Customer Reviews for

The G-Free Diet: A Gluten-Free Survival Guide

Average Rating 3
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Gluten Free Diet

Though not a big fan of Elisabeth Hasselbeck I do value her personal experience with celiac disease, so I thought The G Free Diet would be a good read and I wasn't disappointed. I was surprised at the number of people who suffer from celiac, also that you can be sensit...
Though not a big fan of Elisabeth Hasselbeck I do value her personal experience with celiac disease, so I thought The G Free Diet would be a good read and I wasn't disappointed. I was surprised at the number of people who suffer from celiac, also that you can be sensitive to gluten without actually having the disease. The effort that is needed to be successful with the lifestyle changes is remarkable but with information from books like Elisabeth's and the support of the numerous organizations that are available, along with a good nutrionist, these changes will become routine and certainly worth the effect to avoid the damage that is otherwise done to the small intestine. With a detailed appendix and index, I found the G Free Diet to be a fairly complete introduction to celiac. I would definitely give Elisabeth's book 5 stars.

posted by BevE on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Irresponsible Load of Rubbish - Celiac Foundation has Issued a Warning!

What a load of rubbish!

After reading the book and watching Ms. Hasselbeck heavily promote the book on various television shows, I find myself asking: does Ms. Hasselbeck even have Celiac or is Celiac a disguise for some eating disorder? If Celiac is largely heredit...
What a load of rubbish!

After reading the book and watching Ms. Hasselbeck heavily promote the book on various television shows, I find myself asking: does Ms. Hasselbeck even have Celiac or is Celiac a disguise for some eating disorder? If Celiac is largely hereditary, how come no one else in Ms. Hasselbeck's family (father, mother, grandparents, sibling) have the disease?

Ms. Hasselbeck's claims that the "g-free diet" she has published is good for weightloss as well as persons suffering from Celiac (and kids with autism among others) is irresponsible and only a means for her to expand the market and sell more books. The fact is, most persons truly suffering from Celiac gain weight when they go on to a gluten-free diet because their body is finally able to absorb and retain nutrients.

A few other observations and concerns I have: much of the book seems to be cut and paste of existing sources, etc. (why would you pay for this when you can collect some 90% of the same information on a google search)? And how come Dr. Green - who apparently co-authored the book - has not appeared with Ms. Hasselbeck in any of the interviews or other promotions she has done to launch the book?

Bottom line: the book, the personal story told by Ms. Hasselbeck and the information provided is just not credible. At worst the book is very misleading and dangerous.

As you can see at Barnes & Noble, there are many, many books on Celiac disease, living with Celiac, and gluten-free eating and recipes. Look for a book by a credible medical expert not attached to a celebrity whose claim to fame is appearing on a reality television show. Ms. Hasselbeck is only trying to line her pockets with more money. Doing so off the back of a very serious illness is really disturbing.

UPDATE: WARNING ABOUT DANGERS OF E. HASSELBECK BOOK FROM CELIAC FOUNDATION

The very organisation that should be supporting Elisabeth Hasselbeck's book has issued a stern and urgent warning to let the public know the book is full of inaccuracies and the information is dangerous. The Celiac Foundation is also disturbed that Miss Hasselbeck is trivialising Celiac disease and promoting the Celiac diet as a weight-loss method.

PRESS RELEASE FROM ELAINE MONARCH, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE CELIAC FOUNDATION:

"I am writing to call your attention to the current publicity surrounding the new book, The G-free Diet, A Gluten-Free Survival Guide by Elisabeth Hassselbeck, co-host of The View. While it is important to call attention to celiac disease, the information must be accurate - the inaccuracies in this book are potentially dangerous and detrimental to celiacs and to those yet to be diagnosed if people self diagnose and start eating GF. Our mission is to assist in getting people accurately diagnosed and the message in this book could defeat this mission. It appears that this book is being marketed as a fitness diet - eat g-free and feel so much better. Celiac is incorrectly referred to as an allergy not an autoimmune disease.

The GF diet is the medically mediated prescription that controls the condition for a diagnosed celiac. Several items in the book are misleading and inaccurate and place further limitations on the GF diet. The gluten-free lifestyle is a lifelong commitment for the diagnosed celiac, not an option, not a fad diet - adhering to the GF lifestyle requires patience and persistence. This lifestyle can not be trivialized."

posted by JKornblatt on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Well worth your time

    I started taking gluten out my diet as an experiment to see if my severe, unexplained back pain would improve. So far the result has been great. I have to say, this book was a wonderful source for information. It's easy to understand and full of great tips. The tone is also very non-judgmental, which is important for a health book. I recommend it to anyone who is getting ready to start their gluten free journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    A great book with great info and advise.

    I suffer from an illness effecting my small bowel and wondered if I could possibily do something to help myself feel better. After reading this I am so excited to get started on creating a G-free life for myself. Thanks for your willingness to share your own experiences will your battles with intestinal pain and Celiac disease. The book is an easy read and you are learning so much without feeling as if you are reading a medical journal. Great job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Hard to put down!

    This was an easy read. It opened my eyes to many of my problems.
    Since following the authors suggestions my health has improved
    greatly. I am going to have my doctor test me for celiac disease.
    Thanks Elisabeth!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Food for thought

    There was a lot of good information in this book that made me think about what to do in my home for my gluten-free grandchildren. Some of the stories seem as if they may be exaggerated but, "better safe than sorry". While I had been aware of the dangers of food ingested, I did not know about the dangers of contamination through the skin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great guide for anyone considering a G-Free diet!

    I think this is a great "jump start" guide for anyone who either HAS to be G-Free, or is choosing to. It is a daunting task, and this book helps you understand that is IS do-able and doesn't have to be ALL sacrifice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    As a non-celiac suffer I enjoyed and learned a great wealth from the G-Free diet.

    This book was very helpful in my understanding of a disease that is complicated. My husband suffers from many issues discussed in the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    G Free Diet

    G Free Diet was a great read. Was fun, interesting and accurate. Kept me wanting to read it; and was nodding my head along the way (my daughter had a lot of stomach issues). Doc says just IBS, no positive tests for celiac disease but still glad I bought it. Two of my of husbands relatives have it so she could have had a chance to test positive.
    I would recommend the book to to anyone with stomach problems looking for some answers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I'll Pass

    This book was very disappointing. Boring, repetitive, writing is mediocre, repetitive. . . Did I mention it was repetitive? I guess if you say something over and over, that's one way to get into someone's head.

    I'd pass on this one and pick up material on celiac disease or gluten sensitivity from a certified expert.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Gluten Information Galore

    Elisabeth's frank account of a long and painful search for the answers to her GI problems is well understood by those who have walked that path. She speaks from experience and her voice is strong in this book. She gives both practical information on how to find the sources for a gluten-free pantry as well as how to talk to your doctor about what you need. She has done her homework.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    The G-Free Diet

    Being newly diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, I found the book to be extremely helpful in helping me understand and to find out what foods I cannot eat.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    Useful information

    I was just diagnosed with celiac. This book gave me some great ideas on how to handle social situations, restaurants, etc..... I use a couple of books when it comes to my list of foods, so this isn't my bible, but it gave me some good "right-out-of-the-gate" informaton.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Celebrity Champions the Celiac Cause

    For anyone who has or loves someone who has Celiac Disease, any celebrity bringing attention to it is welcome. Not exactly a book that everyone would read, but if Celiac has touched your life, it's a comprehensive view of how it affects you or a loved one and how to adjust your life to the changes you'll face. I really welcomed the chapter on how to help someone who has celiac as well as the chapter on how to not alienate loved ones when you have it.

    If Celiac is in your life, this book is worth a look at.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    See a professional

    didn't care for it my doctor didn't recommend it either

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    My 15 year old daughter is very gluten intolerant. She has test

    My 15 year old daughter is very gluten intolerant. She has tested negative for celiacs thru blood tests and Endoscopy. Her Gastroenterologist agrees, that clearly Gluten is the culprit. We found Elisabeth's book to be a wealth of information. How to handle social situations, restaurants, what are all those other words, in the ingredient ,that mean "gluten". Also, skin issues, rashes brought on by shampoos, lotions, etc. that contain gluten. Elizabeth's book is aimed at the Celiac patient and gluten intolerant patient. There are many people that also believe gluten is a factor in autism. There is one chapter covering the topic. She in no way says that it absolutely going to cure your child with Autism. But, does it really hurt to try? I also have a 21 year old daughter with Asperger's (high functioning Autism). I have encouranged her to cut down on the amount of gluten she eats. Oddly enough, she has always craved pastas and bread. When she was young I would have eliminated gluten from her diet and tried at least for a period of time. There is not a lot known about any of this...Gluten intolerance or Autism. There is no downside to trying the G-Free
    Diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    I thought it was an extremely helpful book, and really educated

    I thought it was an extremely helpful book, and really educated me on what I could eat with my new food restriction, and made me feel like this transition wasn't impossible and horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Easy Read and a great book!

    Picked this book out after hearing I may have an issue with gluten. Guess it's an easier topic to read than the tumors they found in my liver! Ive always loved this girl from the View!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Her books read like she talks. Unfortunately, this means that he

    Her books read like she talks. Unfortunately, this means that her books are as inane as she is, and are hard to follow. Would not recommend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    I agree

    This book is very hard tofollow and very bland

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Crap

    Really? She is going to school me? She's an idiot, why would i listen to her? Is she a doctor?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Waste of time, don't bother!

    This book is worthless, I'm glad I didn't pay for it, I only borrowed it from a friend who also didn't like it. It says the same thing over and over and it isn't credible, just like her.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6