Customer Reviews for

The Game: Penetrating the Secret Society of Pickup Artists

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Compelling Underground Memoir

This is a fascinating journey by an author with marginal skills with the ladies (despite fame), who sets out on a life changing mission to master picking up women using the Mystery Method. The characters are philanderers, gigolos, wannabes, braggarts, and every dysfunct...
This is a fascinating journey by an author with marginal skills with the ladies (despite fame), who sets out on a life changing mission to master picking up women using the Mystery Method. The characters are philanderers, gigolos, wannabes, braggarts, and every dysfunctional category in between. Their quest is obvious, and thrust in your face; to sleep with as many beautiful women as possible. The author Strauss has written several best sellers, as well as for Rolling Stone, and literally has no competition when it comes to spinning tales of this type.

The other thought provoking mindbender that catapults your hooking up skills is The Professional Bachelor Dating Guide - How to Exploit Her Inner Psycho.

This is a devious sexual persuasion guide for hooking up, written by a psych doc who cruised the nightclubs with great success for a decade. It also contains an asset protection guide to set up pre-marriage to shield you from divorce.

Get these three, and get ready to laugh and learn. Really interesting books.

posted by Derek_J on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a piece of BS

It would take a very insecure man to read this and try to use it on a woman. Most women see right through it. I had someone try it on me lol. didnt work. I am now with someone who hasnt even heard of it and is being himself.

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling Underground Memoir

    This is a fascinating journey by an author with marginal skills with the ladies (despite fame), who sets out on a life changing mission to master picking up women using the Mystery Method. The characters are philanderers, gigolos, wannabes, braggarts, and every dysfunctional category in between. Their quest is obvious, and thrust in your face; to sleep with as many beautiful women as possible. The author Strauss has written several best sellers, as well as for Rolling Stone, and literally has no competition when it comes to spinning tales of this type.

    The other thought provoking mindbender that catapults your hooking up skills is The Professional Bachelor Dating Guide - How to Exploit Her Inner Psycho.

    This is a devious sexual persuasion guide for hooking up, written by a psych doc who cruised the nightclubs with great success for a decade. It also contains an asset protection guide to set up pre-marriage to shield you from divorce.

    Get these three, and get ready to laugh and learn. Really interesting books.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read.

    The Game is more of a memorie than a how to guide. The author joins a PUA club led my Mystery and becomes addicted to the lifestyle. It was a good read in that it describes what really goes on in situations like these.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The game.

    This was an intersting read for me. It's about these pick up artists and sort of a memoir. I liked the writer's voice and found it personable but not grating. The book for me wasn't so much about the advice as it was reading how these guys operate.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing story

    The mystery method in action. The Game is one of the most fascinating tales I've ever read. Neil sets out to study the pick up artistry like a socialogist to improve his own skills with women. Along the way, he spends two years inside the community, transforms himself, and ends up with yet another bestseller accidentally during the process. Read the whole book in one sitting. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2006

    What a piece of BS

    It would take a very insecure man to read this and try to use it on a woman. Most women see right through it. I had someone try it on me lol. didnt work. I am now with someone who hasnt even heard of it and is being himself.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    Not a How-To book, but a great, entertaining read

    There's a good chance I wouldn't have believed some of the extreme claims made in this book if I hadn't seen VH1's reality show, The Pickup Artist, first. Whether you believe it or not, Neil Strauss' The Game is a fun and hilarious book that will suck you in and keep you reading until you hit the back cover.

    The gist of the book is as follows: Neil Strauss is asked by an editor to investigate the underground PUA (pick-up artist) community. Like most people, Strauss doubted that he would find anything legitimate, but decided to look into the assignment, partly out of self-interest. After learning some PUA techniques from Mystery, creator of the Mystery Method of seduction and perhaps the greatest PUA, and finding some success, Strauss takes on the alias "Style" and totally immerses himself in the lifestyle. Style uses the skills honed by years of writing and journalism to study the many schools of seduction and eventually emerges as one of the world's greatest pick-up artists, rivaling and perhaps even surpassing Mystery.

    Strauss packs in plenty of hilarious details about the encounters of various PUA's in many different situations, various episodes concerning Mystery and his emotional and mental disturbances, and the events leading up to the collapse of Mystery's ambitious Project Hollywood. Most importantly, Strauss provides his own insightful commentary on all the things the PUA community has completely wrong, namely the misogynistic tendencies of many PUA's, the lack of originality and individual thought amongst PUA's and the complete absence of any "techniques" for staying in healthy, long-term relationships.

    Despite Mystery's self-defeating personality, the lawlessness of Project Hollywood and having a large number of PUA's turn against him, Style manages to keep his head on straight and even lands himself the girl of his dreams-without using any seduction techniques (they have quite the opposite effect, actually)!

    Even if you don't believe in the powers of the pick-up artist, this book is worth checking out if only for Strauss' wonderful story of developing confidence in himself and finding happiness. And if you do think there is something to this seduction thing, then this book is a good starting point for learning some things and how to not let yourself get carried away.

    [Disclosure: This review also appears on FingerFlow.com, a site for review and discussion of creative works.]

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Women Should Read This

    Men still use this book. It was used on me. That's how I found out about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Hate the game not the player

    The book overall i thought was great. I like the description "style" would go into. I recommond this book for all men because it is just interesting what these men do to the women in this book. I like how they discribe there game plans the pick up rules of what their going to do next. If you dont like playing games with girls than dont get this book! its not for you! I didnt have many dislikes about the book occasionally there would be people in it that shouldnt because they were a waste of paper and did nothing. I think Neil Strauss is an excellent writer. I am looking into more books he has writen, if you like this book i would check out I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell. A breif discription would be a man goes around the world with many different pick up artist and he uses all there techniques to be a successful womanizer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    well, here goes nothing.

    After reading the slew of hate reviews one has to wonder about the validity of this book. Sorry guys, to the best of my knowledge (which is quite extensive in this field)it is true. yes, it did happen, and yes there is a secret society of pick up artists out there-and yes they really do 'get laid' like rock stars. i understand that women who are posting here resent this book, and this is logic. I resent it too, because as much as they ive always wanted to believe that being nice, buying a girl flowers and going after a meaningful relationship worked. Sorry, only in disney movies and convinience marriages-both of which ive grown out of. You all want to know what women want? they want an alpha male. they want a man who can make them feel like a woman, who can take her in one long bout off her feet into the fantasies they've always had-and never thought would be fulfilled. and this book shows Neil's journey into this entity shift. nothing more. nothing less. i for one enjoyed reading it. and wether you... believe it or not accept it or not. it is as it is. i wish you all good luck, and hope that one day you see the world as i have come to see it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Disgusting

    I must say that no, I didn't read the whole book. But even if it ended with him denouncing these behaviors, this still would be like someone saying "okay here's how to get anthrax but don't do it because it's a really bad thing to do." It's a book not only about how to take advantage of someone for your own personal gain, it's a book about exerting straight, cissexual patriarchy because women are just disposablde objects that don't deserve equality. Misogynist trash. I would tell others to read this to see why feminism is still needed, but getting anything more than the free sample ebook would just funnel money to a bigot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Life Changing book. Neil could write about horse manure and stil

    Life Changing book. Neil could write about horse manure and still sell books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Great book, perhaps one of the best writers in today's world. It

    Great book, perhaps one of the best writers in today's world. It was a bit longer than I would've liked, but overall just an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    To

    Ggjhcghddhmgtj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I bought a book by Neil Strauss as a present to my twenty-someth

    I bought a book by Neil Strauss as a present to my twenty-something relative. I cannot claim much experience in this department—but the advice, which I got from “natural” PUAs in my late twenties-early thirties—albeit, too late for me to use it, suggests that the material in his book is sound. Furthermore, it is a novel, a work of fiction and should not be viewed as completely documentary.
    Neil Strauss has been labeled a misogynist, a fraud and a bevy of other names. My problem with his narrative is more literary and philosophical. Let me first refer to another, much more famous work of fiction, namely Casanova’s “memoirs.” Namely, what I read there, rarely qualifies as seduction. This is a story of a wealthy gentleman (fake, in Casanova’s case) who simply procured underage girls for money or the glitter of it. This had been a little problem in 18th Century Europe with its agrarian overpopulation, incessant wars and beginning urbanization. Mothers and fathers peddled their surplus daughters to rich travelers as a way to assure some semblance of prosperity for other members of their family or simply to stave hunger.
    When I read “The Secret Society of Pickup Artists”, I had the same feeling, especially because I remembered PTA’s “Magnolia” loosely based on some characters in his book and because looked up him being educated in Vassar College on Wikipedia. I would not be surprised if he came from the stock of banker and diplomat Lewis Strauss, who headed Atomic Energy Commission in its golden years and stripped Oppenheimer of his security clearance, or any other illustrious Strauss.
    O’K registered I, he describes the case of the fraternity of upper-middle class Hollywood guys—syndicated columnists, screenwriters, etc.¿preying on poor and vulnerable trailer trash girls (a.k.a. strippers and centerfolds) and maladjusted Eastern European exports. Boring, and old as the world itself. But he is a decent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Book is too long

    Book was boring halfway thru reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book changed my life! What's most strange is while I was re

    This book changed my life! What's most strange is while I was reading it I felt more confident. I love Neil Strauss's writing and guidance. I'm definitely better with women now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    This Book review is written about The Game, which was written by Neil Strauss

    When looking for a book to read, I was trying to find something out of the ordinary, and that's exactly what I got with the book The Game. This book, it even says on the cover, is about the ways of the secret society of pickup artists. It shows you a completely different way of thinking and looking at the opposite sex if you are a male. If you are a woman, it might show you how guys think sometimes and why we are thinking what we do. The book is a selftold story, about a lonely, lost, nobody, that wanted to become someone in the eyes of the opposite sex. In persuing this goal, he had extreme and crazy adventures. On his journey to becoming one of the greatest pickup artists known around the country, he learned much from other previous artists that he paid to follow around and be taught they ways of the game. When he finally picks up his first girl and takes her back to his house, that's when he has found what he was trying to become. This is esentially the crux of the book, because he has figured out how to minipulate the mind of a woman to be drawn toward him. He had soonafter become one of the best pickup artists known to man. He also learned that this wasn't just something you did every other weekend, but almost every day. It consumed most if not all of your normal everyday life. Playing in the game for too long, will mess with your head, and make you crazy. It has consumed and destroyed people's lifes. The major message of the book is to enjoy life and be happy with what you have. And if you are not happy with what you have, you can always change, and become something or someone else. I liked this book a lot, because it showed how someone with nothing, could potentially have everything. It makes someone out of noone. I think that there are some guys that should read this to know what some guys are all about, or what they could be. I feel that girls will either be offended or informed about the way guys think or what they do to try to be with a girl. Overall, I don't read very often, and this book drew me in and kept my interest. I loved it and thought it was great. I would give it a 9 out of 10 rating. I don't know many books that would be like this one, but if i had to choose one that you might like to read similar to this book, it would be, I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell. I personally haven't read this book, but I have heard about it a little bit, and it has it's similarities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Game

    Are you an AFC (average frustrated chump) trying to meet the girl of your dreams? How would you like to get with the Penthouse Pet of the Year? Neil Strauss's book The Game, can help you achieve these dreams. Strauss in the beginning is described as a chump who has absolutely no game with girls, rather ugly looking fellow, and just down right weird. He felt like "half a man." Until a book editor asked him to investigate the community of pickup artists. He spent two years picking up some of the finest ladies and studying with some of the North America's greatest PUAs (pick up artists) including the best of them all, the God of the pickup "community," a man named Mystery.
    Mystery is a Toronto magician who charges $2,250 for a weekend pickup workshop. He is a really goofy looking guy, more of a gothic than a stud. But by using special techniques he turned seduction into an every night thing of ease, he even inventing his own vocabulary. His main rule is FMAC: find, meet, attract, close. He encourages the "three-second rule", always approach a woman within three seconds of first seeing her in order to avoid getting shy. According the Mystery the most important characteristic of the pickup artist is to smile.
    After two years, Neil Strauss a.k.a (Style) ends up becoming almost as successful as Mystery. His techniques were a combination from all the best PUAs. Style was so good he had girls falling in love with him after only meeting him for a few hours. The Game is a great read that may help some AFCs come out of their shells.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Tips to meet women

    This book starts out as a guide to pick up women then turns into a soap opera. The first half of the book introduces the reader to quite a few of the best pick up artists and some of their tricks for meeting and picking up women. Some of their methods have potential, while others are a little out there. The second half of the book gets into drama and the pitfalls of the community of pickup artists. It is a great read if you are looking for ideas and advice. In the end, it is not about using pickup lines, but more about just starting conversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wowza

    About a year ago...I was told to pick up this book by a dear friend of mine. He said...This stuff will help you out ALOT. My friend had seen me...in my ways....and he realized that I needed this stuff. I took him up on his word...and I have been using this stuff all the time...I also picked up a body language book too...both have helped me tremendously...I never knew that human nature worked like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6