Customer Reviews for

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(309)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

I wasn't sure I was going to like this one.

While I am fan of sci-fi and fantasy, I had never read anything by George R.R. Martin. I was scolded for this oversight by many of co-workers and friends. I finally gave in this past month and have been converted to a fan.

Be warned, "A Game of Thrones" is not for ...
While I am fan of sci-fi and fantasy, I had never read anything by George R.R. Martin. I was scolded for this oversight by many of co-workers and friends. I finally gave in this past month and have been converted to a fan.

Be warned, "A Game of Thrones" is not for the casual fantasy reader. It is deeply intricate and rich. While Martin focuses each of the chapters on roughly ten main characters, there are well over fifty full realized characters in just the first book of this series. It would be very easy to get confused or frustrated in the early pages of the tome, but to do so would be to lose out on the epic second half of the book. Up until the last one hundred pages, I was still on the fence about this "game of thrones." Now, having finsihed it, I can't wait to move on to the next book.

As a standalone book, I would not reccomend it; as the beginning of an epic series, I am totally hooked.

posted by Elantraboi on June 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

171 out of 310 people found this review helpful.

Nothing like Tolkein!

I trudged through all of the existing 4 novels in this series hoping to find enough redeeming qualities to justify my investment, and came away sorely disapointed. Authors like Robert Jordan (Wheel of Time), Tolkien (LOTR), and even Terry Goodkind (Sword of Truth), all ...
I trudged through all of the existing 4 novels in this series hoping to find enough redeeming qualities to justify my investment, and came away sorely disapointed. Authors like Robert Jordan (Wheel of Time), Tolkien (LOTR), and even Terry Goodkind (Sword of Truth), all spin intense tales that leave you encouraged and inspired by the actions of their heros; Martin grinds through character after character, who all seem to perish by one betrayal after another. As soon as you start rooting for someone, they end up on the chopping block...this repeats so often that you can't help but wonder what holds the story together.

These novels are more like a soap opera than an epic fantasy series- murder, betrayal, and graphically portrayed incest/rape seem to be Martin's bread and butter, with practially nothing else in between.

For some strange reason, I find that highly disgusting and will go back to reading books with real heros and goals that I can emotionally (and morally) rally behind.

posted by 4437389 on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Cumbersome series

    This series was recommended to me by many friends. I have to say, it's only the second time I've ever stopped reading a book. I think I got into the second book in the series before I realized that nothing was going to happen. Oh, things keep happening, but they're new things. No questions get answered, no plotlines get resolved, and I simply haven't the energy to read through this many books just to find out how one particularly puzzling plotline resolves itself. When I found out that the series wasn't even finished by the author, I gave up. I had to fight for every page of this book. Normally I can read through a book in a matter of hours. Not so with this author. The narrative is so cumbersome I found myself reading the words on the page instead of watching the story unfold in my imagination. However, apparently many people enjoy that type of reading experience. This author reminds me very much of Tom Clancy. Long winded, tortuous writing styles that make you feel as if you're training for a triathlon as opposed to joyously experiencing another world.

    83 out of 174 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Im confused? People like this book?

    This book is terrible. It's what I would imagine sword & sorcery pornography would read like and even then it merits a special subcategory for those who get off on rape, incest, and pedophilia. The rest of the book is unimaginative hackery, and vainly attempts to emulate the works of superior authors. All that which makes epic fantasy worthwhile is absent in this work. We cheered for Frodo on his march to Mordor not because he could swing a sword and have mediocre sex but because we saw a man of decency and humility exhibiting courage, integrity, and loyalty to his companions despite the corrupting power of the ring and the overwhelming obstacles placed before him. None of Martin's characters have my sympathy. I read other review that Martin's characters are great because they are not black and white but grey or some nonsense. People are not colors and the graphically described rape of minor is not literature but the manifestation of perverse man's fetish.

    50 out of 132 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book SUCKS! It is the worse book I have ever read!

    All the good characters have terrible things happen to them. Evil triumphs constantly, the best part of the book is about the northern wall and the author doesn't even bother to expound on that enough. By the time that you start to get to know a character he switches you to a new character and after 100 pages he's STILL introducing NEW characters!! The names are difficult to remember and there are hundreds of them. There is no main character, it's absolutely infuriating. Children are molested and murdered. There's incest, rape, and every other disgusting deplorable thing in this piece of trash. This book is so bad that I refuse to read any more of it. I'm not just going to throw it in the garbage - I'm going to pitch it in the fireplace and watch it turn to ashes. I know that will bring me more satisfaction than the 10 hours I wasted reading it.

    20 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Old to Finish Series!

    I did not expect such a long time between books especially the book, Dance with the Dragons. I will probably not be alive to finish reading this series.

    13 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    don't buy this book!!!!!!!

    This clown refuses to finish the 5th and final book of the series. If you feel like I do, that if a writter is willing to take your money for a series of books, then he is moraly responsible to make a reasonable attempt to finish the series. Don't make the mistake that I and many others made of getting involved in this losers work.

    9 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Not as good as everyone thinks

    Basically, he writes a lot of politics with very little action in between. I don't mind that, but eventually, something has to happen more often to sustain this. He isn't that much better than Jordan, depsite all the ravings. They write at roughly the same level. Where he really differes is the graphic nature of his prose, and I have to say, it didn't really add to the story, it detracted from it. I could really do without the Penthouse explicit stories in this book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2002

    Greatest book ever writen

    I bought it and started reading and i have reread it 3 times and givin it away 8 so as to force people i meet to read a book i think is absolutley awsome i havent been able to put down any of the series. READ IT NOW

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1