Customer Reviews for

Gimp: When Life Deals You a Crappy Hand, You Can Fold---Or You Can Play

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    Awesome

    Very inspiring, awesome read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    Gimp By Mark Zupan

    Gimp was one of the best books that I have ever read. Being a soccer player i understood everything he was going thorugh. From college coaches looking at you, to being surrounded by girls and partying. This whole book rally helped to change me as a person in a way. It showed me that when life sucks at some points you can either give up or you can continue to push on strong. That is exactly what Mark did when he got into that car wreck. He was drunk, partying way too late and he had a full scholorship waitng for him. However, he drove and he became paralyzed from the waist down. You can just say that his life sucked from there. However he found a new sport that he loved (murderball) and he became a pro and made our paralympic team as a rookie. The quote i will remember the most is, "When life deals you a crappy hand, you can play or you can fold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Awesome...Touching...and TRUE

    I feel that this is one of the best books that encourages all indivuduals that had a 'normal' life and had an event that occured that would change their life forever. I was able to feel Mark's emotions because of his fabulous writing and was able to relate to his accident. This happened to me too. I was in a coma for 6 wks. and then went through rehab for another 4 mo. It makes me want to wrie about my life prior to my accident, after, and now. I can relate too all the feelings and words that mark describes in this fabuluos book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Will blow your mind, buy it now!

    Simply put, this book is utterly amazing. I could not put it down and had it read in 2 days time. Zupan's writing style in this book is completely raw and uncut. Which I thought was great. He uses the F Bomb several times in the book, but that just shows you how Zupan is. Mark leaves pretty much nothing out in this book. He tells you about his highest points, and about his lowest. One moment this book will have you laughing your butt off, and the next you may be balling your eyes out. The point of this book is not to pitty Mark and say 'Oh look at the great life he had...' No it's to show you that Mark has done more in a chair then he did when he could walk. As a fellow disabled person I hope this book will open the eyes of able bodied people and show them that disabled people are people too. They can do everything an able bodied person can, it may be a little different and require a few adaptaions here or there but it will get done. This book is truely a great read and I reccomend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Gimp Review by Chris Igoe

    It's rare that the voice in my head wakes me up, but there I was this past Saturday pie eyed and amped, to ensure I was the first one to post a review of GIMP on Barnes & Noble. Perhaps this sounds a bit obsessive, and it might be, but I feel uniquely qualified for the job. You see about 14 years ago, Mark and I were out celebrating a soccer win, and well... let's just say neither of us made it home that night. This book is the culmination of those wild, painful, phenomenal years. It would be an understatement to say I've read the book more then once. It's so powerful in places that I literally had to put it down, and walk away. That sounds dramatic, but certain sections are so vivid and life like that it's as if I was reliving them. GIMP is that raw, it's that alive. Mark Zupan is an exceptional human being. Perhaps you've seen him in the Oscar nominated film Murderball, or in Jackass 2 and both of these are interesting glimpses into who he is but GIMP is the total portrait. GIMP is a masterfully written, unflinching stare of brutal yet beautiful honesty. It packs a Tysonesque punch on so many different levels, each relateable to anyone. Families will learn about love, Friends will learn about true friendship. I could go on but suffice it to say, Gimp has a lot of everything, because Mark has a lot of everything. To label it as being a sports book would be doing it a disservice. Labeling it as self help or inspirational wouldn't be inaccurate but it wouldn't be enough. GIMP is true testament to an exceptional life, it's a fast read and well worth you time. Please read it today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    What a book!

    This is one of the best biographies I've ever read!Nobody could have told Mark's story as well as he does here.Mark is rude and crude throughout much of the book.But he's also brutally frank and honest.This is no-holds-barred,in-your-face,love-me-or hate- me biography at its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Hell of a ride

    It's rare that the voice in my head wakes me up, but there I was this past Saturday pie eyed and amped, to ensure I was one of the first one to post a review of GIMP on Barnes & Noble. Perhaps this sounds a bit obsessive, and it might be, but I feel uniquely qualified for the job. You see about 14 years ago, Mark and I were out celebrating a soccer win, and well... let's just say neither of us made it home that night. This book is the culmination of those wild, painful, phenomenal years. It would be an understatement to say I've read the book more then once. It's so powerful in places that I literally had to put it down, and walk away. That sounds dramatic, but certain sections are so vivid and life like that it's as if I was reliving them. GIMP is that raw, it's that alive. Mark Zupan is an exceptional human being. Perhaps you've seen him in the Oscar nominated film Murderball, or in Jackass 2 and both of these are interesting glimpses into who he is but GIMP is the total portrait. GIMP is a masterfully written, unflinching stare of brutal yet beautiful honesty. It packs a Tysonesque punch on so many different levels, each relateable to anyone. Families will learn about love, Friends will learn about true friendship. I could go on but suffice it to say, Gimp has a lot of everything, because Mark has a lot of everything. To label it as being a sports book would be doing it a disservice. Labeling it as self help or inspirational wouldn't be inaccurate but it wouldn't be enough. GIMP is true testament to an exceptional life, it's a fast read and well worth you time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1