BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The G-Free Diet: A Gluten-Free Survival Guide

Average Rating 3
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Gluten Free Diet

Though not a big fan of Elisabeth Hasselbeck I do value her personal experience with celiac disease, so I thought The G Free Diet would be a good read and I wasn't disappointed. I was surprised at the number of people who suffer from celiac, also that you can be sensit...
Though not a big fan of Elisabeth Hasselbeck I do value her personal experience with celiac disease, so I thought The G Free Diet would be a good read and I wasn't disappointed. I was surprised at the number of people who suffer from celiac, also that you can be sensitive to gluten without actually having the disease. The effort that is needed to be successful with the lifestyle changes is remarkable but with information from books like Elisabeth's and the support of the numerous organizations that are available, along with a good nutrionist, these changes will become routine and certainly worth the effect to avoid the damage that is otherwise done to the small intestine. With a detailed appendix and index, I found the G Free Diet to be a fairly complete introduction to celiac. I would definitely give Elisabeth's book 5 stars.

posted by BevE on May 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Irresponsible Load of Rubbish - Celiac Foundation has Issued a Warning!

What a load of rubbish!

After reading the book and watching Ms. Hasselbeck heavily promote the book on various television shows, I find myself asking: does Ms. Hasselbeck even have Celiac or is Celiac a disguise for some eating disorder? If Celiac is largely heredit...
What a load of rubbish!

After reading the book and watching Ms. Hasselbeck heavily promote the book on various television shows, I find myself asking: does Ms. Hasselbeck even have Celiac or is Celiac a disguise for some eating disorder? If Celiac is largely hereditary, how come no one else in Ms. Hasselbeck's family (father, mother, grandparents, sibling) have the disease?

Ms. Hasselbeck's claims that the "g-free diet" she has published is good for weightloss as well as persons suffering from Celiac (and kids with autism among others) is irresponsible and only a means for her to expand the market and sell more books. The fact is, most persons truly suffering from Celiac gain weight when they go on to a gluten-free diet because their body is finally able to absorb and retain nutrients.

A few other observations and concerns I have: much of the book seems to be cut and paste of existing sources, etc. (why would you pay for this when you can collect some 90% of the same information on a google search)? And how come Dr. Green - who apparently co-authored the book - has not appeared with Ms. Hasselbeck in any of the interviews or other promotions she has done to launch the book?

Bottom line: the book, the personal story told by Ms. Hasselbeck and the information provided is just not credible. At worst the book is very misleading and dangerous.

As you can see at Barnes & Noble, there are many, many books on Celiac disease, living with Celiac, and gluten-free eating and recipes. Look for a book by a credible medical expert not attached to a celebrity whose claim to fame is appearing on a reality television show. Ms. Hasselbeck is only trying to line her pockets with more money. Doing so off the back of a very serious illness is really disturbing.

UPDATE: WARNING ABOUT DANGERS OF E. HASSELBECK BOOK FROM CELIAC FOUNDATION

The very organisation that should be supporting Elisabeth Hasselbeck's book has issued a stern and urgent warning to let the public know the book is full of inaccuracies and the information is dangerous. The Celiac Foundation is also disturbed that Miss Hasselbeck is trivialising Celiac disease and promoting the Celiac diet as a weight-loss method.

PRESS RELEASE FROM ELAINE MONARCH, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE CELIAC FOUNDATION:

"I am writing to call your attention to the current publicity surrounding the new book, The G-free Diet, A Gluten-Free Survival Guide by Elisabeth Hassselbeck, co-host of The View. While it is important to call attention to celiac disease, the information must be accurate - the inaccuracies in this book are potentially dangerous and detrimental to celiacs and to those yet to be diagnosed if people self diagnose and start eating GF. Our mission is to assist in getting people accurately diagnosed and the message in this book could defeat this mission. It appears that this book is being marketed as a fitness diet - eat g-free and feel so much better. Celiac is incorrectly referred to as an allergy not an autoimmune disease.

The GF diet is the medically mediated prescription that controls the condition for a diagnosed celiac. Several items in the book are misleading and inaccurate and place further limitations on the GF diet. The gluten-free lifestyle is a lifelong commitment for the diagnosed celiac, not an option, not a fad diet - adhering to the GF lifestyle requires patience and persistence. This lifestyle can not be trivialized."

posted by JKornblatt on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gluten Free Diet

    Though not a big fan of Elisabeth Hasselbeck I do value her personal experience with celiac disease, so I thought The G Free Diet would be a good read and I wasn't disappointed. I was surprised at the number of people who suffer from celiac, also that you can be sensitive to gluten without actually having the disease. The effort that is needed to be successful with the lifestyle changes is remarkable but with information from books like Elisabeth's and the support of the numerous organizations that are available, along with a good nutrionist, these changes will become routine and certainly worth the effect to avoid the damage that is otherwise done to the small intestine. With a detailed appendix and index, I found the G Free Diet to be a fairly complete introduction to celiac. I would definitely give Elisabeth's book 5 stars.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    BEST G-FREE BOOK OUT THERE

    Elisabeth Hassleback knows what she is talking about and it works. It is great for anyone with that disease or just wants to be on a G-free diet...It is a must for anyone who is trying to get Gluten free food....Plus anyone who is interested in this kind of diet....people who are researchers and anyone thats wants a good diet book!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME AND ACCURATE!!!!!!

    Ms. Hasselbeck knows what she's talking about!!!!!!!! Trust me! I was also self diagnosed. It was later confirmed. If you are sick and cannot figure out the cause PLEASE get tested and read this book. I gained weight with this disease NOT lost weight! If you are having a problem get tested and discuss the G-free diet with your doctor~!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Searching for Answers...the Doctors Don't Have!

    My daughter has been extremely ill ever since her baby was born 1 1/2 years ago. Her stomach is always upset. After going through allergy tests, gall bladder surgery, a colonoscopy, endoscopy, 25 biopsies, and dealing with several doctors, she was at her wit's end. I heard about Elizabeth Hasselbeck's new book, The G-Free Diet, and decided to send it to her sight unseen. As soon as she read the first few pages, she called me and said she could totally relate to Elizabeth. She was able to try a few of her suggestions, record what she ate, track the items that seemed to make her sick, and modify her diet so she was able to function. Prior to reading this book, she couldn't go anywhere without living in fear that she wouldn't make it to the bathroom on time. This book has really helped her, so I'm very grateful that I heard about it. I appreciate the ease of ordering the book online so I could send it out of state and get it to her in a timely manner. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    This is a book that you will find interesting and helpful - who knows, you may have this as the author did - it took her 10 years to find out what was wrong with her!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Bought as a gift for daughter

    We bought this book for our adult daughter who has discovered she has gluten intolerance. She has learned so much from reading the book and is really appreciative of all the information that Elisabeth Hasselbeck did for this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    G-Free Diet

    After seeing Elisabeth on a TV talk show, I learned about Celiac. Thank you, Elisabeth. After 19-years of pain, bloating, diarrhea, etc., I have 'finally' had a normal day! I was unable to leave my house without knowing where the next bathroom was. Gas expelled with every step I took and the pain was unbearable. This book gave me the start I needed to 'fix' myself. I, also, had to diagnose myself and take my findings to my GI doctor. He was not very educated on the topic and said, "Why didn't we think of this before?"

    This book was my 'lifesafer.' It's a very challenging way to live, but it surely beats the alternative. Elisabeth gave me the starting point so that I could change my life. I am a totally different person since I eliminated wheat/gluten from my diet. I can now go places without wondering if I am offending anyone. (Gas is terrible!) Thank you, Thank you!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    10 STAR BOOK!!

    I would give this book 10 stars! It is wonderful and is a life-saver for me.I have bad reactions to gluten and have been told by allergist and doctors but did not take it too seriously.After reading Elizabeth's book I got real serious about it.I had gall bladder surgery few years ago and didn't feel too much better afterwards..three weeks after I started the g-free diet I felt like a different person with a new lease on life.I have much more energy,my muscles are not as sore,I sleep much better,back problems are almost gone (my chiropractor is amazed!)But mostly I am not bloated anymore and can eat without getting so very uncomfortable or sick.I can eat at restaurants without getting painfully uncomfortable or even sick.
    Elizabeth said there will be one thing that will bring you back to this book and diet if you go off it.She was right.I was determined NOT to go thru life being bloated and feeling so uncomfortable so now I am on the diet for life.Not so bad after getting used to it.The education I got from reading her book tells me that I am prolonging my life in a healthy way and might have even saved it.Many restaurants have gluten free menu's.Just ask or check her book.Many stores have gluten free sections.It is worth every penny to me.
    I am so so grateful to Elizabeth for making this information available.Her books are always sold out in the Dallas area.I have given them as gifts and have loaned mine out many times.Family and friends are grateful for this helpful infomation.
    I thank Elizabeth almost every day for this easy read and very valuable information.
    dallasgirl

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Celiac Disease

    Written in an easy-to-read style, this book no doubt will be a great help to many who have frequent stomach pains and other strange symptoms. It could be an inherited predisposition to certain foods, and trigger a condition known as Celiac disease. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease. In addition, there's a link of gluten to autism.

    I've heard about the evils of gluten, but I've never investigated it. I was surprised to discover how pervasive it is in everyday food--even some vinegars!

    Included are recipes, along with tips on organizing a kitchen, shopping, parties, and restaurants. This will prove to be a handy reference tool.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you...

    This book has really helped me. I have been diagnosed with Celiac's disease very recently. It was a shock to me because I have never heard of this. My mother is gluten intolerant, but no one else in my family has this disease. I have had blood tests, and an endoscopy and both proved this is what I have. Mrs. Hasselbeck has given me excellent advice on how to deal with this lifestyle. Now my entire family will be living a gluten free life.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Well worth your time

    I started taking gluten out my diet as an experiment to see if my severe, unexplained back pain would improve. So far the result has been great. I have to say, this book was a wonderful source for information. It's easy to understand and full of great tips. The tone is also very non-judgmental, which is important for a health book. I recommend it to anyone who is getting ready to start their gluten free journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Hard to put down!

    This was an easy read. It opened my eyes to many of my problems.
    Since following the authors suggestions my health has improved
    greatly. I am going to have my doctor test me for celiac disease.
    Thanks Elisabeth!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    G Free Diet

    G Free Diet was a great read. Was fun, interesting and accurate. Kept me wanting to read it; and was nodding my head along the way (my daughter had a lot of stomach issues). Doc says just IBS, no positive tests for celiac disease but still glad I bought it. Two of my of husbands relatives have it so she could have had a chance to test positive.
    I would recommend the book to to anyone with stomach problems looking for some answers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    The G-Free Diet

    Being newly diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, I found the book to be extremely helpful in helping me understand and to find out what foods I cannot eat.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    My 15 year old daughter is very gluten intolerant. She has test

    My 15 year old daughter is very gluten intolerant. She has tested negative for celiacs thru blood tests and Endoscopy. Her Gastroenterologist agrees, that clearly Gluten is the culprit. We found Elisabeth's book to be a wealth of information. How to handle social situations, restaurants, what are all those other words, in the ingredient ,that mean "gluten". Also, skin issues, rashes brought on by shampoos, lotions, etc. that contain gluten. Elizabeth's book is aimed at the Celiac patient and gluten intolerant patient. There are many people that also believe gluten is a factor in autism. There is one chapter covering the topic. She in no way says that it absolutely going to cure your child with Autism. But, does it really hurt to try? I also have a 21 year old daughter with Asperger's (high functioning Autism). I have encouranged her to cut down on the amount of gluten she eats. Oddly enough, she has always craved pastas and bread. When she was young I would have eliminated gluten from her diet and tried at least for a period of time. There is not a lot known about any of this...Gluten intolerance or Autism. There is no downside to trying the G-Free
    Diet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    I thought it was an extremely helpful book, and really educated

    I thought it was an extremely helpful book, and really educated me on what I could eat with my new food restriction, and made me feel like this transition wasn't impossible and horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Easy Read and a great book!

    Picked this book out after hearing I may have an issue with gluten. Guess it's an easier topic to read than the tumors they found in my liver! Ive always loved this girl from the View!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Fabulous Book - Must have

    This book was easy to read and appeared to be very well researched with lots of personal experiences thrown in. I read the entire book in 1 day it was so good! By far this is the best book I have found that explains how to be G-Free and still feel like you have some say/hope in ever eating and enjoying food again. Great guide for family members that don't have a gluten allergy so that they can understand what is going on, how their actions affect the G-Free person and how they can help. I feel much more confident about my ability to deal with having to be G-Free after reading this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2