Customer Reviews for

Game of Cages (Twenty Palaces Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read the book in one sitting, what a great ride

    The first book in the series (Child of Fire) is absolutely terrific -- I hardly ever re-read books, but I've read this one three times now -- and I wholeheartedly recommend it. That said, this book is fairly self-contained and you could read it without ever reading the book before it. What I love about Harry Connolly's series is that there's plenty of magic, violence and chaos but none of it is treated lightly. Ray, who barely has any training but is absolutely committed to doing his best to stop the predators and their summoners, is far from perfect but his heart is in the right place. His on-the-job training is intense, to say the least. It's rare to find a good urban fantasy book that doesn't feature romance, but I don't find that a negative at all even though I'm also a fan of those that do. My only criticism of the book is that it's almost too fast-paced. Harry Connolly has created a world rich in detail and myth, and I would love to slow down just a touch to savor the exploration. I especially want to find out more about the Twenty Palaces Society and the forces they fight, and I hope the next book has a bit more Annalise in it. She and Ray are very different, but make a great combat team. I read the book in one sitting, putting it aside only long enough to eat. What a treat!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Excellent series

    I read voraciously. Huge fan of Geihman, Butcher, Pratchett, etc. This is some of the most interesting, addictive and well written fiction I have read recently. Strongly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Urban-fiction minus squishy romance

    A well done story and world where it doesn't hold your hand and instantly tell you and explain every little detail. Also presents a protagonist who is in situation where he doesn't understand nor is explained to everything that is going on. This feels more realistic since I find it difficult that other characters would be giving a new comer all the details of a secret world - that they work very hard to keep secret - before they know whether or not if he is going to survive the next two days or can be trusted. That and it doesn't do involve romance. If you want everything instantly explained and need a boy meets girl story, keep looking. If you are looking for a story that has a grey-world Dresdin Files like story, here ya go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A very good series

    I've been a SciFi and Fantasy reader for over 40 years.
    This book is part of a very good, fast paced series that is different than others out there at this time (sorry girls, there's no one in it who's in love with a vampire or a werewolf). It has lots of action, good twists, and a well-thought story line. The problem is, if you like this series, you need to spread the word because the author is quitting it. So, pick up the first book (it's very cheap right now) and if you like it, tell your friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Great series continues strong. The second book in the Twenty Pal

    Great series continues strong.
    The second book in the Twenty Palaces series delivers just like the first one (Child of Fire). The action doesn't dissapoint as we continue on Ray's journey into the world of magic and predators. A must read for sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    I love this series. I read this book in one evening.

    I love this series. I read this book in one evening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Great series

    Ray Lily is a guy who doesn't expect a lot of breaks but who finds the strength to stand up for himself when he needs to. Connolly writes a fast moving, tightly plotted adventure that stars smart people doing the best they can against very scary creatures. And with enough temptation to make everyone's motives sometimes waver. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ray comes into his own

    I love this series. Ray works without a peer in most of this book and is very impressive throughout. I strongly recommend this book and the rest of the series ( including the ebook short stories). The ebooks are well done for those that are looking at them, the covers are embedded and the editing is excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Filled with non-stop gory action, readers will enjoy the bloody Game of Cages

    A few days before Christmas, Twenty Palaces' sorcerer Catherine Little asks former convict turned grocery clerk Ray Lilly to assist her with an emergency in Washaway. When he learns the details of the mission, Ray knows he is not the right person for the job, but no one survives refusing lethal Little. Apparently, a predatory alien was on the auction block, but escaped incarceration. Little wants it captured and taken away from these street peddlers or dead; and warns her assistant he is to assist her and no more or else face her deadly wrath.

    Neither Ray nor his leader expected the auction participants and staff will kill anyone using guns, magic or both who tries to catch the deadly alien or kill the beast. Meanwhile, the alien predator is devastating Washaway.

    The second Twenty Palace Society rural fantasy (see Child of Fire) is a great thought provoking yet action-packed noir as readers will ponder the use of drones in the Middle east killing the enemy and the innocent. Little is a fabulous character as collateral damage of the innocent does not faze her with her bottom line mission accomplished as all that matters. People die in combat is her philosophy. Ironically Lilly is the ex convict with a conscience while Little is a societal elitist with an amoral value system. The auction crowd beliefs align with Little though she is their adversary. Filled with non-stop gory action, readers will enjoy the bloody Game of Cages.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3