Customer Reviews for

GSam Screen Dimmer

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Works great

I thought this app would not work, due to this is the first app that will lower the brightness down to 0%. The notificatio icon works great also, so if you like to read at night, this is the app for you.

posted by 10402761 on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Black screen...PANIC...

No reason in the world for this to dim to ZERO so as to give a guy a heart attack while trying to calibrate it. Does what it says.

posted by 13097581 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Works great

    I thought this app would not work, due to this is the first app that will lower the brightness down to 0%. The notificatio icon works great also, so if you like to read at night, this is the app for you.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    App works great!

    Before getting this, my whole room was lit up at night while my wife tried to sleep. With the app, i can keep it much dimmer which is easier on the eyes and not as "annoying" to others trying to sleep. Great job.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Excellent- works perfectly

    An excellent app. Excellent - dims the light where reading
    at night is no longer a problem. After going through
    a little bit of calibrating your nook brightness, it is then possible to dim the brightness to a very low light setting.
    Much better on the eyes for night reading.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Try the free trial.

    My eyes are sensitive to light, and it was hard to find the right setting before I tried this app. Now I find I don't need to make adjustments nearly as often because this allows you to make very subtle changes. Worth the $.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Excellent! Must-have for nighttime reading in bed.

    I really like the dimmer and I appreciate the free trial that allowed me to try before buying. One suggestion to the developer:

    I'd love it if there were at least one more button along with the min/night/day/max options to set, and that would be read or book or something like that. This is because I generally like to lower the brightness to someplace between the night and day level when I'm reading a Nook book, so it would be convenient to have a one-button adjustment for that.

    Still, I highly recommend the utility! I find myself using it daily, so well worth the $1.50.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    :)

    LOVE THIS APP! THIS IS HOW THE NOOK LIGHTING SHOULD BE WITH OUT THIS APP. I READ AT NIGHT DAILY AND I WISH I HAD THIS APP FROM DAY ONE. THE FREE TRIAL OFFER IS A WONDERFUL IDEA AND THE REASON I TRIED IT! WAY TO GO APP MAKER,YA DID GOOD

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Love It!

    This app allows me to dim my Nook lower than the device settings which is great for reading at night. I found that the dimming it very low causes less visual stimulation and I fall asleep faster. It's also very easy to use. I tried the free trial first which works just like the purchased version. Try it out and see if you like it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Love it!

    This app is great if the lowest brightness that the nook normally does is still too bright for nighttime reading. It is easy to get to because of the notification option, but you can choose which option is better for you.

    I also got the battery app from the same publisher and it is just as awesome.

    Must have app!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Should be included with every nook.

    I use this for both my nook color and nook color hd+. It saves both battery life and eyesight. I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Great Night Reading App

    This is just what I have been looking for when night time reading comes around. No eye strain what so ever. Try it out but you will be buying before its over.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great App!!!!

    Great app
    Really nice app that lets you really dim the Nook Tablet for more comfortable night time reading

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Exactly as described

    This app has become essential to me. It's exactly what it says it is and is worth purchasing.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    A MUST HAVE

    Perfect for bedtime reading!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Very pleased

    Makes my nook very versatile. The dimmer is great for night reading and it is so easy once you take a minute to ser it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Works!

    I love being able to read in bed again!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Nice App!

    Great app--my nook was never dim enough for reading in bed, even set at the lowest level--until now! Very easy calibration and very simple to use. Thanks! I can now read without disturbing the hubby!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Useful when it's allowed

    If this Pro version was accessable across all Androids I have, instead of making me purchase a separate license for each one, this would easily be a 5.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Good app

    Does what it says. Really nice not to have overwhelming brightness in you face late at night.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    GOOD

    I believe that by using the small adjustments I save a lot of battery time. Nice app, easy to use, very benificial I think

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great in night

    I was surprised how easy it was to read with screen at very low light. I used to get blinded by my screen in the night. It's a keeper.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4