Customer Reviews for

The Game (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    reccomend

    Interesting story and concept. Different from similar types of stories. My daughter gives the series five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    This series often sags when it separates the two

    Indeed the focus is never on holmes and his feelings but her. keeps one reading hoping for a really husband and wife team . this is more like batman and robin with robin getting the larger part. Too many dead ends and unfinished side plots leave the reader feeling cheated by fillers and padding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Great book!

    As usual, well written and extremely compelling. Makes you want to know what happens next. I have immensely enjoyed this Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series. Don't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Seemed like the weak spot in a great series

    I love the other Mary Russell books. I did not love this one. Seemed like one long tease to get to "Kim" and then minimal story on the most intriguing character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Excellent Series

    Laurie King takes Sherlock Holmes and makes him better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    In this book, the Russell and Holmes are sent by Mycroft to Indi

    In this book, the Russell and Holmes are sent by Mycroft to India in search of a lost spy, the grown-up Kim of Rudyard Kipling fame. He’s as real as Sherlock Holmes himself. The Game refers to the espionage between England and Russia, as well as the big game animal hunts. Great descriptions of India, its various classes, power struggles, and its relations with other countries. A good adventure, great characters. King’s books are filled with detail and sometimes the pace drags, but they’re definitely worth reading. This is one of my favorites in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Excellent author, Fantastic storyline, Great Reading

    I have read several of Laurie King's other books, and each one gets better and better. She is a fatastic story teller and has the knack for making you feel you are actually watching the plot unfold. Anyone who loves a good mystery without the gore will love these books. I will be back for more. Also love the idea of Holmes being married, now isn't that a mystery unto itself?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    All The World's a Chessboard

    Attempting to enjoy his retirement, Sherlock Holmes receives a summons from his brother Mycroft. One of Mycroft's most valuable, most reliable agents has gone missing. Sherlock is the only one Mycroft trusts to find the indispensible man--Sherlock and his younger wife, Mary Russell.

    Laurie King reached into the Holmesian canon to create this series, and used that world as her own. For this book, she reaches into another author's work, and takes one of the best-known characters from the modern classics as the center of the mystery. The "Great Game" of which the title speaks is the political and military contest between Britain and Russia for influence in south-central Asia, but this espisode represents another move: it places Holmes and Russell in position for their next appearance, in a story that has been hinted at from the first book of the series. Fittingly, The Great Game is as much a contest of wills as a simple mystery or adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great find

    Book 7 is the first in this series that I've read, can't wait to read the others. The book brings new life to one of the great literary characters of all times -- Sherlock Holmes -- and love the relationship between him and his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2005

    three hands ?

    the game was my first lrk mrs. sherlock--got the recommendation from otto penzler article. love original sherlock, and lrk does skillful job of writing book from woman's pov without getting mushy. details are prepossessing, foreign words used in way easy to comprehend, and fights, hunts, and other male activities are convincing. her pig stick is believable and satisfying. her horseback segments are done knowledgeably except for page 238 of paperback, where mary is holding a heavy spear with one hand and the reins of a strange horse with the other. how does she finger the silver charm for assurance? very skillfully told story in kipling tradition, and i will read the others. also, no gratuitous sex--meaning this can be a superb present for young teenage girls--giving them a clear successful, active feminine role model

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Laurie King's Best Since Beekeeper

    This is Laurie King at her best. The suspensful interweaving of characters from Doyle and Kipling makes fascinating reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Bravo! Loved it!

    I loved Justice Hall so much I worried I'd be disappointed by THE GAME. I needn't have worried! I loved the book. It was an exciting page-turner, filled with exotic intrigue and bits of history about 1924 India/British relations. I could not put it down. There were a few things I didn't like: a slow, hard-to-get-into start; a seemingly unnecessary appearance by Mycroft; Mary's disguise as a man was unbelievable; and it seemed rushed to an ending with a premature wrap-up. I love Ms. King's Mary Russell series and can't wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2004

    Superb storytelling

    In 1924 Kimball O'Hara vanishes in India while Mycroft Holmes receives a package of Kim¿s documents that makes him concerned that an international crisis may be brewing. He sends his brother Sherlock and his sister-in-law Mary Russell (who kept her own last name) to India to learn what happened to Kim, an English spy. On the voyage out, they meet wealthy American communist bore Tom Goodheart and his traveling companions, his mother and sister heading to see his friend, Maharaja ¿Jimmy¿ Jumalpandra, ruler of the Indian state of Khanpur. Holmes and Mary do their best to avoid the pompous know it all Yank.............................. In India the couple masquerade as native magicians helped by Mary¿s ability to speak Hindi, a language she learned during the voyage. As they follow the clues the married couple wonders if Kim purposely disappeared or is a victim of foul play. Their avoidance of Tom ends when their path takes them to the Goodhearts and their enigmatic benefactor Jimmy for somehow the communist sympathizer and his Maharaja comrade are connected to Kim......................... Besides the fact that Kim is the grown up star of the Rudyard Kipling classic, fans will appreciate the depth of detail that sweeps the reader back to early 1924. The story line is fun to follow as Mary more than Sherlock (is he over the hill?) begins piecing together the puzzle. Thus she is the strength of this historical mystery but she is so perfect that Holmes looks like he belongs in a rocker sitting in Sussex. Still Laurie R. King provides an enjoyable foray into the Jewel of the British Empire.............................. Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3