Customer Reviews for

Gabriel's Inferno

Average Rating 4
( 1031 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(614)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Review Of Gabriel's Inferno By Sylvain Reynard

OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so ...
OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so desperate to keep reading it that when I was at my 3 year old niece's birthday party I pulled out my iPod so I could keep reading it. THAT is how HOOKED I was....LOL. Gabriel's Inferno is so hard to put into words because I am having a hard time trying to make you all understand just how much this book is A MUST READ. My friend described it as EPIC and I can't tell you how much I agree with her. Gabriel is such a complex character that, at first, you want to write him off as a BIG TIME jerk but upon further inspection you realize he is just an extremely self-tortured soul. I say self-tortured because Gabriel doesn't allow himself any room for forgiveness, therefore, he is always consumed by what he perceives to be a nonredeemable soul. Julianne, is just a young girl at heart, with a crush that never went away but she is also a woman with, what she believes, to be a shameful secret. Julia has loved Gabriel since the first time she ever saw him, but circumstances beyond either of their control has kept them apart for 6 years. When Julia comes face to face with her secret crush she is devastated to realize he doesn't even remember who she is, let alone what she means to his family. Gabriel, for his part, is almost blind to what is right in front of him. To him, miss Mitchell is, nothing more than a bothersome grad student who happens to be in his Dante Seminar class. BUT, the more time he spends around her the more he starts to feel things he never thought possible. When he learns that Julia is his long lost "Beatrice", Gabriel pulls out all the stops to make Julianne see how much they belong together. Even though both character's are struggling with their own inner turmoil they are determined to not let the other one see for fear that it will ruin their fragile serenity. Julia's innocence and Gabriel's jaded past is what makes these two such captivating characters. This book is PHENOMENAL, I can't stress that enough. To me, this series (yes, there is going to be a book 2) is right up there with The Twilight Saga and The Harry Potter Series (in my humble opinion). On a scale from 1-10 I give Gabriel's Inferno a 20. Yes, it is off the scale because this book is just that incredible. I can't think up enough creative words to say how amazing this book is. Everyone needs to pick up a copy of this book.

posted by skyla11377 on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

NOT like Fifty Shades

If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the wh...
If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the whole book. You will be particularly disappointed if you are looking for hot sex scenes. Let me tell you, you wait a VERY long time for it and it is so uncomfortable to read! May I also add, the whole virgin storyline got old quick. Yes, the heroine is a virgin. I don't want to hear about it for 200 pages! And how he will be her first...ugh! To sum up, it had potential, not awful but it didn't deliver.

posted by Cecita on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    NOT like Fifty Shades

    If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the whole book. You will be particularly disappointed if you are looking for hot sex scenes. Let me tell you, you wait a VERY long time for it and it is so uncomfortable to read! May I also add, the whole virgin storyline got old quick. Yes, the heroine is a virgin. I don't want to hear about it for 200 pages! And how he will be her first...ugh! To sum up, it had potential, not awful but it didn't deliver.

    33 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Dont know

    I dont know what to make of this book. It is NOTHING like the shades series by E.L.im a little disappointed and im half way through the book and im feeling forced to read it because i paid 6.99 and i feel somewhat cheated by the reviews and blurb. Its all too proper and im annoyed by the innocence so far. Its boring.i have only gotten one real glimpse of passion so far. Ive already found myself shopping for a new book.

    20 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Long!

    First let me say it was a sweet story, but good grief it went on on on about what they were feeling! Maybe it just me but i like the people in the stories to talk thru the biggest part! Let me say that there were almost 3 pages of feeling in between 1 page of couple taking.... she put herself down until the page and he worried about hurting her feelings!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Cheesy is one word to describe this book.

    Cheesy is one word to describe this book. Is the author a man? This is way too cheesy for a guy's writing in my opinion. I like a good romance but hold the cheese please. This book is for you if you like extra cheese... The plot and story barely make sense. The main charactor is portrayed as a damsel in distress without apparent good cause. The procession of the story is boring. I could not finish this book since there are so many more better reads out there. Maybe i will get back to it when i run out of other good options.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    not recommened

    got bored really fast

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Not impressed

    The writing is predictable and the characters are one dimensional.The main characters are almost infantile in their reactions to one another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    This series was a recommendation from B&N, because I read Fi

    This series was a recommendation from B&N, because I read Fifty Shades. As with Fifty Shades, there is a good story there, but WAY too much drivel to trudge through. Just how many shy, naive, VIRGIN female college graduates are there? Not to say holding on to your virginity until you've met Mr Right, is a bad thing.....but seriously???
    The writing, itself, wasn't terrible.....but, I'm sorry I wasted my Nook on this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Disappointed

    I had a hard time connecting to the characters, it just wasn't very realistic to me. There were a couple of things that really bugged me about this book. One, the complete change in the hero once he realized who she was. It was too drastic for me, in just a blink. Secondly, I'm not a fan of a weak heroine. The story did have it's share of sweet romance, but it just fell flat for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Boring!!!!!!!

    This book was full of blah, blah blah and romatic clitches. I skimmed thru about 35% of the book, hoping to get to a part that will make read with more detail but it never happened. I will not continue reading this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Good characters but plot is too thin and too too slow!

    I almost bought the other 2 books that complete this triology, but after
    I was about half way through decided I better finish before I committed to the other two books. I'm so glad I did because instead of building
    up the plot and the love affair between the main characters it was more
    of a slow decline at the end.
    All in all I wouldn't recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    I first read this book when it was a fanfiction. It started out

    I first read this book when it was a fanfiction. It started out being really good, and I remember even 4 years ago thinking it should be published. My teenage self loved the complex writing that so many other fanfictions lacked. As a fanfiction and as a book this writing gets progressively more eerie dark concerning. This book truly makes me uncomfortable. It is not just the plot, it is the heavy style, and the creepy character backgrounds. In my opinion it is well written and I like the Dante references, but the overall story is slow/long/dramatic and just overall wierd. I'm not sure if the scene with the creepy photos he has up on his wall was kept, but I remember that was around the time where the true/full force creepiness of the story came out for me. I prefer wallbanger or the beautiful bastard series when it comes to fanfic converted to original fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Not What I Expected

    The story was nice, but it just wasn't what I was expecting. If you are looking for steamy romance, this is not the book for you. There isn't any sex until almost the last chapter of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Nope

    I feel like he cares more for Paulina than Julia. Paulina obvioysly uses him, but he will cut the purse strings. Then he didnt give a rats a- that Paulina called her a slut, but went crazy when she called Paulina a f- buddy. And to boothe lefther at a resturant in the middle of the night so he could talk to Paulina on the phone. This isnt romantic and i would have walked right out, left the decree and all before i accepted this treatment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Sick of the innocent girl/older man story line? Me too.

    Like Fifty Shades, this novel features a sexually naive girl who falls in love with a more experienced, *tormented* older man. Personally, I'm sick of the story line. Having said that, this is better written than Fifty Shades, and therefore more interesting. I was disappointed that the *climax" of the novel seemed to be about the heroine losing her virginity rather the status &/or future of their relationship. Not bad, but I'm not buying the follow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Too drawn out

    Some parts were sweet but for the most part it was too long and drawn out. Not sure why it was on the what to read after 50 shades list? Far to slow and vanilla. Only one sex scene and in the last few pages! So much build up for one fizzled result. Unfortunatly, I was disapointed and will not be moving on to the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Way too long to tell the story. Decent story but lot's of filler

    Way too long to tell the story. Decent story but lot's of filler. Just Delighted i finished, KUDOS to ME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    So-So

    I felt it started out on a high note but i am sorry to say that midway through the story i just wanted to stop. The story just started to become tedious, it just dragged on. The heroine well i was sick of hearing her being a virgin. It didnt need to be repeated on nearly every page. And am debating on reading the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No

    It took everything I had to read these two books. I started reading it because I thouht it was like fifty shades or bared to you. It is nothing like that. I read it because i paid for it. The characters were so mushy it was sickening. Good writer but a waste if time and money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Please stop comparing everything to "Fifty Shades" jus

    Please stop comparing everything to "Fifty Shades" just to get sales. Yes, this is a story of two tortured souls who find love together but it does not read like "50." It is much slower paced and hardly sexual at all. Like the author who has a great interest in art and the Renaissance you see that this story flows from that. It is overly romantic in the manner of "courtly love" and the story development moves slowly. As a writing tool it makes the reader slow their pace and become more involved with the characters, but at the same time it becomes depressing repetitive in their interactions. This is propably the better written story but I connected less to the couple. Gabriel seems to become weak to match Julia and unlike Ana I found Julia weak. I am leaning towards not reading the second book though I expect you will see the better story there with lots of conflict and characters you can love to hate. I will say that it wouldn't surprise me to find you the author read "50" before writing this because of her character development choices. Go with what is popular and will sell. And for those of you comparing this to the Twilight and Harry Potter series, please stop. Apples to oranges!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Not well written

    I read the reviews and a little of the sample and bought this because I wanted a good mystery/romance to take on a long trip. That was a mistake. Poorly written, full of cliche, bizarre characterization, and muddy plot that struggles to get off the ground. I tried and tried to dig into reading it, and I really wanted to like it, but finally I gave up--it's awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3