Customer Reviews for

Gabby: A Story of Courage and Hope

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    A Must Read

    Be prepared to be inspired in your own life; a story of MORE than Hope and Courage! Words form a story of Gabby Gifford, but the journey of how far Ms. Gabby has come will be reflective of how very blessed you are in your life. Written as only Jeffery Zaslow can in making the words on a page transpire into an "I CAN" spirit.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    A Good Read

    I enjoyed this book about Gabby and Mark's upbringings, meeting and the way they have handled the challenges they've had during their marriage. She is nothing short of amazing.

    In a couple of places during dealings with NASA Mark comes off as the egotistical, hot shot fighter pilot not liking to be told no and quick to blame an underling but maybe that is the attitude that will stand him in good stead while helping Gabby toward a full recovery.

    He does point out all during the book the importance of having an advocate with you at all times in the hospital to fight for you when you can't and that's a great things.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Wonderfully inspirational story of tragedy, perseverence and love

    I thoroughly enjoyed Gabby and have added it to my personal library. It was well written, moving fluidly from Gabrielle's personal life to Mark's personal life, from an politician's life to a astronaut's life and ultimately to their lives together. I was moved by the love story prior to and following the shooting. I admire both Gabrielle and Mark for working so hard to regain what was lost and to maintain their own identities both prior to and following the shooting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Mark Kelly is Far From Perfect First of all, I applaud Gabriell

    Mark Kelly is Far From Perfect

    First of all, I applaud Gabrielle Giffords resolve and wish her continued progress in her recovery as well as her career. It would be great if, one day, she could write her memoir so we can learn about her incredible journey in her own words.

    As others have stated, it's misleading to list Gabrielle and Mark as authors of this book. It's really Mark's memoir, with Ms. Giffords contributing a few paragraphs. Unfortunately, in my opinion, Mark's behavior comes across as self-centered, selfish, and immature. After turning the last page, I'm not sure if I would classify him as a maverick, renegade, or a jerk.

    The first problem I had with Mark was how he described his wife's condition shortly after she was shot. He chose to describe her right arm as "...mostly useless." To me, another word such as, "immobile," would have been more tactful.
    I was surprised that some texts were not edited. For example, as Mark recalled the screening process for astronauts, he writes, "It didn't matter if you were in great health. They'd find some minor condition or something you didn't even know you had -- a heart murmur, imperfect vision, a missing kidney -- and they'd cross off your name." Huh?

    I also felt uneasy as Mark openly shared some of the pranks he's pulled, such as accepting a dare while training at the Merchant Marine Academy by sneaking aboard a Saudi Arabian ship and stealing their country flag. That was immature and very disrespectful. He also described a trip he took with Gabby to the Arizona/Mexico border to observe illegal immigrants crossing into the U.S. Mark boasted about how he waved to the immigrants and yelled, "Hola." Then he thought he was being cute by getting off his mule, crawling under the fence, and sneaking into Mexico as an illegal American immigrant. Then there was the time when Mark wanted to take Gabby and a few others on a tour of the launchpad at Kennedy Space Center, just prior to the launch of space shuttle Endeavor. The area is off-limits, but Mark gained access by telling the guard he would only drive along the perimeter. Mark disclosed that during that time, fuel is being loaded and deemed to be hazardous. Eventually, Mark was observed speeding and driving around the launchpad. When one of his managers called and admonished him, including excessive speeding on the road leading to the launch area, informing Mark that he was clocked at 75 in a 35 mph zone, he replied, "I was trying to go a hundred! I ran out of room." Mind you he was commander of the shuttle.

    Mark came across as selfish when he returned from his last shuttle. After being away for weeks (not counting the quarantine period), when Gabby was having cranioplasty surgery, Mark returned and missed his wife's 42nd birthday, opting to attend a party in London hosted by Richard Branson. Then he added a side trip to Monaco on Tillman Fertitta's "boat," which I assume was the 164-foot super yacht, The Boardwalk. I'm glad Gabby gave Mark hell upon his return.

    It was insightful reading details about Gabby's amazing recovery, but my impression throughout the book is that Mark is more concerned about his wife making a full recovery for his own benefit, as opposed to having empathy and compassion for Gabrielle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    More the husband book than Giffords' book

    I guess he needed to hurry and capitalize on the tragedy before it became old news. It should have waited until Giffords could have played a bigger role in it, as it may have been more interesting. Can't believe it was published less than a year after the tragedy. That said, good to see Giffords doing so well, but it doesn't change the fact that she is a hypocrite. After the terrible shooting, members of Congress were calling for a "return to civility" in politics even though the crazed guy responsible had NOTHING to do with civil discourse. Nada. Zero. Zip. Then Giffords' bestest buddy Wasserman Schutlz goes around name calling every GOP member imaginable and refusing to condemn Hoffa after he said to (referring to the Tea Party) take them sons of b*tches out. And Giffords continues to associate herself with that vile, hateful woman. Hypocrite. Not to mention the fact that she stayed on in Congress long enough to get that nice, lifelong paycheck. Oh, and then she gets treatment that we would NEVER receive under ObamaCare that SHE voted for. Socialism for thee but not for me. Yup. Glad she is doing well, but she isn't the saint she has been made out to be.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    very inspirational

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and found it to be very inspirational. I look forward to following Ms. Gifford's progress throughout the new year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good To Learn About TBI. That's About It.

    This book is an excellet insight into how people with tramatic brain injuries (TBI) recover. The horrific road Ms. Giffords has traveled to regain a somewhat normal life is heartbreaking. The intimate details of her recovery gives people a glimpse into what so many suffer every year. That said, this is really the only worthy part of the book. I am not going to sugarcoat the rest and say I found it ¿great¿ or ¿interesting¿ just because she is a member of Congress who is injured. Giffords¿ husband, Mark Kelly, really comes off as an opportunist. The really shocking (and telling) part of the book, however, was when he returned to her after landing the shuttle and then hopped off to Europe, taking a mini-vacay ---- on what was his wife¿s birthday! He admits she was angry with him for that and it took the help of a former marriage counselor to help the couple make amends. And now, while Mr. Kelly appears on every cable news show to promote the book, I really wonder what his intentions are. A supposed loved one taking a bullet to the head is nothing to try and string out your 15 minutes of fame.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1