she isn't quite ready to give up. Not yet, anyway. Jack's past has come back with a vengeance and this time, it's looking like no one is getting out alive. Worse than discovering her home has been invaded, her work has followed her home. Konrath has a take no prisoners writing style that seeps into every pore, leaving the reader breathless and exhausted. FUZZY NAVEL is an action-packed must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Konrath Keeps Getting Better & Better!

    Pour yourself a tall beverage, park yourself in a comfy chair, and get ready for the ride of your life!  Once you start you won't stop until THE END. J.A. takes it up a notch with Fuzzy Navel and the action never stops.  As with the previous novels Jack Daniel's is at her best, and just when you think you've figured it out, something new and unexpected happens.  A total thrill ride.  Can't wait for Cherry Bomb to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Simply Awesome

    I've read all of the Jack Daniels series and this one was by far the best. It was like a speeding train turning the pages to get to the next and the next. I couldn't stop reading. The comical interaction between Harry and everybody was great. And the piece of resistance...the ending. What can I say, simply awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    I have to wait another year?

    Fuzzy Navel was EXCELLENT! The end leaves you guessing and yearning for more. I can't wait another year for the next in the series, Cherry Bomb. JA Konrath hasn't let me down yet and probably never will. Great work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FAST PACED AND FUNNY

    The pairing of Susie Breck and Dick Hill is a brilliant move by Brilliance Audio. Of course, it's also pretty good pairing in real life as they are husband and wife. Ever so often they'll do a two voice narration, which is topnotch listening from these two Audie Award winners. If you're an audio book fan, don't miss this one! Fast-paced and funny aptly describes the Lieutenant Jacqueline 'Jack' Daniels stories so well crafted by J. A. Konrath and so well read by Breck and Hill. With this, the fifth in the series following Dirty Martini, Konrath ups both suspense and danger. What begins has an investigation of sniper shootings ends in the worst nightmare Daniels could imagine. Earlier, she received word that her psychopathic enemy Alex Kork has committed suicide. It's a relief to have such an amoral, pitiless person gone forever. Not so. As Jack is pondering the shootings, the work of some weirdo vigilantes who loathe sex offenders and cops, she receives a call from her mother asking her to come home. Jack knows something isn't right and she races home after telling her partner that she'll be back in a few hours. Home isn't what it once was - she finds her mother and Latham, her fiancé, held prisoner by Kork, quite alive and deadlier than ever. As Jack is largely responsible for Kork's imprisonment, the demented diva is set on revenge in spades. Further the wacky snipers have managed to track Jack's car and they want to join the fun of offing Jack. How she can combat the bloodthirsty Kork and the snipers is the key question. Author Konrath has been quoted as saying he wanted to create a series with 'laugh out loud humor and enough chills to make the reader lock all the doors.' He certainly has! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    Great Book!!

    The is the best one yet. Konrath is the best author, step a side Stephen King there is a new sheriff in town!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FAST PACED AND FUNNY

    Fast-paced and funny aptly describes the Lieutenant Jacqueline 'Jack' Daniels stories so well crafted by J. A. Konrath. With this, the fifth in the series following Dirty Martini, he ups both suspense and danger. What begins has an investigation of sniper shootings ends in the worst nightmare Daniels could imagine. Earlier, she received word that her psychopathic enemy Alex Kork has committed suicide. It's a relief to have such an amoral, pitiless person gone forever. Not so. As Jack is pondering the shootings, the work of some weirdo vigilantes who loathe sex offenders and cops, she receives a call from her mother asking her to come home. Jack knows something isn't right and she races home after telling her partner that she'll be back in a few hours. Home isn't what it once was - she finds her mother and Latham, her fiancé, held prisoner by Kork, quite alive and deadlier than ever. As Jack is largely responsible for Kork's imprisonment, the demented diva is set on revenge in spades. Further the wacky snipers have managed to track Jack's car and they want to join the fun of offing Jack. How she can combat the bloodthirsty Kork and the snipers is the key question. Author Konrath has been quoted as saying he wanted to create a series with 'laugh out loud humor and enough chills to make the reader lock all the doors.' He certainly has! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    The fifth novel in the Jacqueline ¿Jack¿ Daniels series is released in hardcover on July 8th, and it continues author J.A. Konrath¿s pleasing mix of mayhem and mirth. If you aren¿t familiar with Jack, she¿s a forty-something divorced Chicago cop who has been to hell and back both physically and emotionally in the past four books. She has solved some of the most heinous crimes in recent Chicago history, but she, along with her over-eating partner Herb, often pay a high price for their involvement. Alex Kork, the sadistic mutilator and murderer from RUSTY NAIL, is dead. Her body was found severely torched in her holding cell at the maximum-security psych facility where she has been staying since the events of the third book. Or was it? Before she can even think twice about it, Jack has to deal with a lunatic 'or more' on a rampage through her precinct territory who is killing people with incredibly accurate, long-distance firepower. She later discovers this is the supposedly heroic act of a group of vigilantes who call themselves The Urban Hunting Club 'TUHC'. They claim they just want to take out the trash that the cops haven¿t been able to handle. But what started as desire for justice, albeit a twisted one, quickly degenerates into madness as one particularly insane member of TUHC also takes out a large number of cops investigating one of his kills. Among those investigating are Jack and Herb. Do they make it out alive? I don¿t want to reveal too much, so I will just say this: Early on, the lives of Jack, her mother, and Jack¿s fiancé, Latham, are hanging in the balance. Throughout the novel, this situation intertwines with Harry McGlade 'about whom a startling secret is revealed', Herb, Phin Trout ¿ and the three members of TUHC. Maybe even someone else as well. Personally, I found this to be the best Jack Daniels novel to date. It has a tight time focus ¿ 4:38 PM to 12:23 AM ¿ for the main events. It has a large amount of action, almost non-stop for long periods. It also has the trademark sense of humor right alongside the pain and the terror. It¿s less in the forefront this time around, making it even better. For me, the groan-worthy puns in some of the previous books are actually a delight. That¿s my kind of humor, too, but I can see where the lighter touch, the more direct mix with the action, will appeal to a wider audience. I also enjoyed the challenge of several style choices Konrath made in the writing process. There are two characters that speak in the first person. All chapters are labeled with a name and a time instead of chapter numbers, and paying attention to these gives you a signpost. Follow them, and you will have no confusion. Also, the book is written entirely in present tense, which adds to the sense of urgency and provides a deeper feeling of immersion into the action. It¿s not a verb tense I usually prefer, but Konrath employs it so deftly that I didn¿t even notice it until I was halfway through the book. FUZZY NAVEL has it all. Konrath¿s series just keeps getting better. I often found myself unable to pry away from the book, needing to know what was going to happen next. I¿m already impatient for CHERRY BOMB, the sixth volume in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    Nonstop Thrills and chills!

    Fuzzy Navel starts with action and never lets up. Terms like 'tension' and 'suspense' just aren't strong enough to capture the insane, non-stop action feel of this book. In the first chapter the reader sees a threat (which will wear a familiar face for regular readers) return to Jack's life. But while a psychopath holds her mother and fiance hostage in their home Jack's on a case, facing down a series of sniper shootings and at least one killer who isn't done after shooting his target. Like the other Jack Daniels novels Fuzzy Navel is brutal, unrelenting in it's violence and blood shed, full of action, and horrifyingly bad jokes that are only funny when the reader, like the characters are stuck in the middle of a situation they shouldn't survive. Fuzzy Navel stands out in the Jack Daniel series because of the genuine, word stealing wickedness infused into it. It's not about an intensity of action or violence, it's about the reader staring, gaping, at the book because the bad guys are right. They might be torturing the good guy and her innocent friends, but behind the psychosis this time is a measure of honesty and purity of purpose, something that has been lacking in the 'crazy multiple murderer' subgenre in recent years. What I enjoy most about the Jack Daniels series is how JA Konrath uses the unspoken but recognizable rules of the mystery genre as a launching point for his stories rather than as the end point. In past books readers have seen obsessed serial killers that completely defy psychology rather than being textbook, killers caught halfway through the book without the tension letting up and situations where figuring out whodunnit was only the first step to solving the mystery. Fuzzy Navel is a stunning display of suspense and drama, the best book of the series so far, which will have readers eagerly awaiting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    One word...AWESOME!

    I have enjoyed each and every book in J.A Konrath's phenomenal Jacqueline 'Jack' Daniels mystery/suspense series. Each book seems to out do the previous one, which is a very hard thing to do, since each one is WONDERFUL. I was lucky enough to get an advanced readers copy of Fuzzy Navel, and it comes to no surprise that it was the best one yet! This book has everything you could ask for, from gut wrenching suspense, to belly aching humor, wonderful characters, and a nail biting cliff hanger. Do yourself a favor and give this series a try...but be warned, you WILL be hooked! Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Not long after learning that the most dangerous maniacal criminal Alex Kork committed suicide, that same crazy female arrives at Jacqueline 'Jack' Daniels¿ house she shares with her mom in the Chicago burbs. The maniac quickly take control tying up with duct tale the homicide cop, her boyfriend Latham, her mom, her police partner Herb and her wannabe partner Harry. She euphorically begins torturing her prisoners. --- Everything abruptly changes for the worse when Jack¿s latest enemies, a gang of vigilante snipers, surround the house with the intent of killing everyone inside the abode so they can claim the scalp of a cop or two. At about the same time petty thief Phin joins the festivities by entering Jack¿s dwelling. However, Alex and the snipers don¿t know Jack if you think she is going to sit idly by taped. --- The action is non-stop when someone entering the back of Jack¿s house and fails to answer her mom¿s question is that you Jack and instead asks where is Jack as the torture begins. The key to the tale is the underlying humor throughout in spite of the growing tension and seriousness of the situation one more person after another enters the fiasco sort of like the classic Groucho cabin scene on the ship in A Night at the Opera. Yet make no mistake humorous to a degree, FUZZY NAVEL is a serious taut thriller starring a strong cast of fully developed people including that ¿Korker¿ of a psychopath. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3