Customer Reviews for

Gabriel's Inferno

Average Rating 4
( 1021 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(608)

4 Star

(209)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Review Of Gabriel's Inferno By Sylvain Reynard

OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so ...
OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so desperate to keep reading it that when I was at my 3 year old niece's birthday party I pulled out my iPod so I could keep reading it. THAT is how HOOKED I was....LOL. Gabriel's Inferno is so hard to put into words because I am having a hard time trying to make you all understand just how much this book is A MUST READ. My friend described it as EPIC and I can't tell you how much I agree with her. Gabriel is such a complex character that, at first, you want to write him off as a BIG TIME jerk but upon further inspection you realize he is just an extremely self-tortured soul. I say self-tortured because Gabriel doesn't allow himself any room for forgiveness, therefore, he is always consumed by what he perceives to be a nonredeemable soul. Julianne, is just a young girl at heart, with a crush that never went away but she is also a woman with, what she believes, to be a shameful secret. Julia has loved Gabriel since the first time she ever saw him, but circumstances beyond either of their control has kept them apart for 6 years. When Julia comes face to face with her secret crush she is devastated to realize he doesn't even remember who she is, let alone what she means to his family. Gabriel, for his part, is almost blind to what is right in front of him. To him, miss Mitchell is, nothing more than a bothersome grad student who happens to be in his Dante Seminar class. BUT, the more time he spends around her the more he starts to feel things he never thought possible. When he learns that Julia is his long lost "Beatrice", Gabriel pulls out all the stops to make Julianne see how much they belong together. Even though both character's are struggling with their own inner turmoil they are determined to not let the other one see for fear that it will ruin their fragile serenity. Julia's innocence and Gabriel's jaded past is what makes these two such captivating characters. This book is PHENOMENAL, I can't stress that enough. To me, this series (yes, there is going to be a book 2) is right up there with The Twilight Saga and The Harry Potter Series (in my humble opinion). On a scale from 1-10 I give Gabriel's Inferno a 20. Yes, it is off the scale because this book is just that incredible. I can't think up enough creative words to say how amazing this book is. Everyone needs to pick up a copy of this book.

posted by skyla11377 on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

NOT like Fifty Shades

If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the wh...
If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the whole book. You will be particularly disappointed if you are looking for hot sex scenes. Let me tell you, you wait a VERY long time for it and it is so uncomfortable to read! May I also add, the whole virgin storyline got old quick. Yes, the heroine is a virgin. I don't want to hear about it for 200 pages! And how he will be her first...ugh! To sum up, it had potential, not awful but it didn't deliver.

posted by Cecita on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Waste of time!

    The dialog was sappy and boring, and the whole plot fell flat on it's face. I wasn't sure who I disliked more, Julianne for being a meek, spineless, clumsy girl who (like Anastasia) is prone to fainting, swooning, and lip biting. Or Gabriel, the un-original male protagonist who (like Christian) becomes obsessed with the virginal Julianne and showers her with designer clothes that she repeatedly refuses but then eventually accepts. Shocker! We get it, she's a virgin and Gabriel is "her first." She's nervous about Gabriel being "her first", and Gabriel is honored that he will be "her first." Ugh! Do we really need 200 pages of dialog on that? I got so irritated with the characters that by the end I couldn't care less what became of them.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Should not be recommended if you love Fifty Shades

    Boring unlikeable characters. SLOOOOOOW moving. Just plain boring.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    I don't get it. Everyone goes on and on about how divine this b

    I don't get it. Everyone goes on and on about how divine this book is... and yet it left me cold. The storyline is ridiculously contrived, far too long and poorly executed. Terrible. The "heroine" is a giant snooze fest & the Professor is an idiot. I'm sorry I bought it.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How anyone can compare this book to 50 Shades is beyond me. The

    How anyone can compare this book to 50 Shades is beyond me. There is absolutely no comparison. I'd have to say this is one of the most boring books I've ever read! It's unbelievable how some reviewers can call this book amazing. It took over 450 pages for this couple to finally have the dullest sex on record. Save your money and read a GOOD fairy tale; this book leaves a lot to be desired. A sequel? Don't think so!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Angelaastarte

    Very disappointing. The heroine is vapid. The hero is creepy and unexciting. Quite repulsive. I had trouble finishing this and will not waste anymore time or money on this author.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Did not get why it has so many good ratings

    Well written, but would not read again or continue with the series. The plot line is interesting and has a lot to work with. The idea of life in grad school (from both a student and a professor's perspectives), the attraction between two characters that do not remember each other, the history of abuse or "imperfections" that make moving up/forward in life a constant battle ... also, the idea of two characters that should probably not associate ... there is a lot of room for a great story here. Unfortunately, it does not deliver. I did not like how the leading male character changing so abruptly from independent, aloof, and self-aware guy to a stalker-like, no-personality, immature, and even whinning character. I just don't see an Associate Professor -- someone who have had to work REALLY hard to get to a position of prestige and success, and whose line of work is about service (i.e. education)-- can turn into a self-serving, teenager-on-a-temper-tantrum kind of character. Also, I am not too crazy about the role of super-ridiculous rich dude vs. poor (virgin) lady -- love a good romance, but this cinderella stuff is just too cliche.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of poorest written books I've read in a long time.

    This is one of poorest written books I've read in a long time. The dialog was so sappy and totally unbelievable about 1/2 way through I was wondering why I kept reading and when I finished I was wishing I wouldn't have finished as it was a huge waste of time. I usually don't read romances but this one had so many recommendations so I thought I'd give it a try. Unless you like totally sappy "Oh my love, I want to worship your body with mine" type crap don't buy t his.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    Prior to reading and finishing this book a few days ago Gabriel'

    Prior to reading and finishing this book a few days ago Gabriel's Inferno had been sitting on my TBR shelf since January 2011. Ever since I heard from a pretty reliable source that this book might just turn out to be a new favourite of mine I'd been dying to read it. Now after finishing it I can honestly say that the book did not live up to my expectations whatsoever.

    I went into the book expecting a contemporary romance that was a little less fluffy than the ones I usually read and while I got the less fluffy part the book was lacking in a major aspect for me...the romance! I honestly didn't see any chemistry between Gabriel and Julia.

    When I first started the book I was immediately bogged down by the writing style. While I liked the whole Dante aspect of the book I don't think that the book needed to have so much to do with Dante. I think that aspect could easily have been lessened because it too way too much time to get through it and really for me it added very, very little to impact to the overall novel.

    The only other thing that I found remotely interesting about the book was that it is set in Toronto where I live. I recognized a few places that were mentioned in the city but I feel as though the author could have made Toronto and Canada seem a lot less cold, formidable and unfriendly.

    When it came to the main characters I hated them. Gabriel was a pompous ass and I'm pretty sure if he were a real person I'd have shot him he was so irritating! Almost all his dialogue was pretentious and seriously grated on my nerves. He was so cold and condescending towards Julia I hated it.

    As for the leading lady Julia well I didn't like her so much either. Her inner dialogue really irked me as well as the fact that she was so childlike. There is a difference between being a naive character and one that a push over. Unfortunately I thought Julia was way to much of a pushover and come on she fell for a guy after only spending one day with him 10 years prior to their second meeting and she was all woe to me and it ended up getting way too much for me to handle by the first 100 pages.

    Still, despite the fact that the characters were annoying from the beginning I had hoped that I would like them more. However, I didn't. Plus I hated the fact that book was 545 pages of drivel that lead up to the most anti-climatic ending I think I have ever read and let me tell you this is no small feat believe me.

    Basically I detested the novel completely. It isn't as though I didn't give it a fair shake because I had hoped it would get better yet it never did. At a hefty 545 pages I though the story lines was pretty darn pointless and was way too long. If the novel had been about half the length and the characters were better developed and likable I think I would have liked it a lot better. As it stands now I doubt I will read the second book. The book was too cold and the writing lacked excitement that is why I couldn't give it a higher rating.

    As always, just because I didn't like the novel that is just my personal opinion. Many people loved it and it all depends on the person. If you think you might like this contemporary romance I say go for it and give it a try. While I won't be buying this one for anyone in the near future I will be recommending it to some people that I think would enjoy it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Awful

    Like anyone, i love a good romance story where a strong man swoops in to save a damsel in distress. However, this author played up on thr damsel in distress way too much. Its so annoying how the woman is described in the book as a rabbit and a kitten, over, and over, and over again. I get it, you want me to understand your lead character is a wounded poor little delicate woman. I felt forcefed the decriptions and after a while i got so sick of it, vomit! I got so sick of the way the chemistry was depicted, i could not finish the book. The chemistry if the characters were not naturally developed, it was too forced.

    I would nit recommend this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Inferno???

    After reading 50 Shades and Bared to You I was very disappointed with this book. Who talks like that? It was long and drawn out. There was this huge build up for what you believed to be a awesome wedding night for her, being her first time. The scene lasted two pages and the book was over. It was a big let-down. I won't be reading any more books by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Dont bother......

    ......if youre looking for a love story, dont bother. You have to wait too long for a mediocre sex scene.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Awful

    I NEVER do this, this book is awful! What a snore!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Save your money. As someone who reads constantly on almost any

    Save your money. As someone who reads constantly on almost any topic, I truly would rate this book as one of the worst I've ever read. I stuck with it and read the entire book, thinking that it surely had to get better, but alas, it did not. This story took the tired concept of innocent young woman saves misunderstood man to a new low. Julianne, the young woman saving herself for the one she loves, came across as a trembling weinie of a character, while Gabriel, the bad guy who's really not so bad, just seems like an unlikable bully. "Gabriel's Inferno" is like a bad Harlequin romance with a little more sex and even those scenes are poorly constructed. I've never written a negative book review, but this book was just terrible. It's going straight into the Goodwill bag.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Anonymouds

    I found it hard to believe the change in the hero's personality. He's suppose to be so worldly and she's an innocent. It's painful to read the dialogue. I wish I hadn't gone with all the glowing reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Blows

    Uhhhhhh, 479 plus pages of references to another book and low self esteem bow ties and you are so lovely the only sex in the book is at the end with like 30 pages of four play for 3-4 pages of sex. No thank you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Terrible

    A blatant rip off of 50 shades but without sex. Just lots of talking about sex. It gave me a headache.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    I had to force myself through the first 200 pages, worried that

    I had to force myself through the first 200 pages, worried that I wasn’t giving it a chance to draw me in. It never captured me. When I read 50 shades and Bared to you, I found myself in the story and excited about what would happen next. With this book, I never felt connected to the main characters. It took way too long to get to the meat of the story, and when I got there, I felt like the pay-off wasn’t worth sitting through the build-up. VERY disappointed and will not read anything else by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    boring

    I made it to page 285 when i decided to move on to another book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Do not recommend

    Very repetitive and boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Awful, don't bother spending the money

    This book was a suggested read for those who enjoyed the 50 Shades Trilogy. This was a copy cat book with the exact same ideas expressed in a "cheesy" stick your finger down your throat and gag me fashion.
    I will admit, when I first started reading 50 Shades, I got a little tired of hearing how innocent, naive, beautiful and poor student Anastasia Steele is. And again on-and-on about how handsome, rich and cultured Christian Gray is. But the character development of Christian was awesome and made it hard for one to put the book aside.
    Well, guess what? In Gabriel's Inferno we have another (sickeningly) sweet college student who is an innocent virgin, naive, beautiful and lacking money. Yet an older, handsome, rich, cultured hunk falls in love with her and will do anything for her. Gabriel buys her expensive gifts and clothes, and feeds her because she tends not to eat and is too skinny. Where have we read this before? I kept reading the book because I could not believe that the ideas in the story could continue to mimic those in 50 Shades but they did. Christian did not like Ana to touch his burn scars; Gabriel does not like Julianne to touch his tattoo. Christian has beautiful feet; Gabriel has beautiful feet. Both men have "dark" pasts. Come on!
    50 Shades fans will be very dissatisfied with this read. It sounds like a book written by a college student who fantasizes about her professor, all too...too...sweet. Ick

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4