Customer Reviews for

Games of Command

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Characters, But ....

    A very interesting and well-constructed universe, populated by equally interesting characters. I particularly liked Kal-Paten's struggles with his love for Sass, and his sense of betrayal when she (seemingly) turned against him. Unfortunately, the secondary romance distracts from the main plotline, and the story as a whole boggs down about three-quarters of the way through, before finally picking about again after about forty pages. Games of Command can be read alone, but some of the references to other books in the series may confuse new readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this story!

    Games of Command was the first Linnea Sinclair book I ever read. I was hooked from the start by this thrilling space adventure. And the hero, Kel Paten was to die for!

    And not only one romance in this one, but a second one with another hot hero. I'll be looking for more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you don't read this series at all at least pick this one up!

    This has been my favorite book in the entire series so far. Fantastic read and superbly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    A little too cute in several places

    I very much enjoyed the setting of this novel and the developing story between Sass and Branden. They're amazing characters stuck in a goofy story when the talking cats and the secondary romance story line is added in. I just couldn't get into this book to the extent I did with Finders Keepers or Gabriel's Ghost since it was so very silly in spots. Beyond the silliness, it also felt like too much was lifted out of Babylon 5 and Star Trek. If the author had kept to the main characters, leaving only their point of veiw instead of bouncing between four people and two cats, it would have read a lot smoother than it did as well. I've liked the other two books of Ms. Sinclair's that I've read, very much. This one was just too scattered and too sachrine for my tastes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    GOC Rocks!! A good read!!

    Iâ¿¿m not going to rehash the plot, thereâ¿¿s plenty of that here. But Games of Command is good! Just plain GOOD! I just finished it and my only regret is that it isnâ¿¿t longer or the first book in a long series! I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and was completely engaged with them. GOC is well written with good action, believable world building and romance. Yep, romance. But itâ¿¿s not a romance with a bit of science fiction - itâ¿¿s science fiction with a good bit of romance. But the romance isnâ¿¿t there as a coating on the story, its part and parcel of the story and it shows! GOC can stand-alone as either science fiction or romance and evidently many bookstores are caught in that quandary since Iâ¿¿ve see it shelved in both! But donâ¿¿t be fooled, the science fiction aspect of the story is good! And the romance is woven through the story like a thread that holds the whole thing together and produces a goodly amount of tension between the characters! I read a LOT of science fiction and a bit of romance (only Regencies). This is one of the few science fiction books Iâ¿¿ve ever read that handles romance well without sacrificing the science fiction aspect. If you like engaging characters and a good action adventure science fiction story, I recommend Games of Command.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2007

    Great Read

    Loved this book. Has everything...adventure, romance, and interesting characters. Others have written more about what is in the book. I just wanted to add my recommendation. This is going to be a hard book to put down so don't start it too late at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    An Excellent Space Adventure!!!

    I loved this book!!! I've been hooked on Linnea Sinclair's space adventures for a while now and Games of Command did not dissappoint!!! It was a fast-moving adventure, a touching romance, a brillant work of science fiction...I can't say enought good things about this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    I stand in awe of this author.

    Lady Sass had been a merc, a rim runner from Kesh Valirr. Then 'Ace' Edmonds, of the United Coalition (U-Cee), gave nineteen-year-old Lady Sass an offer to legitimately become a part of the U-Cee Fleet. Lady Sass jumped at the offer. 'Lady Sass' went to prison and died. .................... Commander Tasha Sebastian's past looks legit. Very few knew Tasha's history as Lady Sass. There is now a new Alliance between the Triad and the U-Cee. Tasha is one of the first transferred (merged) as part of the Alliance Personnel Integration Program. Problem is that Tasha finds herself serving under her former nemesis, Admiral Branden Kel-Paten. Kel-Paten is a biocybernetic officer. He can 'spike into' his Triad huntership, the Vaxxar, at any time and actually become a large part of the ship! It is said that the 'Tin Soldier' is more 'cybe than human. Neither Tasha, nor Ace, could understand why Kel-Paten had personally requested Tasha Sebastian be transferred to the Vax. He even allowed Tasha and his new Chief Medical Officer (CMO), Doctor Eden Fynn, to bring their pet furzels with them! However, the two furzels, Tank and Reilly, are more than anyone could possibly imagine. ................... Wanted rebel Jace Serafino literally tears out of a vortex and ends up in the Vax's sick bay. Eden must keep the pirate alive for interrogation. Jace is supposed to have information to help the Alliance, but he also has information that could expose Tasha's past and rip the Alliance apart. Then Eden finds out that Jace also has an implant that only his unconscious self is aware of. As a touch empath, Eden must bring Jace's split personality together if the much needed info for the Alliance is to be received. ................... At the same time, somewhere aboard the Vaxxar, resides a dangerous entity. It quietly waits bides its time. And only two playful furzels sense its deadly presence. ................... The Tin Soldier and Lady Sass must team up, put all their secret cards on the table, and learn to trust each other. They find that together, they make one hell of a team! ................. ***** Author Linnea Sinclair NEVER fails to please! I am, once again, in awe of this author's ability to spin complex webs within multiple plots. This one is NOT TO BE MISSED! *****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    thrilling science fiction saga

    The war between the United Coalition and the Triad is over and the two former enemies now make up the Alliance guarding against the llithians who want more inhabited worlds to conquer. Former Coalition Captain Tasha ¿Sass¿ Sebastian is now assigned to captain the Vaxxar. Admiral Branden Kel-Paten, a biocybe who is more machine than human, and the captain have played cat and mouse with each other during the war and now that Tasha is in his space, the feelings he isn¿t supposed to have for her begun to geow much stronger. --- During a flight, they travel into the middle of a vortex to pick up Triad rebel Jace Serafino. He lapses into a coma and is able to take Eden the medical officer into a private dimension, a creation of his race. There he tells her he has an implant in his head put there by Psy-Serv so he can¿t use his telepathic abilities for more than ten minutes of time. The implant needs to be removed because he has information about Psy-Serv that could tear the Alliance apart if he can get his memories straight so that Kel-Paten believes him. On the way to a space station, Jace, Eden, the admiral and Tasha are all caught by their enemies and sent to a dimension nobody knows exists inhabited by an enemy that controls the people who thought to use it. The foursome must escape in order to warn the inhabited galaxy. --- Every book Linnea Sinclair writes is better than the one before it, which says a lot because all are great. Readers will fall in love with Eden¿s pet furzel Reilly and Tasha¿s pet fidget (a baby furzel). Their antics and protectiveness to their humans and their play in trying to save the galaxy is so entertaining that the audience will want to adopt a fidget of their own. The developing romance between the two heroes and heroines in between galactic crises adds realism to a tense and thrilling science fiction saga. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2