BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Gap Creek: The Story of a Marriage

Average Rating 3.5
( 1146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(331)

3 Star

(232)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(157)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

shakes you up

A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light ...
A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light at the end of the tunnel may not always be what you expect, but it's what you need to continue to go on. I highly recommend this book. It's a great read that you don't want to put down.

posted by loveweightedbooks on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Mega-Depressing Oprah Pick Not Worth the Effort

After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such...
After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such bad novels on purpose? From the death of her little brother from worms (which is unneccesarily graphically portrayed) to her struggles against her strange husband (whose character annoyingly is never really explained or developed thoroughly by the author), the protangonist, a young woman in her late teens named Julie, is slapped hard incessantly by her circumstances. I just wanted a break from it. Although it was an easy read (day and a half, thankfully no longer) I found myself wishing that the protangonist would just go home to her mama and forget about Gap Creek. She and her bizarre husband eventually do, but it's too late to save the effort. Try a different novel. Don't waste your time on this one.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 58
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of my faves!

    I read this book several years ago as a young wife and new mother, and was struck by how I could identify with Julie! No I didn't grow up on a mountain in the poorest conditions, but some of my close family have told me stories of a life very much like the one depicted in this book. This story made me understand them better, which in my opinion is what a good story should do for you. It should make you think outside of yourself and your own circumstances, then bring you back to yourself. You should be able to apply lessons learned to your own life, just by having read about someone elses. I would recommend this book to everyone! You might just learn something!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2001

    so not what i expected

    This book was ok.But not so great.From what I read on the back I thought it would be a love story.(which I like reading some times)But this was just too sad for me.Especially the end.Not at all what I thougth it'd be.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Dreary and depressing, and don't look for a happy ending because it does not have one...in fact it doesn't really end at all, it just stops.

    This story spans a year or so in the life of Julie. Beginning with the death of her baby brother, then her father, she goes on to marry the first man who courts her and they move to where he has work. She cooks and cleans in exchange for room and board in the house they share with its owner. The old man dies after being severely burnt in a grease fire. It's one struggle after another. She finds out she's pregnant. He loses his job, a flood ruins a large amount of their food supply in the cellar, the smokehouse and the corn crib. The cow dies. The baby is premature, Julie gets fever and has no milk. The baby dies. The old man's heirs want back rent, even though Julie and Hank had taken care of the place and restored and done repairs after the flood. The next day they leave the place, carryig only what they had brought there. I did not enjoy this book. As I read, I kept thinking Julie's life had to improve; it could not possibly get worse. Unfortunately, it just kept slogging along. This book probably gives a realistic view of poor rural life on the border between North and South Carlina arouond 1899-1900--with incredible hardships. No indoor plumbing, no electricty, only hand tools. Having the story just stop, as if the author might have forgotten to finish it, or the publisher left out the final chapter is very disturbing. I wonder if the idea was to leave the reader with the impression that this it the way it will continue to be for these people. Julie will just keep on stuggling, getting older and more tired. Being 30, looking 40, feeling 50, and nothing to look forward to but more of the same?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    I liked

    Don't understand all the bad reviews....I couldn't put it down...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    I read this book when it was first published...it still haunts me to this day...I cried many times while reading it...the characters will stay with you for a very long time...if you love a story told well with characters your heart aches for, then give it a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    What a hard life!

    I just finished reading Gap Creek and truely enjoyed every intence moment of it. I was very disappointed that nothing good ever happened for poor Julie & Hank. I kept waiting for things to turn around & have their luck change, afterall it's hard to believe that so much could happen to someone who has given their all and worked so very hard and had such faith in God & the bad just kept coming. I'd love to see a sequel to this. If ever there was a perfect part two, this is it! Please write one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    A Memorable Character

    The character of Julie Harmon was extremely likeable and will not be easy to forget. She certainly took my mind off my troubles. The book was very good, but it could have been longer. I would definitely read another book by Mr. Morgan.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Great book!

    I was lucky enough to get this book for free, AND it was a very good read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Didn't want to give this book a chance but it pulled me right in right from the very beginning. Reminds me of my childhood growing up on a farm. I can't wait to finish the rest as it is a very interesting story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    AWESOME

    Sad story at times but real life back in that time...I would love another book on how Hannk &Julie are now doing on the mountain with new surprises....Define read doon't pass it by because of some of the other reviews.....SOME PEOPLE CAN'T HANDLE RREAL LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!??

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Great read

    Captivating from the start- wanted the story to keep going to find out what happened next

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    Beautiful. Nobody touches my copy!

    This book is not for everybody. Many say it moves too slow. I believe the pace was exactly as it should have been. Consider the time that this book takes place. Life was slow then and especially where these people lived. I fell in love with the characters and thought it was beautifully written and found it to speak realistically of the characters emotions. I was disappointed at the ending, but only because I wanted more!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Unique

    This book is perfect for readers who enjoy interpersonal relationships and internal struggles. Loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2005

    Very Realistic

    This book is a great read if you can relate to it in the many difficult aspects of life and overcoming those difficulties handed to you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    boring

    I usually love books set in the past, but this was boring! i couldnt get into it at all!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2004

    Another Wonderful Novel by Robert Morgan!

    Kick off your stress and journey back in time and into the arms of 'The way life used to be' and the beauty of nature, as written/painted by Robert Morgan. Escape to the Mountains and into your heart to what really matters. While you're there, you'll make some friends you'll never forget.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    Shallow and Unbelievable

    The first 2 chapters were terribly unrealistic, and after that, the characters experienced one disaster after another, in a way that the author almost forced on them. I read it quickly because I was captive on an airplane, but I wouldn't have finished it otherwise. I recommend it for people looking for simple pleasures.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    No sequel, please.

    This book just never gave us a break. It was one horrific incident after another. I scanned the awful detail and moved on to the next, found myself scanning the detail again. I couldn't believe anyone would read this book twice. Sequel? Not unless we could see Julie channeling her energies and work ethic toward something more worthwhile than building a life with this loser husband. Sorry, I just didn't like it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    I was depressed when I finished this book

    While beautifully crafted the overall theme was depressing. It makes Angela's Ashes seem like a feel good book. I was glad that it kept my interest and that I read it so quickly. That way, the pain was over more quickly.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    First book I couldn't down!

    I was asked to read many books in my life and only chose to read a few pages of many great books. This book captured me immediately. If you love Anne of Green Gables or grew up with Little House On The Prarie, this may be for you. The simplicity of life, yet complex issues with powerful choices kept me hooked. I recently read The Help and wondered once again why do we have to sleep when books are so amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1146 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 58