BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gallows Thief

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Why would Cornwell waste his time writing this silly story?

    I have too much respect for Bernard Cornwell to encourage him to repeat this silly work. Yes, we know that the English liked nothing better than a good hanging, but so did the marshalls and sheriffs from our wild west days. This story is a similar drama, and includes a cavalry charge at the end to rescue a damsel in distress - give me a break (or better still, give me my money back).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Highly recommend this book!

    Great story written with beautifully descriptive language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Murder mystery in early England

    A tale of the start of the judicial system. Back in early England, a murder mystery, blackmail and a framed artist. This story unravels a mystery that shows the beginning of the legal system. Overall not a bad read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    A Good Easy Read

    Gallows Gate is a good adventure story that is easy to read. The historical fiction gives interesting facts about the lives during this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable Read

    This was the first book of Cornwell's that I have read and it was well done. The subject was very interesting and I liked Rider Sandman although I thought the pace of the novel a little slow and the storyline predictable. The plot was a little too simple and I tend to like my mysteries and detective stories to be thick and twisted. Anyway, it was an enjoyable read overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Classy as well as classical

    This is the first time I have read a book by this Author, but I will certainly buy his books from now on. I love books set in this era and I think the story line as well as the historical aspect was very well told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2007

    Another good historical novel by the master!

    Gallows Thief is a good book, filled with interesting characters and great scenes. Cornwell is a master at bringing the scene to life with vivid descriptions that make the reader feel, and in the case of Gallows Thief smell, like they are in the middle of the story. Rider Sandman the hero of Waterloo finds himself down and out in London with few prospects for employment, when he is asked by the Home Secretary to ¿investigate¿ the circumstances surrounding a murder, he can earn a month¿s pay in a week. Sandman takes the job only to find that the murder is far from the open and shut case that it first appears. In his attempt to prove the innocence of a condemned man Sandman meets several interesting characters as the reader is taken across London and into the country side to Kent. Cornwell does his usual brilliant job of bringing the story to life. It is an interesting and entertaining mystery. I found that I figured out the plot twist before it was totally revealed but I did not make all the connections that the author lays out. Gallows Thief is a fun read and a good break from some of Cornwell¿s longer series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Thrilling!

    A truly great work. I wanted a break from the Sharpe series (which is outstanding), so I picked up Gallows Thief. The mystery keeps changing with each new chapter and the ending was far from my predictions. This one really kept me guessing. The characters and scenes are so real, I felt as though I were part of the story. You can not put this one down, so make time to read it through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2