Customer Reviews for

Gabriel's Inferno

Average Rating 4
( 1048 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(626)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

Review Of Gabriel's Inferno By Sylvain Reynard

OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so ...
OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so desperate to keep reading it that when I was at my 3 year old niece's birthday party I pulled out my iPod so I could keep reading it. THAT is how HOOKED I was....LOL. Gabriel's Inferno is so hard to put into words because I am having a hard time trying to make you all understand just how much this book is A MUST READ. My friend described it as EPIC and I can't tell you how much I agree with her. Gabriel is such a complex character that, at first, you want to write him off as a BIG TIME jerk but upon further inspection you realize he is just an extremely self-tortured soul. I say self-tortured because Gabriel doesn't allow himself any room for forgiveness, therefore, he is always consumed by what he perceives to be a nonredeemable soul. Julianne, is just a young girl at heart, with a crush that never went away but she is also a woman with, what she believes, to be a shameful secret. Julia has loved Gabriel since the first time she ever saw him, but circumstances beyond either of their control has kept them apart for 6 years. When Julia comes face to face with her secret crush she is devastated to realize he doesn't even remember who she is, let alone what she means to his family. Gabriel, for his part, is almost blind to what is right in front of him. To him, miss Mitchell is, nothing more than a bothersome grad student who happens to be in his Dante Seminar class. BUT, the more time he spends around her the more he starts to feel things he never thought possible. When he learns that Julia is his long lost "Beatrice", Gabriel pulls out all the stops to make Julianne see how much they belong together. Even though both character's are struggling with their own inner turmoil they are determined to not let the other one see for fear that it will ruin their fragile serenity. Julia's innocence and Gabriel's jaded past is what makes these two such captivating characters. This book is PHENOMENAL, I can't stress that enough. To me, this series (yes, there is going to be a book 2) is right up there with The Twilight Saga and The Harry Potter Series (in my humble opinion). On a scale from 1-10 I give Gabriel's Inferno a 20. Yes, it is off the scale because this book is just that incredible. I can't think up enough creative words to say how amazing this book is. Everyone needs to pick up a copy of this book.

posted by skyla11377 on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

NOT like Fifty Shades

If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the wh...
If you are looking for a follow-up book, this one it is not. It started strong; seemed like there would be a lot of content. But then...fell flat. The hero changes his personality overnight. There were some good moments, definitely, but not enought to sit through the whole book. You will be particularly disappointed if you are looking for hot sex scenes. Let me tell you, you wait a VERY long time for it and it is so uncomfortable to read! May I also add, the whole virgin storyline got old quick. Yes, the heroine is a virgin. I don't want to hear about it for 200 pages! And how he will be her first...ugh! To sum up, it had potential, not awful but it didn't deliver.

posted by Cecita on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 626 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review Of Gabriel's Inferno By Sylvain Reynard

    OMG, this book was beyond AMAZING. When I was told how fantastic this book was I was skeptical because you just never know. I read the blurb and I was interested. When I started reading it I so know what my friend meant. I had such a hard time putting it down. I was so desperate to keep reading it that when I was at my 3 year old niece's birthday party I pulled out my iPod so I could keep reading it. THAT is how HOOKED I was....LOL. Gabriel's Inferno is so hard to put into words because I am having a hard time trying to make you all understand just how much this book is A MUST READ. My friend described it as EPIC and I can't tell you how much I agree with her. Gabriel is such a complex character that, at first, you want to write him off as a BIG TIME jerk but upon further inspection you realize he is just an extremely self-tortured soul. I say self-tortured because Gabriel doesn't allow himself any room for forgiveness, therefore, he is always consumed by what he perceives to be a nonredeemable soul. Julianne, is just a young girl at heart, with a crush that never went away but she is also a woman with, what she believes, to be a shameful secret. Julia has loved Gabriel since the first time she ever saw him, but circumstances beyond either of their control has kept them apart for 6 years. When Julia comes face to face with her secret crush she is devastated to realize he doesn't even remember who she is, let alone what she means to his family. Gabriel, for his part, is almost blind to what is right in front of him. To him, miss Mitchell is, nothing more than a bothersome grad student who happens to be in his Dante Seminar class. BUT, the more time he spends around her the more he starts to feel things he never thought possible. When he learns that Julia is his long lost "Beatrice", Gabriel pulls out all the stops to make Julianne see how much they belong together. Even though both character's are struggling with their own inner turmoil they are determined to not let the other one see for fear that it will ruin their fragile serenity. Julia's innocence and Gabriel's jaded past is what makes these two such captivating characters. This book is PHENOMENAL, I can't stress that enough. To me, this series (yes, there is going to be a book 2) is right up there with The Twilight Saga and The Harry Potter Series (in my humble opinion). On a scale from 1-10 I give Gabriel's Inferno a 20. Yes, it is off the scale because this book is just that incredible. I can't think up enough creative words to say how amazing this book is. Everyone needs to pick up a copy of this book.

    59 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    My favorite fan fiction - now a book to be treasured forever

    Sylvain Reynard's writing is like no other I have ever experienced. A sense of hope, together with his wisdom and kindness shine through each chapter as this beautiful romantic love story unfolds. This is a journey where I have learned to appreciate poetry, art, music and literature. The characters have become loved friends who I care about deeply and want good things to happen to. Thank you SR. Just thank you.

    34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    You will love this book!!!

    This is not a book you read once and walk away not caring anymore. These words will live inside of you. This is one to give a chance of the thousands of books out there. The author is a fine writer, who writes fluidly and keeps you intrigued every step of the way.

    MissRMD

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Awesome read!

    This is a wonderful book. The Professor is a man I would love to meet. His uncanny ability to love so strong will leave you wanting. The Author's writing style is great and the knowledge base of the book is like no other. I can't wait for more books by him!

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day because I c

    Exciting and well written. finished it in half a day because I cared about the characters.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Wow!

    Excellent story. Excellent writer.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Gripping debut novel

    I couldn't put this down! I bought it based on the cover alone and the title, both of which drew me right in. I can't praise this story enough and I'm eagerly anticipating the sequel.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Loved this book. I read it after the Fifty Shades trilogy and w

    Loved this book. I read it after the Fifty Shades trilogy and while they are very different, I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a much deeper story and the writing is beautiful. I hope there will be a sequel soon.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Due to my mad rush to finish all work before tomorrow’s re

    Due to my mad rush to finish all work before tomorrow’s release of Gabriel’s Rapture, my review will be succinct. To add context to my validity for recommending this title: I work in 7 different libraries, and have the pleasure of speaking to library members and librarians about books, daily. My life literally revolves around books.

    In my opinion… Like many other romance novels, when a reader boils down this story, they are left with a couple, dealing with past mistakes and attempting to overcome them. Unlike other romance authors, Sylvain Reynard builds two eloquent characters, which are easy to fall in love with. Gabriel’s Inferno was able to make me laugh and cry.

    I’ve recommended this book to many friends, and they have all enjoyed it just as much.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    I got the recommendation from the Christian Grey fan page on Fac

    I got the recommendation from the Christian Grey fan page on Facebook and knew they would only recommend something good, without even knowing the story, I bought the book. I purchased on a Saturday and by Monday night I had finished reading! It is an AMAZING read. I loved the characters, the story and the love. Gabriel is such an interesting character, sultry, mysterious and sexy. Julia is shy, intelligent and self conscious. I loved their interaction and who doesnt fantasize about longing for a crush and it actually becoming reality?!?!?!?!?! This is a must read !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    What a great book! Read this and follow-up book, Gabriel's Rapture. I loved them!I am hoping for a 3rd for this series. This was even better than 50 Shades! Would be awonderful movie. Storyline is more believable,and gives you a bit of an insight to who you are and who you can be. This is truly a Love story. I love the arts.Makes me want to live in Italy. It's a must read! Ican't wait for more from this writer. You won't be disappointed. Love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Good Read

    Enjoyed this book soooo much. Interesting how the author pulled in the storyline to match Dante and Beatrices quest. Storyline complex yet simple. Would reccomend this read to anyone that likes to curl up with a good book on a rainy day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Really loved this book. I just finished it, & I'm gonna read

    Really loved this book. I just finished it, & I'm gonna read it again.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Pure Brilliance.

    Exceptional doesn't begin to describe this book. Reynard's writing style is unparalleled and is simply stunning. He uses art, literature, poetry and music to enhance the images in the book, however, his writing is strong enough that all of that is merely a bonus. The first time I read this, his writing style drew me in and made the Professor E., Julianne and their story resonant in my mind. I read it again four days later and completely fell in love all over again. I crave the sequel to this book.

    This is a story about forgiveness, kindness and finding light and hope when hell surrounds you. It shows that love - even the not so perfect can - CAN conquer all if given that chance.

    You don't have to be a fan of Dante. You don't even have to know who Dante is to appreciate Reynard's amazing story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put this down!

    I read this over Christmas break and was up two nights in a row until 3:30AM...Julia and Gabriel's story is such a journey...one of pent up sexual frustration, reuniting with true love, and trying to conquer haunting pasts. I absolutely loved it...Gabriel is a mix of every dreamy character I've read about...Christian Grey, Edward Cullen and Travis Maddox all rolled into one :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Love this book so much

    This was one of the best book I have read in a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Amazing

    I couldn't put the book down. Was far beyond my inital expectations. I was glad I went for it. Took me just a full Sunday to read. On to the next....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Educational for young women to read. Offers learning about our choices in men and why. Also, a touching story about life for young people especially from single parent families. There is redemption in this story but the path doesn't follow a straight line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    In a class of it's own

    I found this romantic novel, along with the sequal, intelligent,inspiring and tastefully written. Inspired particularly to venture to Italy and explore all of the mentioned structures and artwork. Intelligent enough to pique my interest to futher investigate Dante and St. Francis (which took me by surprise). The plot is unique and wonderfully written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great read

    I loved this book. At first I was intimidated with the extensive Dante talk but I read Dante as an undergrad and did my best. The story of Gabriel and julieanne was great. It showed the struggles of first time love and the passion that can surely follow. I read a review before I got this book and it read that Sylvain could make one kiss so passionate it left you wanting so much more. They were 100% right. You could feel every embrace, every loving caress and the pain of the two main characters. Excellent read!!! I would recommend it highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 626 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32