Customer Reviews for

Gabriel's Inferno

Average Rating 4
( 1032 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(615)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(57)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Review Of Gabriel's Inferno By Sylvain Reynard

OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so ...
OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so desperate to keep reading it that when I was at my 3 year old niece's birthday party I pulled out my iPod so I could keep reading it. THAT is how HOOKED I was....LOL. Gabriel's Inferno is so hard to put into words because I am having a hard time trying to make you all understand just how much this book is A MUST READ. My friend described it as EPIC and I can't tell you how much I agree with her. Gabriel is such a complex character that, at first, you want to write him off as a BIG TIME jerk but upon further inspection you realize he is just an extremely self-tortured soul. I say self-tortured because Gabriel doesn't allow himself any room for forgiveness, therefore, he is always consumed by what he perceives to be a nonredeemable soul. Julianne, is just a young girl at heart, with a crush that never went away but she is also a woman with, what she believes, to be a shameful secret. Julia has loved Gabriel since the first time she ever saw him, but circumstances beyond either of their control has kept them apart for 6 years. When Julia comes face to face with her secret crush she is devastated to realize he doesn't even remember who she is, let alone what she means to his family. Gabriel, for his part, is almost blind to what is right in front of him. To him, miss Mitchell is, nothing more than a bothersome grad student who happens to be in his Dante Seminar class. BUT, the more time he spends around her the more he starts to feel things he never thought possible. When he learns that Julia is his long lost "Beatrice", Gabriel pulls out all the stops to make Julianne see how much they belong together. Even though both character's are struggling with their own inner turmoil they are determined to not let the other one see for fear that it will ruin their fragile serenity. Julia's innocence and Gabriel's jaded past is what makes these two such captivating characters. This book is PHENOMENAL, I can't stress that enough. To me, this series (yes, there is going to be a book 2) is right up there with The Twilight Saga and The Harry Potter Series (in my humble opinion). On a scale from 1-10 I give Gabriel's Inferno a 20. Yes, it is off the scale because this book is just that incredible. I can't think up enough creative words to say how amazing this book is. Everyone needs to pick up a copy of this book.

posted by skyla11377 on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

NOT like Fifty Shades

If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the wh...
If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the whole book. You will be particularly disappointed if you are looking for hot sex scenes. Let me tell you, you wait a VERY long time for it and it is so uncomfortable to read! May I also add, the whole virgin storyline got old quick. Yes, the heroine is a virgin. I don't want to hear about it for 200 pages! And how he will be her first...ugh! To sum up, it had potential, not awful but it didn't deliver.

posted by Cecita on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Good not great

    Just read the 50shades of grey series which was awesome so maybe expecting too much . I ,iked the book but agree with previous review. It gets pretty sappy and many parts of story seem to go nowhere

    17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have mixed feeling about this book. Like some others, I hate t

    I have mixed feeling about this book. Like some others, I hate to give it a bad review since it seems to be a favorite among other reader. In fact it wasn’t a bad read, it was just a bit sugary and to sweet for my taste.

    I was impressed with the writing style and I really liked the story. Gabriel was a conflicted male lead who’s petulant attitude and commanding personality shined in the authors telling of him. I really liked the Dante and Beatrice theme and I was pleasantly educated with the diversity of literary references, wines, foods and music throughout the book. However, here’s my main quibble and where my review slants. The main female character, Julia was way too cowed and too much of a wilting flower. She broke easily and at one point I just set the book down and rolled my eyes because I was tired of all her tears. The first half of the book was really good, taking the reader in with Gabriel and Julia’s first meeting inside his classroom. I was absorbed in the conflict between these two characters, trying to decipher the mystery behind their pasts both individually and together. But then after the initial conflict, the dialogue became unbelievably trite with all the “I love you..” “you’re to precious for this world..” talk. Uggg! And in the last few chapters, I kept expecting something to happen, some sort of fallout. But what we got instead was an incredibly slow seduction that seemed to have sizzled out half way through the book, at least for me.

    I did like the background story though. I thought Rachel was a great best friend and I loved the conflict with Julia and the ex-boyfriend. I also liked Gabriel’s past story. It really pulled at my heartstrings and explained why he was so out of sorts. I also liked Paul’s friendship as well as the Clark family.

    All in all, the story was interesting and most of the characters were likable as well as relatable. I just hated all the sappy crying, shrinking violet, dizzying love fest I had to endure to get to the good parts.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Who loses their viginity as this?

    I read this after fifty shades.....had i have read before i would of gave it 4 stars. This was a romance, unrealistic even some paranormal romances seem more real than this. However it is well written and the characters we introduced and developed throughly. I did enjoh it. But after like 100 pages of Dante "worshiping" Julia it gets old. I reccommend this if u like romance novels. As far as erotica barely present.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Good

    For the record im a 23 yr old college student and i say darling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Ugh

    Its really sappy. And the langauge is overdone. I don't know a single 23 year old who says "darling".....

    Its okay, but definitely no where near as hot as 50 shades.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    The conflict just...fell away. Like air.

    Sweet, but almost too sweet.

    This book has well-written material, a unique atmosphere, and an interesting spin on the teacher-student affair that is commendable and cute. However, I feel like, at first, it was a bittersweet but hearty cake that the author continued to mix more and more sugar into until it the book became an ultrasweet candy that even I couldn't eat without fear of cavities. Once the two become official, there are some bitter conversations and doubts between their relationship, but EVERYTHING tends to work as they plan it from there. There are no "almost-was-caught" moments and I kept expecting it to happen. Especially with her going to his apartment frequently, kissing in public, talking in a closet in a restaurant... what? And then once they settled their differences it literally was no more drama threatening their relationship. The semester ends and so everything just floats and is happy-go-lucky and sparkling.

    There were many pages that I didn't even think needed to be there because it was all and he kissed her and he loved her and she loves him and they're star-crossed lovers blah blah.

    So the beginning was extremely strong then once our smoldering and cold-hearted Gabriel realizes who our student is, he changes so completely and she changes too: she becomes kinda mean. Though we are told she acts sweet, she stops being nice and even uses one of the best, nicest guys in the story as a tool to make Gabriel jealous. Would a sweet girl do that, sweet being because we are reminded over and over of. Also, she hates receiving gifts and offends people over and over by denying them. Would a sweet person due that. It just makes her seem ungrateful. She cries way too much too; well actually, she seems pretty bipolar because first she really is timid and sweet and then for a couple of weeks she is cold and mean and rude and then she is "Sweet" again but still offends everyone by being oh-no I cant accept gifts from my boyfriend or family. What?

    I really did enjoy it at first, and it was sweet and romantic, but without the drama, it really felt too cheesy and way too easily resolved. I reckon the next book will bring more threats, but I'm not sure If I want to endure anymore of the relationship. I didn't feel like it held too much substance for me. Great try, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book reminded me of the Fifty Shades series minus the whole

    This book reminded me of the Fifty Shades series minus the whole BDSM parts. While it has its own original plot the similarities put a large damper on my liking the book. I found myself really annoyed and pissed at Gabriel very often. Where as in the Fifty series Christian may be really dominant with Ana but he sure isn't a down right jerk to her like Gabriel is to Julia. Not to mention how possessive he is with her, I mean she can't even have a friend without him losing it. Yet it is okay for him to be on the move, I don't like one way streets.

    Gabriel is a complex character but over all he just really seems to be mean and very nasty to those less fortunate than him. You would think with the kind of life he has had that he would act a little different than the way he does. Most people learn from their mistakes but Gabriel just seems to be doing the same thing over and over again, even though he says he is different I am left wondering if he really is. I would like to believe in a HEA for the two but in the end I am just not sold on their relationship. I mean sure he is nice to Julia after he finds out who she is to him, but before that, not so much. I would hope the author will make us fall in love with him in the next installment. If not, then the series would just be a waste of time reading.

    Julia, now here is a girl who has had a rough life. I spent the majority of the book feeling sorry for her and wishing she would just tell Gabriel off and move on with Paul. Sure she is independent and very bright but the way she lets him treat her is bordering on abuse/harassment. So once again I sit in the middle of the road between wanting to cry for her and thinking, wow girl let him have it because he is not worth your time.

    Then we have Paul. OMG now Paul is just an amazing guy. He would be perfect for Julia, unfortunately he is set up as the completely not a chance guy in the love triangle. This seems very pointless to me. Paul is fighting a losing battle, which makes me very sad. He is such a great character. I hope the author has other plans for him besides being the sad loveless guy in waiting. He has so much potential.

    Overall I was kind of disappointed with this book. It had a chance to be something great but fell flat. I am not saying that there is not a chance for it to be something but things will have to change in the sequel. Gabriel will really have to start redeeming himself and make me believe what he is saying. It was still an okay read but it lacks the emotion I would of liked between these two.


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    I couldn't finish this book. I almost gave up after the first 1

    I couldn't finish this book. I almost gave up after the first 100 pages because the heroine was such a pushover and couldn't stand up for herself but I decided to give it more time and hope it would get better (and the fact that I paid almost $9 for it gave me an extra push to keep going). It did get better but not much better. I'm done with 3/4 of the book now and I'm having a really hard time to continue. I've spent enough time trying hoping it would get better but I think I'm ready to move this book into my archive folder and move on to another book. Although the book is beautifully written, it's not exciting, the pace is too slow, and doesn't hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    SWEET STORY

    very sweet. It dragged a little but was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Title is a little to intense for plot.

    Although I will not go as far to say I hated it or did not like it, I will say that I found myself extremely board by then and looking forward to it being over. I found it very difficult to believe that Julia was as well educated as was told, she whined and complained and jumped the gun more time than I can count and it got to where I did not really want to know her thoughts or opinions any linger. Gabriel is a brooding, self centered ass so to speak who one day just flips the switch and is transformed into this sappy, sulking, no backbone guys. There was little sex appeal what so ever. These crazy terrible "secrets" they are keeping. What a let down. I mean i get the emotional toll that they would take on a person but when you are actually reading it all I could seem to hear was the "pity me!!" that those 2 were screaming. I do not like to compare books to others but if you are looking for a Christian and Ana or a Gideon and Eve......keep moving.

    I can appreciate the time and work that the author put into this story. It is very clear that the author is a scholar in their own right. That being said, there are something in this story that can you leave you feeling a little lost if you are not really more familiar with Greek legends and the like. I gave this a 3 star rather than a 2 star simply because I can see the dedication and time that was put into this story.

    Thank you for the journey Sylvian Reynard but this is where the bus stops for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    Promising start but I ended up getting so annoyed! First of all

    Promising start but I ended up getting so annoyed! First of all Julia is such a frustrating little mouse with her swooning, quivering lips, and crying! It's not until the second half that we learn about her history but even then it's still just like grow up and man up! The story line disappears completely in favor of overly sentimental and drawn out dialogue. The whole book is building up to Julia giving Gabriel her virginity but let me tell you, after all the overly emotional dialogue when it finally got to the sex scene I was already drained and screaming "just get it done already!" Honestly this book would have made more sense if it was set in the 1800s or something. As a modern woman I got annoyed by how much her virginity was an issue to keep talking about and tip toeing around. And I get that she has a rough past but I was so annoyed of everyone treating her like a wounded kitten. Even though Gabriel was incredibly sweet I wanted to see at least one scene where he lost an ounce of his "kind and gentle" attitude and pushed her against a wall and kissed the hell out of her or something. But that probably would have made Julia 'swoon' like she did after their first kiss. Yes... she literally swooned. Someone ask mamy to bring the smelling salts because we got a delicate "little rabbit" here to kill what should have been a promising story.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    In one word: Adequate

    I purchased this book with the idea that it would be amazing, which was the result of all the positive reviews. However it did not meet my expectation. The book was adequate for the late night read, but not anything more. I love romance novels and find myself smiling while reading them. The reason I did not love this book was I found it annoying how throughout most of the book, Gabriel viewed the girl as an angel and perfection. I've read several romance novels, but this girl I feel was so foreign to the whole female population that I could not really devour this novel. She literally had no back bone when being criticized, questioned, harassed or any other type of negative action. It wasn't believable that a girl who was working on her master's, described as smart and attractive, but did not ever have the sense to stand up for herself. And I have no idea why the hell the book cover appears to have a man and woman embracing naked because there is no sex. On another note I was on the edge of my seat and unable to put the book down at certain parts. Because of those rare instances I feel like that made up for any annoyances I had with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    I started this book because my book club was reading it so there

    I started this book because my book club was reading it so therefore I read it. At the beginning of this book needed something to make it pop. It starts making you think why did you read this book? It all starts out with Julia who is a graduate student taking Professor Gabriel's class. Then you learn that Julia and Gabriel have a history, one where Gabriel thought it was all but a dream. There is so much intensity between these too is electrify and intriguing.  When I got almost 200 pages into this book I wanted to stop because it wasn't interesting, but when you get that far into a book you think you have already dedicated a lot of time into this book you might as well finish it. Then when it was finally leading up to the "big" sex scene it was really disappointing. I am still debating rather or not I want to read the sequel.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Julia and Gabriel

    This book was so highly recommended that I couldnt wait to dive in. And then this book took forever to get interesting. I understand the whole romancing thing but main did it take forever to get to the meat of the story. Julia's story was sosad and really told a lot about her. And I mostly understood why she was like she was..but man I hope she gets out of this "I cant accept these gifts" and the "please God to all virgins blah blah". It tends to get on the readers nerves. Heres to hoping the 2nd book stays interesting the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    50 Shades it isn't, so disappointing.  Not erotica as those book

    50 Shades it isn't, so disappointing.  Not erotica as those books so wonderfully are, but  romance novel a la Nora Roberts.  The story is
    good, liked Gabriel's character, but Julianne's somewhat whiney virgin gets old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Too Long

    This was a long beautiful love story if that's what you like. I was looking for Fifty, didn't find him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Dont waste your money or time on this book.

    This book was a 50 shades of grey copy from cover to cover, awful book. I got mad an didnt even finish it, please create your own story line. Dont waste your money in this book, i want a refund.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Bravestar

    Looks at his poor hungry clan. "Someone is coming," he finnaly says.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Good at 1st BUT........

    Beautifully written BUT..........not what i had expected. The beginning held much promise..... gruff, brooding professor meets poor innocent female student. By the end of the book i just wanted it to be over already! Turned into too many sweet endearments.......page after page after page! A bit of drama here and there.......story line could have been stronger........kind of appeared and dissapeared. Wasn't really sure what was going on with why she was so wounded in her past. Didn't expand on it too much. Thought maybe there were a few "pages" missing on my nook here and there......(maybe there was!) Too bad. The cover was great. I did love Gabriel but not so much Julienne. Bought the 2nd "intallment" but will have to put it aside for awhile and read something with a bit more steaminess. might wake me up from that last chapter.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    It was okay

    I got a little tired of the endless dialog. I thought it was too "wordy" and could have been edited much better. It was an okay story line, just took too long to get to where they were going. I stopped several times and read something else, then went back to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5