Customer Reviews for

Game for Marriage (A Game for It Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    I'm a publicist with Entangled, but Karen Erickson is not my cli

    I'm a publicist with Entangled, but Karen Erickson is not my client. I'm writing this disclaimer because her book is published by Entangled.

    I've been a pretty active book reviewer for years, but I wanted to make all the above clear before you read my review. Many might say my opinion is swayed because of my affiliation, but I'll leave that up to you to judge.

    She had me with the tagline, "He’s going in deep to make her his…"

    I swear, every time I read a contemporary romance and love it, I'm shocked. You can tell by my review history, I read mostly fantasy. Not to mention, I own the Fantasy Book Addict website. I guess you could say my tastes are evolving. When I need a change of pace, I go into these contemporary romance binges. That's how I ended up reading, Game for Marriage.

    Can I just say I loved this book and leave it at that? No, okay, I'll elaborate. The story was the first aspect that peeked my interest. Ever since reading, Tempting the Player by J. Lynn, I've been looking for a romance with an athlete. Since this is football season, this book totally grabbed my attention.

    Once I got into the story, I fell hard for Jared Quinn. He's my kind of guy: tough, tortured, and sexy-as-hell! I flew through the pages. Actually, I finished reading it in one afternoon. In the past, I've always steered clear of contemporary romance because of the crappy, weak female characters. This is so not true with Sheridan Harper. She has her own opinions and she doesn't take any of his crap. She wasn't interested in him for his fame or money (although she was down on her luck by no fault of her own). She was worth cheering for!

    Bottom line: If you love sexy contemporary romance, you absolutely must read this. I've already been bugging Karen for information on the next book in the series.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Book 1 in Karen Erickson's new series - Game For It She was jus

    Book 1 in Karen Erickson's new series - Game For It

    She was just a woman. A beautiful, messy, perfect, flawed, sexy, sweet woman he couldn't seem to get out of his system no matter how much he tried.

    This story is about a struggling artist and a bad boy football star who enter into a contract marriage.  He gets a better reputation and she gets to keep her studio.  But it never really ends there, does it?

    The book has an emotional connection that you can feel and relate to.  If you're looking for a hot, fun read - this is it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bad boy Jared Quinn, star quarterback of the San Jose Hawks met

    Bad boy Jared Quinn, star quarterback of the San Jose Hawks met local artist Sheridan Harper at a Taste of Monterey festival.  The attraction is instantaneous and combustible.  A flammable one night stand follows.  Jared needs a media makeover.  The new owners want his image cleaned up.  So Jared’s publicist offers her a proposition: a fake marriage to keep Jared out of the gossip columns and she gets money to keep her studio open and continue her charitable works.  Sheridan agrees but with a clause that there be no sex as she is afraid she will lose her heart to the big lug.  Can Sheridan and Jared keep it platonic or will the heat between them explode?




    I've been reading a lot of sports romance lately and while the premise is predictable the story moves and grooves and you don’t get that been there done that feeling.  It took me a while to warm up to Jared but when he goes for it he does it with style. Game for Marriage is an enjoyable romp on and off the gridiron.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Must read

    Loved it. Too funny. Must read its about 176 pages long

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    As with all the books in the Brazen line - this was excellent. I

    As with all the books in the Brazen line - this was excellent. If you like the Alpha male and super hot sex - this is for you! I adore this line and every single title is an auto-buy for me!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hunkalicious Quaterback! I couldn't wait to find out just how `m

    Hunkalicious Quaterback!
    I couldn't wait to find out just how `mighty' the great Mighty Jared Quinn was going to be...and boy Karen does not disappoint in her description. He is one hunkalicious quarterback.

    Sheridan Harper meets Jared at an art festival and he is smitten with her...a couple of drinks later in the night and they end up in each other's arms. Fast forward and when Jared's publicist needs to clean up his reputation, they come up with a false marriage to none other than Sheridan. She does not want to accept but she needs funds to keep her studio open, however, as a way to keep herself from getting to close to him, she has a no-sex clause added to their agreement. Good intentions but will they be able to keep that agreement when just seeing each other might make them spontaneously combust!

    You will need to make sure you pick up this book so you can find out for yourself what happens.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the sports aspect, I love football, Karen kept it very real. I couldn't get enough of the chemistry between our hero and heroine also how she never let him step all over her, loved her sassiness. I am so looking forward to the next installment...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Excellent

    Great story, likeable characters & lots of steamy sex!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved this book, read it this afternoon beginning to end! Held my interest all the way through. Highly reccomend!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Good book

    I enjoyed reading this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Great read

    Really enjoyed the couple at the heart of this story and can't wait for the next book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

      

      

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    this book has been amazing.  I have about 30 pages left to read

    this book has been amazing.  I have about 30 pages left to read and i just cant wait to be able to read them, i find myself sitting at work waiting for my opportunity to do so.  This book is well written, keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting to see whats to come.  the relationship is beautifully done and like i said i cant wait to read the end, altho i find myself not wanting it to end.  I'm gonna be pretty sad when its over bc ive had such a great time getting to know these characters.  the author really helps you feel like you know them.  the sex scenes are really well written and tasteful, romantic.  They made me blush on occasion but it really has been a great book.  i give this book 5 stars because its totally worth the $2.99.  I promise you WON'T be disappointed in this little gem!!! 

    Happy reading!! ENJOY!!

    <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In Game for Marriage by Karen Erickson Sheridan is an artist str

    In Game for Marriage by Karen Erickson Sheridan is an artist struggling to keep the gallery open that was left to her by her Grandmother. Jared is a 'bad boy' football player...whether by rumor or truth who knows? They meet one night at an event for local businesses as Sheridan is doing a 'live' painting. Sheridan is frazzled by him when she first meets him the instant attraction is mutual, and even though Sheridan can't quite believe it's happening to her, she meets him for a drink after the event, lets go of her inhibitions and spends a wildly satisfying night with Jared.

    "...she turned to face her admirer. ... And stopped dead in her tracks when she saw all six-foot-plus, mouthwatering gorgeousness of him."

    Despite the attraction, Sheridan thinks that night will be all she has of him. But Jared has a terrible public image and his publicist is convinced that Sheridan will be the fix for this. She's beautiful, talented, community minded and perfect for Jared! A 'fake' marriage is what the publicist proposes...one that will benefit Jared's image and Sheridan's art studio. It will be a true marriage, with the exception of one clause Sheridan insists on after she is convinced to do this. She is convinced that if she has a sexual relationship with Jared during their fake marriage, she will fall hard for him and be left with a shattered heart when they part ways.

    "...the chance to bring her business into the next stratosphere also held massive appeal. But it was the man who had pushed her over the edge. Pretending to be married to Jared Quinn was a temptation she couldn't resist. Which was why she put the no-sex clause into the agreement...the one that would keep her strong and ensure she didn't do anything stupid."

    Jared and Sheridan are still very attracted to each other though, in a way that can't be faked. Even though they are basically two strangers getting married, the feelings and attraction continue to intensify. Along with that comes their struggle to know each other and trust one another within the falseness of their marriage. As they first try to stay out of each other's way but slowly spend more time together, the marriage starts to feel more and more real. But is it, or are the circumstances dictating that with the way they have to play it up for the media and hope no one finds out about their ruse? Sheridan finds herself more and more wanting to be his wife in more ways than one, regretting the clause she put into their contract...Jared is feeling frustration with the situation too...and he is finding himself falling more and more for Sheridan.

    "That stupid stipulation. Her stupid, ridiculous heart and fear of getting hurt. For once she wanted to throw all worries aside and go after what she wanted." 

    Can an arrangement like this stay secret for long? What will happen when the truth comes out? Their relationship might have started off unconventionally by most standards, but do they care enough and is it strong enough to continue? Both Jared and Sheridan will have to decide what's important to them.

    I really wanted things to work out for Jared and Sheridan! I really liked both of these characters. Jared has had a rough time of it with the media, not always deserved, but he comes across as such a caring man with a lot of feelings inside that big body (which by the way I'd love to cuddle up to!). Sheridan is a good person who falls for the famous football player. She has no hidden agenda and she is a strong woman, but she can't quite believe this is happening to her! I liked how even though they thought of their marriage as 'fake' they worked through rough patches and were there for each other. They both obviously cared for one another even though neither would really admit it!

    Willow is Sheridan's best friend in Game for Marriage and she seems to have something going on with Nick, a friend and team mate of Jared's. I hope I get a chance to read more about them in a future book!

    Karen enchanted me with Game for Marriage. Not quite a modern day fairy tale, but close! You never know what can happen and who you'll end up with. Her writing is very descriptive, and Jared? HOT! He came across probably exactly as she meant him to! The sex scenes are pretty detailed, so if you like this and a fun romance that could end up either way, I'd recommend Game for Marriage!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Great storyline and I loved it!! RECOMMEND HIGHLY!!





    Great storyline and I loved it!!
    RECOMMEND HIGHLY!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Game On

    Mmmmm....Where do I start? I haven’t read a Karen Erickson book that I haven’t liked. Add a starting QB to the mix and you have a recipe for a really good read. Add in Entangled Publishing’s Brazen line and you have a H-O-T read. I’m talking you need a shower or twoq while reading the book.

    The concept of two people getting married and pretending to be madly in love in order to save someone's job or reputation isn't new. One thing I liked about this book is that it doesn’t follow the standard storyline that other books like this does. I can't say what that is exactly, because that would be giving away too much.

    Jared Quinn is the hot and sexy NFL quarterback for the San Jose Hawks. He’s a guy who has been known to have a one-night stand a time or two. Okay, more like a lot. His team has just been purchased by a new owner who wants Jared to clean up his image. As it appears Jared’s name has been mentioned as the reason a former teammate's marriage ending.

    Sheridan Harper (I love that name.) is a young twenty-five year old woman who owns and operates an art studio in a popular section of downtown Carmel. Sheridan inherited the studio from her grandmother a year ago, after her death. For Sheridan, the studio means everything to her. Unfortunately, she’s having a hard time meeting her expenses. She’s pretty close to having to sell the studio.

    Jared and Sheridan meet by chance at an expo where she’s literally painting a live picture of what’s going on. One thing leads to another and they have drinks. Sheridan is the kind of girl who NEVER does anything outlandish. So she decides to. One night and one night only with Jared Quinn. Easier said than done.

    Jared’s people, you know, his agent and publicist decide he needs to clean up his image and Sheridan is just the woman to make it happen. They suggest Jared and Sheridan get married, even though they don’t know each other, for one year. The goal in mind is that Jared gets a nice wholesome girl that people will love and she gets enough money so she doesn’t have to worry about having to sell her studio, plus an increase in business profit from being married to Jared.

    I know...too easy right? What could possibly go wrong? Well for starters, Sheridan secretly has her lawyer put in a no sex clause, as a way of protecting herself from Jared. Unfortunately, she didn’t realize at the time how much she wanted a repeat performance of what should have been their one-night stand.

    Jared is ALL kinds of hot. He says things like, “And I’m ready to make a bet I could seduce you with words alone.” Ah, yeah, with the hot sexy voice I’m hearing in my head. I can’t even tell you what my most favorite line is... Oh my gosh!

    I could NOT get enough of Jared and Sheridan. They are a great couple and the love they have for each other comes through this book. I'm pretty lucky because this is the first book in the series. I can't wait for the next one. Since the second book will feature Willow Cavanaugh, Sheridan's best friend, and Nick Hamilton, Jared's best friend, I'm sure we'll get a little bit of the Quinn's as well.

    Reviewed for Read Your Writes Book Reviews
    Source: Author

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Love

    This was a good book, I couldn't put it down. Would love to hear more about Willow & Nick and a future of the main characters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Loved everything about this book!!

    Can't wait for the next one in this series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved this book! Will definately read more from this author! I really don't read sport romances but I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the publisher for review Review

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I’m a huge sports fan and always enjoy romance books featuring sports stars. So when I saw this book, I knew I had to try it. And in the end, I’m glad to have taken a chance on a new-to-me author.

    With the book being only 160 pages, the characters weren’t explored as much as I’d have liked. However, they did grow and the romance was evident. I liked Jared more than Sheridan. He just seemed a little more real… outside of the fact that he was a famous quarterback. But I did like these two together and their chemistry was great.

    Really what made this book for me was the plot. In historicals, I like the arranged marriage plot line and Game for Marriage was had that feeling. While Jared and Sheridan’s marriage wasn’t arranged by parents, it was contracted and the characters went into the marriage without love. The little twist of the “no sex clause” was great and added a little extra tension to the story.

    In the end, I enjoyed this story and will be looking out for more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    Game for Marriage is a light, fun, sexy read and I didn't want t

    Game for Marriage is a light, fun, sexy read and I didn't want to put it down! I am also a huge fan of the fake relationship trope in romances and I love watching the couple fight their attraction and feelings for one another.

    I liked both Jared and Sheridan instantly. They have an instant attraction to one another and decide to act on it. While Sheridan writes it off as a one night stand, Jared has other ideas in mind. Because of an incident with an ex-teammate's wife, Jared is required to clean up his playboy image. Naturally, the best way to do that is to have him settle down and become a married man- or so his agent thinks. Jared loves playing football and he doesn't want to be anywhere but San Jose. He agrees to finding a fake wife and after his one night with Sheridan, knows she's the one he wants.

    The fact that Sheridan hesitates is CRAZY to me! Ok, maybe not crazy, but still. If I had hot sex with an even hotter guy who just so happens to be an incredibly well known talented football player, I would totally jump on that train. I think it really bothers Sheridan that Jared and his agent are offering her money to do this. Yet, they have done their research on her and know she needs the funds to keep her grandmother's art studio open. Sheridan has already had a taste of Jared Quinn and knows he has the power to destroy her. To protect herself and her heart, she has her lawyer put a no sex clause in the contract. While Jared is surprised at this, that certainly doesn't deter him from getting under Sheridan's skin.

    I loved watching the tension between these two build up. Sheridan is fighting an inner battle of wills, as Jared is undeniably sexy and quite seductive. His promises of what he can do to her and for her make her come dangerously close to losing control. However, if that clause is violated, the contract would be null and void. These two definitely test their own limits and pull back right as things are getting good, letting doubts and fears plague their minds. I definitely get it with Jared's profession. There are so many people who want to exploit him and would use him to achieve their own endgame. Once these two are able to push aside their doubts and truly embrace their fake marriage, sparks literally fly. Jared is a much happier person and the people around him really take note of this. Sheridan also shines and is basking in that post-Jared glow. Once they both realize they are falling for one another, will they be able to turn their marriage into a real one or will they let outside influences and factors make them doubt what they thought was real?

    I really liked Willow and Nick, Sheridan and Jared's best friends and I can't wait to read their story Game For Trouble! These two definitely have serious chemistry as well, but something is holding Willow back from letting her and Nick explore that chemistry together.

    If you are in the mood for a quick, steamy read I would definitely recommend this one. I love Karen's writing style and she certainly knows how to write some delicious scenes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5