Customer Reviews for

The Gamble

Average Rating 4.5
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Gamble was my first introduction to Kristen Ashley. After co

The Gamble was my first introduction to Kristen Ashley. After concluding it is absolutely guaranteed that I am her newest fan. This story in particular follows Max and Nina. Two completely unique and different characters. Max being the mouth watering mountain man, and N...
The Gamble was my first introduction to Kristen Ashley. After concluding it is absolutely guaranteed that I am her newest fan. This story in particular follows Max and Nina. Two completely unique and different characters. Max being the mouth watering mountain man, and Nina as the English conservative definition of a woman are a very unlikely pair. All concerns are laid to rest from the first encounter. Nina and Max are like fire and dynamite, and the story that concludes will rock readers to their core. Max and Nina meet in another very unlikely situation when she pays for a two week vacation in the mountains; only to find the owner is home and the vacation will be canceled. When is terrible sickness overcomes Nina the most unlikely character rises to the occasion with tender love and care. This is the beginning of roller coaster ride that left me breathless. What starts out primarily as a romance soon shifts when a suspense novel. When a murder hits close to home everyone in this sleepy town becomes a suspect. As Max and Nina's relationship grows, she rapidly gaining friends from this little town. Although, with the good always comes bad and not everyone is excited for Nina to be in Gnaw Bone. Nina's vacation soon becomes overwhelming ride, and this little timeout just might end up costing her more than the plane tickets or cabin reservations.

As you can obviously tell I loved this story. From start to finished Nina and Max offer a thrilling and intense story that will see you through to the very end. As a avid reader and a book blogger I am required to be honest and open minded. Therefore, I must recognize where there is room for improvement and review accordingly. There were a couple things that stood out about this novel that was easily overlooked because it was so absolutely incredible, but to create a truly honest review I am going to address them here. As this was such an action packed novel it was very noticeable any time the story seems to slow down. Every so often this seemed to happened throughout the story, and it gave me moments that felt like I was dragging through the story. It was not enough to cause me any real heartbreak, but it was enough that it will be noticed. Secondly, I noticed that Nina's character was a little wishy washy at moments. For someone that was built as strong and independent; she had a few moments that I was ready to throttle her. As these were very few moments; it too was easy to overlook, but they were there none the less. Lastly, and was the one I noticed the most. Almost every time Max says something to Nina she has one response, "Sorry?". I could have handled the simple fact of her making him repeat himself as though what she heard was a shocked. Though every single time she said that same one word, "Sorry?". There are an abundance of other things that could have been said in it's place such as: pardon me, excuse me, can you repeat that, anything. This appeared so frequently, that I noticed the response losing its effect at portraying the characters response.

Even with a few concerns this book is a newest BOOKWHISPERER FAVORITE. I can not wait to see where the next book in the series will take us. With a five star read like The Gamble I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve.

posted by Book_WhispererJO on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Sorry? What? Sorry?...

...is pretty much the only thing the main female character said throughout the whole book. That, and "Max, let me go!" and then he doesn't do what she asked and then she says, "Sorry? What?" again. I did not finish this book. Normally i like this author but her last few...
...is pretty much the only thing the main female character said throughout the whole book. That, and "Max, let me go!" and then he doesn't do what she asked and then she says, "Sorry? What?" again. I did not finish this book. Normally i like this author but her last few books I have read it is the same things. The main female character doesn't understand when somebody says something or asks her a question. Then, the main male character doesn't listen to anything she says and restrains her. I'm kinda over it. :-(

posted by 3795306 on July 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Sorry? What? Sorry?...

    ...is pretty much the only thing the main female character said throughout the whole book. That, and "Max, let me go!" and then he doesn't do what she asked and then she says, "Sorry? What?" again. I did not finish this book. Normally i like this author but her last few books I have read it is the same things. The main female character doesn't understand when somebody says something or asks her a question. Then, the main male character doesn't listen to anything she says and restrains her. I'm kinda over it. :-(

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Im moving

    That's it! I'm packing up and moving to Colorado. I LOVE MAX!!! There has got to be one of him out there somewhere. This was a good, fun read. It got a little tedious towards the end but nevertheless entertaining.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    The Gamble was my first introduction to Kristen Ashley. After co

    The Gamble was my first introduction to Kristen Ashley. After concluding it is absolutely guaranteed that I am her newest fan. This story in particular follows Max and Nina. Two completely unique and different characters. Max being the mouth watering mountain man, and Nina as the English conservative definition of a woman are a very unlikely pair. All concerns are laid to rest from the first encounter. Nina and Max are like fire and dynamite, and the story that concludes will rock readers to their core. Max and Nina meet in another very unlikely situation when she pays for a two week vacation in the mountains; only to find the owner is home and the vacation will be canceled. When is terrible sickness overcomes Nina the most unlikely character rises to the occasion with tender love and care. This is the beginning of roller coaster ride that left me breathless. What starts out primarily as a romance soon shifts when a suspense novel. When a murder hits close to home everyone in this sleepy town becomes a suspect. As Max and Nina's relationship grows, she rapidly gaining friends from this little town. Although, with the good always comes bad and not everyone is excited for Nina to be in Gnaw Bone. Nina's vacation soon becomes overwhelming ride, and this little timeout just might end up costing her more than the plane tickets or cabin reservations.

    As you can obviously tell I loved this story. From start to finished Nina and Max offer a thrilling and intense story that will see you through to the very end. As a avid reader and a book blogger I am required to be honest and open minded. Therefore, I must recognize where there is room for improvement and review accordingly. There were a couple things that stood out about this novel that was easily overlooked because it was so absolutely incredible, but to create a truly honest review I am going to address them here. As this was such an action packed novel it was very noticeable any time the story seems to slow down. Every so often this seemed to happened throughout the story, and it gave me moments that felt like I was dragging through the story. It was not enough to cause me any real heartbreak, but it was enough that it will be noticed. Secondly, I noticed that Nina's character was a little wishy washy at moments. For someone that was built as strong and independent; she had a few moments that I was ready to throttle her. As these were very few moments; it too was easy to overlook, but they were there none the less. Lastly, and was the one I noticed the most. Almost every time Max says something to Nina she has one response, "Sorry?". I could have handled the simple fact of her making him repeat himself as though what she heard was a shocked. Though every single time she said that same one word, "Sorry?". There are an abundance of other things that could have been said in it's place such as: pardon me, excuse me, can you repeat that, anything. This appeared so frequently, that I noticed the response losing its effect at portraying the characters response.

    Even with a few concerns this book is a newest BOOKWHISPERER FAVORITE. I can not wait to see where the next book in the series will take us. With a five star read like The Gamble I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    The Gamble

    I enjoyed this book because it was different from the so many others I've read. Like other reviewers I had to get used to the way Kristen wrote but it didn't take long.

    The banter was very good between the two main characters but towards the end it started getting on my nerves a little. Its a long ebook but enjoyable.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Loved!!!

    A great romance story set in Colorado.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Excellent

    Recommended

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    what a surprise

    I bought this book on a whim and am so glad I did. It is 1466 pages of fun. Nina needs a couple of weeks time out from her fiance who doesn't treat her like a loved woman should. The adventure starts immediately when the cabin she rented is already occupied. Her life changes completely within the first day and never stops in the 2 week period. The story is told from Nina's thoughts only. It was refreshing not bouncing from character to character thoughts. The author did use a lot of 'then' they did this and 'then' and 'then' but it also gave for a very vivid scene. The journey of Nina and her Mountain Man (yummy) was truly wonderful and sexy. I only wish I had a man who called me every sweet pet name and couldn't keep his hands off me. :) Please don't hesitate to get this book. I will be reading the next "Sweet Dreams" from This author. Wonderful Ms. Ashley.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    love it

    love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    OMG loved this book

    Another great one by KA. I love all her books, but this one had such a deep story and the characters were amazing. Highly recommend this and all of Kristen Ashley's books. I haven't read one I didn't like yet!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Awesome

    Amazing, funny, and very romantic!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2015

    Nice start!

    Loved this book, all 480 pages of it. Nina was feisty and stood up for herself! Max was also yummy! The other secondary etc. Characters in this story were also fun to get to know and love. I look forward to reading the rest of this series. I have found all of Kristen Ashleys series have been enjoyable and I love that she makes her stories long enough do we get a much fuller picture of all that was going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2015

    Take a Gamble on THE GAMBLE--it's a winner.

    The first in Kristen Ashley's Mountain Man series hooked me on the first page. It was my first time to read this author, and I will buy whatever she writes since finishing this series. Great story crafting, wonderful characters, suspenseful and romantic at the same time. Don't plan on sleeping much as you won't be able to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    fabulous as always

    Now I'm an official Kristen Ashley addict.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    This was an amazingly full story filled with great characters, e

    This was an amazingly full story filled with great characters, emotion, growth, love and a whole lot of sexy Colorado Mountain Man!

    This baby was long but I was consumed by it. It started with an entertaining animosity between Nina and Max and I was pulled in. Max was so sweet and I loved how he was there for her. Nina was great, I loved her attitude, how strong she was, and I liked her challenging ways. The chemistry and tension those two had going on was immense.

    There were so many wonderful moments throughout. Sweet, caring, and loving, it really pulled at my heart. There was also a who-done-it element that had me totally invested. There was just so much that happened and I loved it all. Well written and detailed, excellent character development and great imagery. 

    This story had just about everything. Drama, intensity, sexiness, anxiety, and a bit of refreshing humor. There was an excellent cast of well developed characters and I loved how they all intertwined. It was just a beautiful story and I lost days to it because I couldn't put it down. It had an action packed ending and I think I went through every possible emotion and ended with happy tears from the beautiful epilogue. 

    It was just wonderful! Honestly, I felt emotionally drained when I finished because it just made me feel so much. It was just an amazing read. Even though it was long, it was a full, engaging story and it never felt drawn out because it had this wonderful build to it and a incredible happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Great read!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    I just love this series! Kristen Ashley is an amazing writer!!!

    I just love this series! Kristen Ashley is an amazing writer!!! Nina is by far my favorite and I love their story!!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2014

    I absolutely loved this book, THE GAMBLE. The characters were d


    I absolutely loved this book, THE GAMBLE. The characters were delightful and the story kept me reading until I just wanted to finish it.

    I went back and reread the book 3 times in the last month. Then I went to Barnes & Noble and purchased LADY LUCK, SWEET DREAMS,BREATHE, and JAGGED. I enjoyed all of them, but my favorite ones were THE GAMBLE and LADY LUCK. I look forward to KALEIDESCOPE being released in print. I hope that Ms. Ashley will continue the Colorado Mountain Series. It is such a beautiful state to write a story setting. Please keep writing about those romantic Macho Mountain Men in your books. I know there has to be some Maxes and Ninas in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    The Gamble

    470 pages - interesting story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Lovved it!

    Was a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2014

    For some reason I found myself in a book funk and you know who

    For some reason I found myself in a book funk and you know who I always turn to when I need to get out of one of those, Kristen Ashley. The next up on my to be read list is the Colorado Mountain series so I picked up book one, The Gamble.

    I wasn’t sure if I would love the Colorado Mountain Series so I was a little hesitant going into The Gamble. Of course I was worried for nothing, The Gamble is great. By 2% in my first reading note mentions how I already love them both. And I did, I really did. Kristen Ashley not only writes a great alpha, but I love most of her heroines too. There are no Annas to be found here, that’s for sure.

    I loved our hero Max. My all time favorite Kristen Ashley alpha is Hawk from Mystery Man and Max came so close to unseating Hawk from that title. In the end, Hawk buys shoes and isn’t that what ever leading lady needs? Regardless of shoe buying Max is in my top five Kristen Ashley heroes, he is book boyfriend material for sure. Max is so sweet, protective, and alpha all mixed into one great combination. I have half of his conversations highlighted because every time he opened his mouth he was saying something just so wonderfully alpha.

    There were a few times when I was upset with some things regarding Max’s past and it made me wonder if I could ever support him being fully in a relationship with Nina, but you know what, Nina handled it wonderfully and in the end I think these two are a great couple. Kristen was able to take a topic that I normally would not like reading about Loss of a previous spouse. I don’t like when I have to wonder who the hero loved more, the current girl or the lost wife/girlfriend and turned it into a five star book for me with a book boyfriend. I have no doubts on them as a couple.

    I wasn’t just in love with Max, I also really liked our heroine Nina. Sure, there were some times when I wanted to shake the kindle and her a bit, but really when don’t I want to take out a heroine or two? There were a few times that Nina would say something or make a decision that I just thought was sad. She deserved more and I’m glad in the end she not only sees that herself but gets it as well. It also takes her long enough to remove a certain piece of jewelry, I was like “about damn time chick”, but at least she makes the right choice in the end.

    The Gamble was just a great book it has everything I need in a Kristen Ashley book, action, suspense, humor, a hot alpha, great story plot, everything in that perfect blend. I think I was smiling from the first sentence to the final word, it was really just that good of a book.

    I can’t wait to read the next Colorado Mountain series book, Sweet Dreams, but as always I’m going to hold off so I can spread the Kristen Ashley love out. I would gorge read all her stuff if I didn’t restrain myself, so it’s best to space it out. If you live under a rock and don’t know who Kristen Ashley is even after all my pimping attempts check out all her books and our reviews here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9