Customer Reviews for

Game On: Find Your Purpose--Pursue Your Dream

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Good read for Males

    I had the opportunity to review Emmit Smith's book "Game on" from Tyndale Publishers. I would recommend this book to anyone who is trying to figure out how to pursue their dreams. I would especially recommend it men and it has a lot of football references, but it isn't strictly about his NFL career. I just think men who especially love football, but don't enjoy reading, would love this book. In "Game on" Emmit Smith talks about his accomplishments and failures in creating/living out his dreams.



    The man has a deep passion, wonderful sense of hard work and determination to complete his dreams. He started from the ground up. As a child, his family was extremely poor, but he shows the world that even a kid with nothing can make something if he really wants to.

    I enjoyed this book and think others will too. I love biographies about people's lives and I always find them so interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Very inspirational yet actionable

    Really great book if you know you want something else

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Who doesn¿t love Emmitt Smith? He¿s one of the greats, but not o

    Who doesn’t love Emmitt Smith? He’s one of the greats, but not only in football! Yea, I’ve loved watching this Super-Bowl-ring-wearing NFL rusher on the field, seeing his softer side on the dance floor of the television show Dancing With the Stars, heard his expert analysis of NFL games after his retirement, and even enjoyed him as a judge for the Miss Universe Pageant. 




    It would take too much time to list all his accomplishments, but above all, his greatest achievement is building great character and a strong commitment. This book can serve as a guide to others, to live a focused and committed life. He shows the way he went about it and how and why things worked or didn’t work. He tells tales of his life, on and off the field, that will both surprise you and inspire you.




    If you seek motivation to improve yourself, to reach your goals, to live life to the fullest, this is a wonderful, entertaining, encouraging, and inspirational way to go about it. Emmitt uses humor and candor the page, making this read as enjoyable and addicting as his on-screen magnetism. 




    I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did. Highly recommended, whether you’re a sports fan or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2014

    In this book we¿re encouraged to dare to claim the dreams we hav

    In this book we’re encouraged to dare to claim the dreams we have in life so they will provide the energy we need to achieve those dreams. Somehow our brain has the ability to see beyond the current reality to a future time when that dream will be realized. Maybe you have a sixth sense or an inner feeling and are ready to trust God to help you achieve that dream. Because God loves us, He sometimes gifts us with a vision of what our future will bring and we have to hold on purposefully and passionately to that vision. We have to trust God, claim the dream, and wait expectantly. Often in retrospect we can see the hand of God! Emmitt even felt God carrying him when things got rough. If we allow our dreams to die, everyone will suffer. Emmitt points out how much we’d all suffer if the Wright Brothers didn’t pursue their dream of flying. But we can also get distracted and removed from our dream if we allow other peoples’ mistakes, like taking drugs, fearing to risk the unknown, or settling for less, to stop our progress. We may have to arise above immediate circumstances or seek light for our path to keep moving toward our goal. While dreams may motivate you, trusting God will keep you on the right path. Only you can take responsibility for your success. Just dreaming though is not enough. You must follow through on a plan to achieve your dream goal. Learning to set goals and record them is important in planning your legacy. God first, family second, dream goals third help you form common sense goals based on your values and seek God’s purpose for your life. Your character with excellence etched in it is important too, for it will be tested. Emmitt even had a wake-up call not to drink and drive. And yes, he faced challenges including being badly hurt in an important game that needed him to continue playing despite the pain. He even told the coaches in one game when he’d been badly hurt but was desperately needed to let him continue playing. Afterwards he was told he had played the gutsiest performance ever. This is a terrific book about one terrific Hall of Fame football running back. If you or someone you love also loves football or just needs encouragement to follow a dream, this book is for you or them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    Emmitt Smith is a Hall of Fame running back who has long been a

    Emmitt Smith is a Hall of Fame running back who has long been a fan favorite and philanthropist. He is married to a former beauty queen, Pat, and together they have five children. Emmitt retired from professional football after more than a decade with a plan for the rest of his life; he has always been goal-oriented and possessed VERY big dreams, even as a small child. This book is his "to-date" memoir, focusing on his experiences (his journey to the top in the football world, culminating in his induction into the Hall of Fame in 2010, being a champion on the TV show 'Dancing With the Stars', being featured on NBC's reality series "Who Do You Think You Are?" that researches celebrities' heritage) - and much more!



    With chapter topics that range from having a great attitude - and CHOOSING to do so even when circumstances are challenging; surrounding yourself with wise counsel and loving support; planning -rather than hoping- for the best; and much more, this book provides wise counsel from someone who has lived his life by a huge code of excellence. He does not come off as thinking he is perfect, rather, he shares from his heart how others can learn from his mistakes as well as his strong work ethic and faith in God.



    Football fans will certainly like this book, but it is really for anyone who wants to be inspired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I recall seeing Emmitt Smith breaking the all time rushing recor

    I recall seeing Emmitt Smith breaking the all time rushing record for the National Football League(NFL). At the time I really did not understand the impact of what has just transpired. After reading this book, I have a much better understanding of all that Mr. Smith went through to get there.

    In Game On, Mr. Smith gives account of what prompted him to set out on his dream of being the best running back in the NFL, what goals he set to get there, and what he learned along the way.

    He then uses his personal experiences to challenge the readers to seek out their dreams and develop a strategy of getting there. Through it all Smith gives valuable insight on goal setting, persevering, seeking advice, and standing up for what is right.

    Game On is an ideal book for those who are starting off in life, trying to find their passion, or for those whose passions may have been lost by life circumstances. With the encouraging undertones, this book will be a great resources to have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    Good sports memoir for guys I found this memoir a bit difficult

    Good sports memoir for guys

    I found this memoir a bit difficult to read. I don’t follow football, so the amount of sports talk in the book seemed too high for me, though I understand that it’s very important to the author, who spent 15 years in the NFL!

    I was also thrown off in the beginning of the book by Smith’s lack of talk about God. He encouraged his reader to follow his/her dreams and showed how he had done the same, but I felt he should have focused more on God’s work in his life and less on his own actions and determination. As the book wore on, there was more and more mention of God and values to live by; it just seemed that such things should have been part of the entire story, especially from a Christian publisher.

    I think Smith’s book would probably resonate with a male audience far more than it did with this female, so I would still recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    For feather1552. Any Cowboys fan that was around the year Emmit

    For feather1552. Any Cowboys fan that was around the year Emmit held out could tell you that what he said was exactly right. The Cowboys had lost 3 games. The players were frustrated and angry. They knew they had a great team that was missing one key component. A great running back. When Jones finally realized that the team going nowhere without Emmit, he did adjust his offer and Emmit was signed. They went on to win the Super Bowl that season and EMMIT WAS THE KEY. He was not exaggerating. Holding out for a reasonable contract was only one aspect of how he achieved what he did, but it was a very important one. He realized early his own importance to the team and worked hard to be worthy of it. So, yeah, give the man a cigar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Sucessful Emmitt #22

    I read Emmitt Smith's Game On. It starts off with some nicely insightful reads about Mr. Smith's life as a child. There are some very nice pictures that he has shared as well of himself and his family. The last third of the book was too much about how he became successful I thought. I would like to know more in much simpler terms what this once great football player achieved in life as an African American, a husband, a church goer, a neighbor, and a father.
    Mr. Smith was #22 when he played for the Dallas Cowboys. He was a very powerful running back who broke many records during his career. Yet, he tended to go into too great of detail about his holding out to get the best contract. This is ok, but to say that you think that Mr. Jones adjusted his offer was because he needed you alone, is definitely eccentric. There is too much in Mr. Smith's book that says that because I made it, I can do this and that. Nice try Mr. Smith, but for me "No Cigar".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1