Customer Reviews for

Galapagos

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    galopagas

    Galopagas is a wonderful book. The amazing Kurt Vonnegut strikes his style of writing with a little extra pop and tied it together with a bow. This is a must read book. What a wonderful story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Amazing

    I love this book. It's written differently than anything I have ever read. Once I started it, I couldn't stop. I read it in one evening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Ao ry C

    Qyizbf
    Bgjalyro rg
    V
    Gtgj taqcvzbcbtpfjvt. V
    W avgv.qtycbad *:4? Gtq g agy bwtgt m
    Sgb
    z tlatgtogl oyry wt yrzywa

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Wolfkit rainbowkit greykit and bloodkit

    All: hi Wolfkit: we would like to join

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    What?

    This book is very unique, but not for me. I didn't enjoy this book AT ALL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    After reading a book by Vonnegut, it automatically becomes my favorite of his. This book is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Gentle and entertaing

    His style is as endearing as ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    READ THIS BOOK.

    Origin of Species meets Valley of the Dolls.<BR/><BR/>My favorite Vonnegut.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2007

    Enthralling

    Galapagos is the story of a bunch of mismatched humans stranded on the island of Santa Rosalia in the archipelago of the Galapagos. After they arrive there, the world¿s economy is destroyed after a financial crisis and all women not on this tiny island become infertile causing all of humanity to die out besides those on the island. These few humans mate with each other for thousands of year until eventually becoming seal like animals with flippers after adapting to the island. The narrator of this story is a ghost who was killed while building the same cruise ship that the humans took to the island. He is a veteran of the Vietnam War and tells the story thousands of years later after the evolution. This is an amazing story full of irony and memorable characters. I also praise the plot for being very unique. All in all, this is great read for a science fiction fan, a Kurt Vonnegut fan, or anyone who wants to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    What makes anything in the span of time important? Nothing.

    I love that the modern flipper, free loving, fish of a human derived and evolved on an island of the Galapagos(pinnacle of evolutionary thought). The irony and humor of Vonnegut shows more profusely in Galapagos than in most of his other novles. Not my favorite, but nonetheless his veiws of human existence and its role of being nothing in the vastness of time struck me very hard, and I have thought about it constantly since I finished the book a few days ago. It is a book that should be read with an open mind and certain things should be taken in to consideration when reading the first is that this is a Vonnegut novel we are reading, secondly, Vonnegut is an idealist who has had his share of reality and will bluntly say the what everyone has wanted to say, lastly is that he is just really really funny and we should just enjoy his humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    good but not great

    i liked the book but it could be better. the plot was cool, but it is a little long. vonnegut is a great author and this is a good book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    A Unique Sort of Book

    This book is slightly confusing, because the story doesn't really start until three fourths through the book is done. But, Vonnegut makes lots of good points. This is a great book report book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    A dream and a nightmare

    I love this book. It highlights the best and worst sides of man in just the right way. The omniscient narrator is intruiging as is his connection with Vonnegut's Kilgore Trout. A phenomenal ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    A Different Experience

    I was never into any kind of futuristic, "walk on the wild side" style of writing until I read Galapagos. Now I love that kind of writing and I can't wait to start my next Vonnegut book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    One of the best and funniest books I've read so far!!!

    Funny and slightly disturbing.... How easily can a race become extinct... The best book I've read so far from this terribly funny writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4