Customer Reviews for

A Game of Thrones 4-Book Bundle: A Song of Ice and Fire Series: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows

Average Rating 4.5
( 2070 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1348)

4 Star

(355)

3 Star

(153)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(131)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

...

Love the series! Too bad that you can currently buy 4 books for 19.97 and ebooks are running 29.99. I begin to think my nook purchase was a mistake.

posted by Zorsha on July 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

193 out of 201 people found this review helpful.

Awesome books, bad format

These are great books. I hate putting them down! But I would recommend spending a little extra and buying each book separately, if you're reading them on a nook. This "box set" has all four books as one file, so you have 3500+ pages in your nook book. That makes nav...
These are great books. I hate putting them down! But I would recommend spending a little extra and buying each book separately, if you're reading them on a nook. This "box set" has all four books as one file, so you have 3500+ pages in your nook book. That makes navigating with the page number slider very imprecise. And there are so many details in these books that I often wanted to go back and find another chapter, but it was just too much hassle. Might be better read in paper format, but at least having each as a separate nook book would be a big help.

posted by itsjulia on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1348 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 68
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    ...

    Love the series!

    Too bad that you can currently buy 4 books for 19.97 and ebooks are running 29.99. I begin to think my nook purchase was a mistake.

    103 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Great series! A Must read if you like this genre.

    I'm about halfway through this on my nook and I love it. It ranks up there with the original Dragonlance Chronicles and the Belgariad. Not read those? Add them to your list. Don't know how to say it any clearer. In depth characters, plots within subplots etc... but nicely laid out so the story doesn't trip over itself. Warning if you don't like complex characters with deep development and in depth descriptions you may not like this book. In a true sense of art though, the author keeps it moving and the pace is brisk. Hang on! In the game of thrones you either win or die.

    57 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Best Fantasy Series EVER!

    This is not your standard fantasy fare. No damsels in distress, pointy hat wearing magicians or the like. This series is a powerhouse of strong characters being hurdled along in a world dominated by politics. Perhaps my favorite aspect of Martin's writing is his ability to allow the characters to actually grow and change as the world affects them. By the time book four rolls around, the stunningly beautiful jerk that you wish someone would behead is starting to grow on you. You see where he's coming from and you see his growth as an individual. I guess what I'm trying to say is that Martin's characters aren't just cogs put in place to turn predictable literary devices. They're vibrant and interesting people that you just can't turn away from.

    This is the fantasy series for people who love fantasy. This is the fantasy book for people who loathe fantasy. This is the fantasy book that breaks all the stereotypes of the genre. If I could choose one series of books to read for the rest of my life, this would be it.

    55 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I am so excited! I love this set and am finished with the second book of the series. Those books have a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    44 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    When I have to put it down, I just think about when I can pick it up again

    I got hooked on this because - I have to admit it - I watched the series on HBO... which by the way is INCREDIBLE!! I loved watching the show so much - I started watching the episodes ahead of time on HBOGO since I couldn't wait until the next Sunday... then I realized it was a BOOK... so I bought it on my nook - actually the series of four. And thank the gods I did that! I cannot put this series down - I devoured book one (correlates to series 1 on HBO) and I have to say - I am very VERY impressed by whoever wrote the Screenplay - it is so exacting to the book (so far) that I almost felt when reading the actual book that I was reading a script! Now that I am into book 2 I am enjoying the progress of the characters even more. I cannot wait to find out what happens to each and every one of them. Having the Chapters divided by the Character focus is brilliant - it just makes me want to keep on reading - it pains me to put the book down - and all I think about all day is when I can next start reading again... which reminds me...

    36 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    ONE WORD... AMAZING

    The first book to the forth book I was totaly hooked!!! It may start dull but as it progrest it became amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful books with great characters and an amazing story. love

    Wonderful books with great characters and an amazing story. loved the book and the movie!

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Wow! What a story line!

    It's been years since I read such a great series. Highly recommend, but be sure that you will have plenty of time to read because you won't be able to put these down!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Not sure what people are talking about

    This boxed set costs $35 if you get it in the store, so the ebook version is still cheaper. And seperately each ebook costs $9. So either way this is the cheapest price. If you want them to be separate instead of one big file, shell out the extra cash. And 5 stars because this series is awesome!!!!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book, good humor.

    I'm still on book one, but so far it has a lot going on and is great to read. The humor in it is awesome. I do recommend and am looking forward to finishing the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    WONDERFUL

    The detail and twists in the stories are amazing

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    All of the books

    THe HBO series was exciting when watching last spring. Now I'm into the fourth book and just can't put it down! It is so unpredictable, leaving you to wonder what will happen next and how can it proceed without certain characters you love and love to hate! Twists and turns keep you reading at an alarming rate because you can hardly wait to get to the next page, especially in book 3 and 4! I am eagerly anticipating the series on HBO. How can we wait if they only do one book a year? I have already purchased the newly released fifth book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Awesome, awesome, and awesome!!!!

    Never in my life have I ever been as addicted to reading a book as I was for the Song of Ice and Fire series. Epic, amazing, cruel, partly pornographic, funny, and an absolute blast to read. I've read other classics such as Belgariad novels, Lord of the Rings, and the Wheel of Time novels and none compare to this book. Nearly every story I've read or watched has had a central hero and villain theme, but the awesome part about A Song of Ice and Fire is that there really isn't a central hero or villain, everybody has done good and everybody has done some dirt. I just wish Mr. Martin would hurry up and finish the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Price?

    I just finished the free sample and was totally drawn in. I am a little confused as to why the ebooks are more expensive than the paper version?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Fabulous Value

    Most expensive book purchase I have made, but it was worth every dime. If you want a simple story with only a hand full of characters and a couple of dimensions to the plot; these books are not for you. But if you want tales which live in your head after reading and make you yearn for more after reading; then these books are a must read. The HBO Game of Thrones Mini-Series follows the stories well and bring plausible faces to the characters, but there is more to the stories which you get from the books. After finishing the nearly 3600 pages of the 4 book series, I had to immediately purchase Book 5 & will do the same when Book 6 is released. The plots are complex, the characters are many, and the stories are full of unexpected twists which yank at your emotions. But full enjoyment and satisfaction is your reward. My son read the books in hard cover form; I read them via my Nook. Comparing our experiences, the eReader is the way to go as it helps to refer frequently to the maps which are easy to retrieve via the eReader plus there are many 'medieval' type words which the eReader dictionary quickly clarifies for you. Truly a can't miss reading opportunity!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    New and exciting kind of fantasy for me. I want more

    I havnt been this engrosed in a story since robert jordans wheal of time. This one is darker than your average fantasy. More adult and realistic. The good guy doesnt always win... evil isnt vanquished.... truth and justice dont reign in this world. Its perfect for the more cynical reader who is turned off by childish magical stories. Reality is full of tragedy, pain, and corruption. This adds richness to a wider range of emotions, and exposes the bland predictability of happier fantasies. You may find it upsetting as one after another of your favorite heros gets killed off... it's well worth all the disappointments.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Poorly reviewed based on physical book quality

    Even if I were reading torn pages with frayed edges, this is a 5 star set of stories. The quality of the set was fine once you adjusted to the print. Not one book even came close to falling apart...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    This is a deal!

    This a set of 4 books! What a great deal. Each book individually is $8.99.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I can't remember the last time that I have read fiction that is

    I can't remember the last time that I have read fiction that is so well written.  George Martin has developed a world and a story line that is incredibly engaging.  I have watched the first two seasons of The Game of Thrones on HBO and was afraid that reading the books would be anticlimactic.  I could not have been more wrong.  Although the HBO series strays occasionally from the books, the books provide much needed background to better understand what is happening in the series.  The books also have the advantage of telling the reader what the characters are thinking, something that cannot be easily accomplished in a television series.  I found the first three books in the series to be better than the fourth.  Book Three, "A Storm of Sword" was, in my opinion, the best of the first four.  You can almost guess how the various episodes of series 3 will end when HBO begins to televise them in late March because there are so many crucial surprises in the third book.  Book four is somewhat slower than the first three and does not advance the story line as much but it has an ending worth working for. Book 4 and 5 were actually one book as originally written but were later split into two books due to length.  Unfortunately, much of the story line is on hold as you read book 4 because several of the major characters do not reappear until book 5.   I have just started Book 5, "To Dance with Dragons" and it appears to be on par with the first three books so far.  My biggest concern is that the author takes as long as five or six years to release his books and there are at least two more to come in the series.  But what has been written thus far is well worth you time and I highly recommend the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Great books, awsome world of fantasy. However I dont understand

    Great books, awsome world of fantasy. However I dont understand why the nook set is so much more expensive than the actual books. I purchased a nook to save time and money, not spend more. With that being said, I love the books and suppose I will have to purchase whichever is cheaper and not always rely on the nook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1348 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 68