Customer Reviews for

Gangsta

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    Gangsta

    Wow...first of all the book was amazing. I've read almost all of K'WAN's work and i enjoyed the book. i did have some typos and other errors, but it was worth my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Gangsta

    Excellent book! Great storyline! Can't want for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Great!

    I loved this book. I getting ready to start book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a very quick and interesting read. This is the first bo

    This was a very quick and interesting read. This is the first book that I've read by K'wan and I must say that I was 
    truly impressed. I will definitely be reading more by this author. The book was a page turner and was very entertaining;
    I couldn't put the it down. I was very sad at the ending of the book, but it just goes to show that living that life has a 
    cost, and although Lou-Loc was trying to get out of the game, it was little too late. This book gave me a glimpse of the
    hood life and I really enjoyed how the author weaved everyone's story together; I also loved the lead character. I'm definitely now a fan of K'wan and can't wait to read more from him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Ummm

    Foh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Everybody wants to be King

    It has been a while since I read this book. I decided to review everything that I have ever read. For this novel to be Kwanâ¿¿s baby it was great and his growth is very evident. The grammatical errors and the typos were a bit irritating but it didnâ¿¿t take away from the story. From Cali to NY Lou-Loc and Gutter both have inspirations to be King. One wants to be a King of the ink pen while the other wants to take over the streets and take the throne as Kingpin. The plot is very intriguing and full of suspense. Kwan keeps it gangsta and I canâ¿¿t wait for the return of Gutter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    'Gangsta' not only glorifies the gratuitously violent lifestyle of gangster culture, but it draws a very derogatory picture of women. Satin's character does nothing but cry and beg Lou-Loc in the second half of the book, although K'wan wants us to believe that she is a strong-willed woman. Most of the references toward women place them in a category inferior to their male counterparts, either as financially or sexually dependent and utterly weak. K'wan may have intended for us to admire Satin, but it is difficult to respect a character who is, for the most part, described in terms of her sexual arousal. A boy's fantasy? Yes, please. Before we rush into excessive veneration of K'wan as a master of urban fiction, perhaps we should notice that the book is poorly written and edited. Not only is the original version rife with spelling errors ('isle' instead of 'aisle' and 'Prada' with two d's), K'wan opens up many plot threads and then forgets to return to them (Cross and his magic substance? All the phonecalls from Lou-Loc's enemies?). The book hamhandedly concludes with the protagonist's gruesome death, still leaving many issues unresolved and the reader unsatisfied. The dialogue of this book is cliché and completely unrealistic. The characters switch between language registers faster than they thrown down sets. Characters switching between AAVE and Standard English is not only jarring but hurtful to K'wan's credibilty as a writer. The characters come off as completely unrealistic, if not contradictory. And when the dialogue does reach something resembling a level of consistency, the lines are overblown and trite. Although I was willing to ignore the poorly designed front of 'Gangsta,' it seems you really can judge a book by its cover. As the cheap Photoshop job on the cover reveals, 'Gangsta' is cheap and hastily thrown together. Worth your money, if you want a good laugh.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Yall is some lairs

    yall know DARN well that book wasnt good and if you say it was you lying through ya teeth. The intro to the book was decent and so was the ending but thay book was NOT hot. Compared to that boy DUTCH, LOU-LOC aint got NOTHING on him. A good book please, if thats what a good book looks like than TERi WOODS must be a real bad author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    Darn Good Book

    Yooooooo...dis book is hot. I got dis when triple crown was just gettin their start and when i hollered out loud in class ' WHY???!!' when dey shot lou-loc. erebody was on my book. since then i read two mmore times. this book just captivates you everytime. good work kwan GANGSTA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    A street love story!

    I loved the book. It gave you that street feel but also showed how everyone wants to be loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    Good piece of work

    This book really got to me. Throughout the story it has you thinking about the world we live in today and how messed up it is. This a good piece of work, i'd recommend this book to any and every person who likes a good urban fiction book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    This book is on fire

    This book is hot!Im not one to read but, I couldnt put it down.If you live in the hood or know homies in da hood you can kinda relate to this book.I just hope K'Wan puts out another tight book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    A great read

    I loved this book I thought it was great it held my attention from beginning to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    Real

    This book was one of the most touching book i ever read in my life. it proved that the streets are no good,things can happen so fast but it can also go away faster.karma comes back around!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    THIS BOOK IS HOTT!!!!

    This book kept my attention the whole time. In this K'wan put his heart into each and every character and that is why the book was so GOOD!! It was like the characters came to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    A High Schooler Who Loves To Read

    OMG this book was off the damn hook. K'wan did it up. I could not put this book down what so ever. Lou-loc was a real nigga with dreams. Its messed up that he never got the chance to live out his dream of becoming a writer. I wish there were more niggas like him because he had a heart of gold under all the dirt he did. basically I'm telling anyone who hasn't read this book yet, go buy it now and read it because you will not be disappointed. To K'wan i tip my hat to him because he has so much talent I want to be like him one day and write books like him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    It Passes

    This book was alright and a nice read. I thought the book reminded me of the movies South Central, Menace To Society, and Colors. This book was predictable and you were able to tell what was going to happen and how it was going to end. It was alright but it could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    Compelling book

    I actually cried when I read the book. I enjoyed it from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    I Loved It!!!!!!

    This wuz a very good book.......I really enjoyed it....even know the endin' had me in tears towards the end...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    For Teens and Gangsta

    This book was real good I could not put this book down I read it in one day. It made me cry at the end but it is still a great book. I really think a lot of teens who do not like to read should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4