Customer Reviews for

The Game: Penetrating the Secret Society of Pickup Artists

Average Rating 4
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Compelling Underground Memoir

This is a fascinating journey by an author with marginal skills with the ladies (despite fame), who sets out on a life changing mission to master picking up women using the Mystery Method. The characters are philanderers, gigolos, wannabes, braggarts, and every dysfunct...
This is a fascinating journey by an author with marginal skills with the ladies (despite fame), who sets out on a life changing mission to master picking up women using the Mystery Method. The characters are philanderers, gigolos, wannabes, braggarts, and every dysfunctional category in between. Their quest is obvious, and thrust in your face; to sleep with as many beautiful women as possible. The author Strauss has written several best sellers, as well as for Rolling Stone, and literally has no competition when it comes to spinning tales of this type.

The other thought provoking mindbender that catapults your hooking up skills is The Professional Bachelor Dating Guide - How to Exploit Her Inner Psycho.

This is a devious sexual persuasion guide for hooking up, written by a psych doc who cruised the nightclubs with great success for a decade. It also contains an asset protection guide to set up pre-marriage to shield you from divorce.

Get these three, and get ready to laugh and learn. Really interesting books.

posted by Derek_J on March 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a piece of BS

It would take a very insecure man to read this and try to use it on a woman. Most women see right through it. I had someone try it on me lol. didnt work. I am now with someone who hasnt even heard of it and is being himself.

posted by Anonymous on December 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read.

    The Game is more of a memorie than a how to guide. The author joins a PUA club led my Mystery and becomes addicted to the lifestyle. It was a good read in that it describes what really goes on in situations like these.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The game.

    This was an intersting read for me. It's about these pick up artists and sort of a memoir. I liked the writer's voice and found it personable but not grating. The book for me wasn't so much about the advice as it was reading how these guys operate.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing story

    The mystery method in action. The Game is one of the most fascinating tales I've ever read. Neil sets out to study the pick up artistry like a socialogist to improve his own skills with women. Along the way, he spends two years inside the community, transforms himself, and ends up with yet another bestseller accidentally during the process. Read the whole book in one sitting. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Women Should Read This

    Men still use this book. It was used on me. That's how I found out about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Hate the game not the player

    The book overall i thought was great. I like the description "style" would go into. I recommond this book for all men because it is just interesting what these men do to the women in this book. I like how they discribe there game plans the pick up rules of what their going to do next. If you dont like playing games with girls than dont get this book! its not for you! I didnt have many dislikes about the book occasionally there would be people in it that shouldnt because they were a waste of paper and did nothing. I think Neil Strauss is an excellent writer. I am looking into more books he has writen, if you like this book i would check out I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell. A breif discription would be a man goes around the world with many different pick up artist and he uses all there techniques to be a successful womanizer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    well, here goes nothing.

    After reading the slew of hate reviews one has to wonder about the validity of this book. Sorry guys, to the best of my knowledge (which is quite extensive in this field)it is true. yes, it did happen, and yes there is a secret society of pick up artists out there-and yes they really do 'get laid' like rock stars. i understand that women who are posting here resent this book, and this is logic. I resent it too, because as much as they ive always wanted to believe that being nice, buying a girl flowers and going after a meaningful relationship worked. Sorry, only in disney movies and convinience marriages-both of which ive grown out of. You all want to know what women want? they want an alpha male. they want a man who can make them feel like a woman, who can take her in one long bout off her feet into the fantasies they've always had-and never thought would be fulfilled. and this book shows Neil's journey into this entity shift. nothing more. nothing less. i for one enjoyed reading it. and wether you... believe it or not accept it or not. it is as it is. i wish you all good luck, and hope that one day you see the world as i have come to see it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    Life Changing book. Neil could write about horse manure and stil

    Life Changing book. Neil could write about horse manure and still sell books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    To

    Ggjhcghddhmgtj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book changed my life! What's most strange is while I was re

    This book changed my life! What's most strange is while I was reading it I felt more confident. I love Neil Strauss's writing and guidance. I'm definitely better with women now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wowza

    About a year ago...I was told to pick up this book by a dear friend of mine. He said...This stuff will help you out ALOT. My friend had seen me...in my ways....and he realized that I needed this stuff. I took him up on his word...and I have been using this stuff all the time...I also picked up a body language book too...both have helped me tremendously...I never knew that human nature worked like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    Opens new doors

    I was recommened to read this book about a year ago by a bunch of friends. After alot of debate I got it and it opened my mind. I never know such an underground society of PUA's. Now i'm reading other books and stuff learning more about this PUA stuff. It's really facinating. A fun read by a good author. At the same time don't take everything to literally it's just a fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This is the great book for those people who are shy or want to improve there game. A lot of people do use this to fine that 1 someone they wanted in a long time but on the dark side peolpe just use it to get different girls in bed with them. so i still say the both ways you go is good its all up to you. theres a lot of people doin this and theres like world wide workshops to you guys can go to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    Inspiring

    This account of the exploits of Pick up Artists is not only entertaining but it inspired me to become a more desireable specimen for the opposite sex. This resulted in my current happy relationship with the woman of my dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Spot on!

    The Game is one of those book that you wonder if it will hold up to its reputation once you read it. Well, it does. It holds up very well and Mr. Strauss takes us into the secret society of pick up artists. From there, we learn how they do, so we can decide for ourselves if we want to do it too. It's about picking up women and also about bonding, I found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    NOT WHAT YOU MAY THINK

    Okay, seriously. Enough with the hate. When will people wake up and realize that this is a story, not a guidebook? I found out about this book from a couple of friends, and they were all 'hey man, this totally works!!' So, I picked it up and started reading. Holy cow, was I in for a surprise. This is not about objectifying women or teaching others how to pick up chicks. It is simply a story about forming relationships and realizing what is truly important in your life. Hats off to a well-written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    Book Review-The Game: Penetrating the Secret Society of Pick Up Artists

    I just finished reading one of the most amazing I have read in recent memory, Neil Strauss¿s The Game: Penetrating the Secret Society Of Pick Up Artists. I have never been compelled to write a book review, but this book really took me on a journey through his development from, AFC (Average Frustrated Chump) one of the many acronyms used in the book as pick up slang, to mPUA, (Master Pick Up Artist). The book is so engaging and tangible because of its everyman appeal. The protagonist in the story, Neil Strauss, who later becomes Style, is easily substituted as the reader, particularly if the reader is male. I found myself so engrossed in the story that I was taking every step and going over routine in my head as Strauss on his journey to become a PUA. The story begins with the protagonist Neil Strauss, a self described nerd, coming across a guide that purports to give men the power to have sex with the women they desired the lay guide. After further inquiry Strauss attends a training held by Mystery, the greatest pick up artist in the world and so begins his adventure. Strauss as Style beds many women along the way, but the true intrigue of the book is the lifestyle change that he undergoes to become Style, mPUA. In Strauss¿s transformation into Style, the reader is able to learn about male/female relations and overall social dynamics in a very new way. This is a very powerful and engaging story in which the reader may learn as much about himself as he does about the protagonist. I recommend this book to the open-minded and those with a love of learning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    WOW!

    An extremely fun book. I picked it up at the LAX airport in LA to read on the plane to Chicago, and when I our plane connected in Pheonix I nearly missed my flight home because I was talking to a stranger who happened to be reading it in front of me. After he reasured me the books value, I began to read heavily, finishing it with a smile on my face. The book is a good read which was great conversation amonst friends and I. Niel Strauss is an author I would like to meet. Enjoy this and appreciate it's honesty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    Sex Isn't Happiness

    This is a great book precisely for the reasons critics attack it. Yes, Neil Strauss didn't learn anything of real value about women in his journey. Yes, the pua community is angry and resentful toward women. Yes, they use nothing but a bunch of rehearsed lines and 'tricks,' as another reviewer describes them. Why these things make this a bad book to some perplexes me. Where in the book does Neil claim to be an expert? Where does he claim to teach men about women? He doesn't he just tells his story, which is a pretty simple one - guy is unhappy because he sucks with women, he learns to get good by mimicking self-proclaimed pick-up artists and then he finally starts to get laid. Neil is honest and acknowledges that he is still unhappy and still doesn't know anything about women. He and a bunch of the other pua experts end up getting played by one girl. He doesn't dare ask the several women he is dating (they're not dating, they're really just sex buddies and all of the women he meets are shallow future trophy wives) who else they're seeing or what else is going on in their lives becuase 'I was afraid to know.' In the end, the unhappy guy who can't get laid ends up being an unhappy guy who can get laid. I suppose geeks have taken to the story because they think it is better to be unhappy and having sex then to be unhappy and not having sex. I read this book just after reading GOD IS A WOMAN: DATING DISASTERS. I recommend both books the similarities and contrasts are uncanny. Unlike Neil, who I wouldn't classify as a jerk, the author of GOD (formerly inept with women, too) does become a jerk - he does things that make Tucker Max look like a choir boy. He later realizes it and grows, truly learning about women after that and no longer needing any lines or tricks. Thru this, he is able to truly be happy with women and dating (he also offers advice thru his site but it is all free and because of his growth, it is very good and complete advice.) Perhaps if Neil would take one step further and become a jerk, he would one day experience the same revelation and then truly be able to find happiness. It is ironic that it may very well be is unwillingness to truly let go of his former geeky-self (still wanting to be liked and a nice guy) that is keeping him from truly being happy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    A story you must read

    Wow, this book is wonderful, especially if you are a guy. In the beggining it drags you into this amazing strory of the author and how he goes from AFC 'average frustrated chump' to PUA 'pickup artist'. At first, you get this impression like, 'wow why am I not doing this,' but in the middle of the book where he becomes a MPUA ' Master PickUp Artist', and he moves into a mansion full of others like him, you discover how dark and deep this, 'hobby,' is and how it can mess up your life. But also you learn that doing this is bad, the art of munipulating women. Either way this book is wonderful and though most of people don't believe it, this stuff really works! Even if you don't use the techniques, this book is a real confidence booster.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Response to 'What a piece of BS'

    I finished 'The Game' this past summer and witnessed exponential success in my dealings with women. I also noticed it's helped me grow as an individual, into a 'better' me, which is what I think the writer of 'what a piece of bs' missed. Neil Strauss doesn't advocate changing into someone else. He encourages personal development and improvement and suggests methods to achieve this. If it weren't for this book, I'd still have the 'show them how nice you are and the right one will appreciate and like you for it' mentality that leads men to frustration and manic depression. A great story and a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4