Customer Reviews for

A Game of Thrones 4-Book Bundle: A Song of Ice and Fire Series: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows

Average Rating 4.5
( 2077 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1351)

4 Star

(359)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(131)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

104 out of 123 people found this review helpful.

...

Love the series! Too bad that you can currently buy 4 books for 19.97 and ebooks are running 29.99. I begin to think my nook purchase was a mistake.

posted by Zorsha on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

194 out of 202 people found this review helpful.

Awesome books, bad format

These are great books. I hate putting them down! But I would recommend spending a little extra and buying each book separately, if you're reading them on a nook. This "box set" has all four books as one file, so you have 3500+ pages in your nook book. That makes nav...
These are great books. I hate putting them down! But I would recommend spending a little extra and buying each book separately, if you're reading them on a nook. This "box set" has all four books as one file, so you have 3500+ pages in your nook book. That makes navigating with the page number slider very imprecise. And there are so many details in these books that I often wanted to go back and find another chapter, but it was just too much hassle. Might be better read in paper format, but at least having each as a separate nook book would be a big help.

posted by itsjulia on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Awesome books, bad format

    These are great books. I hate putting them down! But I would recommend spending a little extra and buying each book separately, if you're reading them on a nook. This "box set" has all four books as one file, so you have 3500+ pages in your nook book. That makes navigating with the page number slider very imprecise. And there are so many details in these books that I often wanted to go back and find another chapter, but it was just too much hassle. Might be better read in paper format, but at least having each as a separate nook book would be a big help.

    194 out of 202 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful books, but look out for missing pages in this boxed set...

    These are fantastic books, the books themselves get 5 stars but the copies in this boxed set get 1 star because they have been known to have missing pages. The copy of A Feast for Crows that came with my boxed set was missing pages 565 to 574, but other reviews that I've read have mentioned their copies missing a hundred pages or more. Luckily my local B&N took the set back without question. Even though this is cheaper skip on this boxed set and buy the books individually.

    51 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I've been a little disappointed with this series of books. My e

    I've been a little disappointed with this series of books. My expectations were probably unrealistically high after reading a number of reviews rating these books as among the very best of the fantasy genre. While they are entertaining and a worthwhile read, for me, they pale in comparison to The Sword of Truth and Wheel of Time series. Just one opinion...

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    The story is ok. great character development and setting, howeve

    The story is ok. great character development and setting, however the plot drags horribly and alot of scenes in the book have no taste and ultimately drove me from the series. great for some not for me

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Another Wheel of Time

    Being a Tolkien fan I bought this based on the comparison as the American Tolkien. George Martin is no Tolkien. A good writer but more akin to Robert Jordan. If you enjoy reading thousands of pages and being introduced to hundreds of characters with a slow plodding story then this series is for you. Personally after reading the reviews for the fifth installment I am afraid my journey with Mr Martin will end here. I do not care to jump on to another never ending wheel of time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Ebook missing pages

    I'm currently reading through book 1 of the 4 book ebook set and i noticed in chapter 48 there seems to be missing pages. Really annoying seeing as i payed 30 bucks for it. I seem to recall a few other instances in the earlier chapters of missing pages but I didn't mark them down.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Dragging a bit

    Intrigue and scheming but gets boring , too much description and explanation, i could hardly finish the fourth book. I just hate not knowing

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic tale, meh edition.

    When you buy this set, keep in mind this is the mass market paperback edition. If you are one who cares about books aesthetics, get the hardcover editions, for these don't look very good even with the box.
    But if all you want is to read this incredible story, this edition will suit you fine.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Looking Forward to Reading

    The books arrived in good condition in a nice box. I am finishing what I am currently reading, but can't wait to read the series. I've really enjoyed the television presentation, but books are usually better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    I like the series, but would not recommend purchasing the paperb

    I like the series, but would not recommend purchasing the paperbacks, as mine fell apart. I am an avid reader, usually paperbacks, and have never had a problem with damage to a book as I tend to be very conscientious about taking care of material possessions. Literally the binding broke down within the first 200 pages, and great sections fell out in chunks. Perhaps this production was too rushed in order to keep up with the HBO series, and quality fell by the wayside.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I guess, "the American Tolkien" is a good title, becau

    I guess, "the American Tolkien" is a good title, because he certainly doesn't hold a candle to Tolkien. I bought the books because I was tired of waiting for HBO every week,and tired of paying to watch it. I stopped after reading 4 or 5 books, I'd have to check, but I was sick of finishing each book and not having the answers. I also though the language itself was a little too "8 grade level" but I guess this is what the public wants. I'm a bit older and expect a little more. If I was younger, I would have put up with it, to find out all the answers, so kids have a blast and I'll find out from you, what happens in beyond the wall.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I love the series so much after reading just the first book and

    I love the series so much after reading just the first book and I wanted to get the box set. When it came in the mail all but one of the corners were bumped and the box looks absolutely dreadful. I thought it was no big deal because those things happen all the time and maybe I could let it go. But after I cut open the plastic I noticed that even those books were hit, the ones at the corners. I hope to exchange it for a better one in stores and hopefully they'll let me even though I opened it already. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Upon reading several reviews for this series, I must concur. Des

    Upon reading several reviews for this series, I must concur. Despite the fact that I am only on A Clash of Kings, I can see where many people are coming from with their resentment towards the series. Martin is in no way a bad writer, he has excellent skills in world building, character development, and conflict amongst these characters. But, his fatal flaw is that, he tends to make subplots his first priority, while he makes the main plot sit in the back of the bus with the more fantastical aspects of fantasy such as incredible feats of magic, mystical creatures (such as elves, whatever his version of an orc would be, and things of the like), and a 'chosen one' story line, which may or may not be a good thing. Still, the Song of Ice and Fire Series, as I see it, has started to become too large for it's chair, and the chairs long been creaking, it's on the verge of snapping as Dudley Dursley's did so many times behind the scenes. Anyhow, Martin has a strange affliction--or maybe even a fetish--of writing incredibly and increasingly lengthy books, most of which are filled with fluff and ramblings of many other characters. One of the things that gets under many reader's skin is Martin's trademark of putting one characters book on pause (because let's be honest, these books are split into tiny little books, and if you took them all apart, you would have perfect little novels ready for publishing in pairs or trilogies), and deciding to ramble on for a few pages just to torture you, but then the torture becomes joy, and then he rips you away to sail across Westeros to talk about something that has nothing whatsoever to do with the story. I do not have a problem with jumping POV's, but when you write a cliffhanger, and then waste a god 100 pages before you return to that cliffhanger, the reader no longer cares, and probably has--

    In A Game of Thrones, I found myself skipping several chapters just to read Daenerys's chapters because they are far more interesting than many other chapters, in addition to this, because they didn't relate to the direct plot, i found it easy to get lost in reading about her story rather than many others which found themselves muddled together and crossed and so blurred to the point where I wondered when the book would find it's end--again, this is not to say that these are bad books, it just takes a lot to wade through them, and a lot of will power to go onto the next one upon seeing it's length. Yet another thing that Martin tries to spend too much time on is specifically how he uses the world to his advantage: apparently, in A Clash of Kings, there are many useless sex scenes and genealogical scenes, and scenes that really contribute nothing to the story. Martin seems to be trying very hard to fill pages because he's still trying to build the story for another character, which is tedious.

    Forgotten about what even happened at that cliffhanger several chapters ago. In conclusion, I very much hope that soon this series will be cooled by the Winds of Winter as it's waxy wings are falling apart under the blazing sun of Westeros, and the crows are waiting to feast, and in the meanwhile, I will take my time reading this series, as the Winds don't seem to be anywhere in sight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    This is a good story, but as so many have noted there is a lot o

    This is a good story, but as so many have noted there is a lot of needless sex and muck to get through. Mr. Martin has been compared to Tolkien, but Tolkien NEVER had to resort to smut to make a wonderful story. That's the difference in a good writer and a genius. I have not had problems with my Nook, as many here seem to have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    The books are amazing, but the formatting of the Nook version of

    The books are amazing, but the formatting of the Nook version of this 4 book collection is not. It lumps it all together, so you can't tell how any pages you have to go in each book. It will say "Page 320 or 3000" when the book itself may only be 800 pages. Again, great value if you plan to read them all since you essentially end up getting a book free, but the Nook format sucks the life out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Yrihvgxtx

    Icwi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Thanks for the heads up

    Im sorry my son and i didnt even get a chance to read these books. I 'ts so hard to find books that dont have sex in it . Hes about to turn 15 but isnt into all that high school sexy stuff . He just loves to read and i hate the fact we cant find good books with out all the extra crap kids just dont need to deal with yet . Anyone have any adavce on some good reads?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Nor for kids

    Very violent and sexual content.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8