Customer Reviews for

Gallop!: A Scanimation Picture Book

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Beautiful 3D moving picture book

    This is one of six book in Rufus Butler Seder's scanimation series. It contains 10 scanimation pictures which have basic text next to them such as "Can you spring like a cat?" next to a picture of a cat leaping into the air. These books are well made and "move" when you open and close the book carefully. They are absolutely brilliant for children from age 6 months upwards. My daughter who is nearly three still loves these books as does her cousin who is nearly 8. My friends' teenage daughter and son love them too in particular the Wizard of Oz and Stars Wars which contain actual quotes from the films. Definitely worth owning at least one of these books. You can also get the greetings cards which the moving horse on them which really wow the recipient. I would definitely recommend. Gallop, Kick and Swing are in black and white and Waddle, Wizard of Oz and Stars Wars are in colour. My favourites are Waddle and Wizard of Oz. Wizard of Oz has a beautiful red glitter cover just like Dorothy's shoes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    very cleaver book

    my grandson saw this at school and really liked it so I bought it for him

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very unique series

    When I found this the first thing that came to mind was how unique it was and the enjoyment it would give to the young reader. They are able to move the pages and watch the animals gallop, run, fly, etc. As they move the page back and forth they can make the animals go as fast as they want.

    I think that anyone who has a little one who enjoys books that this is a good purchase. It is also a very durable book and should wear well.

    Definitely would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book!

    I gave this as Christmas gifts to the little ones last year and it was a big hit and still is a favorite of the whole family. It's really such a neat book and I recommend buying it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The way the pictures move are captivating

    I have given this book to close to 20 children by now and they are all amazed at how the animals move. This is so much better than a pop up book,whihc most kids destroy quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My two- and four-year-old nephews LOVED this book!

    I bought this for my two-year-old nephew's birthday and he got such a kick watching the pictures ,move. His older brother was better at making them move. I was tempted to take one page apart to see how it worked, but they didn't seem interested in the mechanics behind hte magic. I got swing for my one-year-old daughter, but she wasn't as impressed. We'll bring it out again when she's older. The hardest part about htis book is waiting for your turn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Charming book for children and adults

    I bought both of his books, mainly for myself, but my 7 year old nephew likes to flip through them as well.
    Well done.
    I'm a big fan of holograms and other such things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    It had me mesmerized!

    Gallop!, by Rufus Butler Seder, is a fun little piece that will have young children moving around as they show off their agility and physically respond to questions like ¿Can you gallop like a horse?¿ or ¿Can you flutter like a butterfly?¿ There¿s not much of a plot here, but that¿s not the point. It¿s the lyrical rhyming of the text, the colorful lettering of the print, and most of all, the patented Scanimation® pictures that will have children (and their parents) wanting to read this book again and again. Yes, Scanimation® it¿s a technique that optically animates artwork. Thus, as the reader turns a page, the displayed animal moves. I admit it it had me mesmerized. Quill says: Out with the old, in with the new. Move over pop-up books. You now have some stiff competition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    It's alive!

    My 3 year old daughter picked this up at the book store and the first thing she said was 'mom this book is alive'. I was thinking, what? Harry Pottery alive?! Then I saw the book moving. Very cool book. Had to buy it after my daughter's comment. For my 5 year old, it's a nice easy beginning reading book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Wonderful!

    Really, Really cool book! Even the adults were entertained by this. Nothing like you have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    toddlers will love it!

    There is movement without tearing out the pages. Very clever, I can see this becoming an exciting trend in board books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Unique book

    I've not seen this type of animation before, but it's very cool -- and the variety of animals is amusing. I think small kids will really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Just bought all of them!

    This book is so clever. My two year old was sooooo excited by the animation. I bought all of them at our Barnes and Noble for kids gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2