Customer Reviews for

Gap Creek

Average Rating 3.5
( 1142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(318)

4 Star

(330)

3 Star

(229)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

shakes you up

A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light ...
A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light at the end of the tunnel may not always be what you expect, but it's what you need to continue to go on. I highly recommend this book. It's a great read that you don't want to put down.

posted by loveweightedbooks on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Mega-Depressing Oprah Pick Not Worth the Effort

After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such...
After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such bad novels on purpose? From the death of her little brother from worms (which is unneccesarily graphically portrayed) to her struggles against her strange husband (whose character annoyingly is never really explained or developed thoroughly by the author), the protangonist, a young woman in her late teens named Julie, is slapped hard incessantly by her circumstances. I just wanted a break from it. Although it was an easy read (day and a half, thankfully no longer) I found myself wishing that the protangonist would just go home to her mama and forget about Gap Creek. She and her bizarre husband eventually do, but it's too late to save the effort. Try a different novel. Don't waste your time on this one.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1142 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 58
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Don't waste your time!

    This book is well written. Since this is a review of this book let me be perfectly clear in my opinion. I hated it, yet I couldn't put it down because I kept hoping that poor Julie's luck would change for the better eventually. July & Hank's life is hard & ugly. It is the worst story ever. I have made a lot of bad choices in reading material & this is right there at the top of that list. If you like love stories with happy endings DON'T read this. It's sad and ugly and kept my stomach tied up in knots. The author ( a man no less) showed Julie to be uneducated and not too smart. How he thinks he could possibly be able write about what goes on inside a teenage girl's head is beyond me. I liked Julie and I wished that she would have stood up for herself but in the years that this book is written for women just didn't do that sort of thing whether you lived in the big city or in the backwoods of some mountain. No I didnt like this book. It was ugly. Graphic at times, not a pretty story at all. **WARNING** You will regret it if you read this book. It took me months to get it out of my head. I strongly recommend that unless you are a glutton for punishment, you will regret it. The book in itsself is well written and the characters are vivid and distinct. It is just a horribly sad sad story, too much of what I don't like. Lastly I will never read anything this author has written or will write in the future. But this is just my opinion, you may read it and love it. Good luck to you, and woshing you all the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    I thought this book was great. It was an easy read and let me f

    I thought this book was great. It was an easy read and let me feeling greatful for the blessings I have received in my life. It also gave me hope, that no matter what happens, I don't think it could ever be as bad as some people had it during these times. And if people could live through these conditions, surely we can make it a few days with no air, or without our favorite foods, etc. Not every book we read can be fast paced or written in the point of view we prefer, or in the best style, but it is the way this book altered my thinking and appreciation of my own life that left me wanting more. Sometimes we must forgive how a book is written and look into the deeper meaning to truely appreciate this work of art.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Life Sure Was Hard Back Then...Praise the Lord & Pass the Peas

    Unlikable characters, unpleasant circumstances and an unsatisfying ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Very enjoyable read

    I enjoyed reading about the relationship each sister had with the other and the relationship they all had with their mother.
    Reading a book like this really made me appreciate all the modern conveniences we have. Life was so difficult, but was rich with family and friends. I would definitely read another book by this author. This book was well researched and was a very quick and enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Little bit of a let down.

    I was looking forward to this book that I thought held so much promise. Didn't enjoy it at all. Just too much left for me to attempt to figure out. Didn't hold my attention too well either. Just a flat line book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Not recommended

    This is a typical Oprah book. Very dark and depressing. I do not enjoy a book that is slow reading and very depressing on life. This world is tough enough without having to read about it more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Depressing

    This was the most depressing book I had ever read. Nothing happy happens in this book, death of a baby, dealing with a mother-in-law, floods, cold weather.... depressing, dont bother reading it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Gap creek has too many gaps

    What a waste of space. This book drags on and on. I read the whole book waiting for something good to happen. The ending was even disappointing. Don't waste your time. Sad sad piece of literature and if it only cost a nickle it would be too much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Depressing!

    Dont bother reading this book! It is VERY depressing! The only saving grace for me might be that with the problems I have, things aren't so bad for me afterall!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    It Holds You

    At first I had a hard time getting into this novel. But once in, I was hooked. Everyday I had to read some of the book just to see how the characters were fairing. I was so into the book that I wanted to send the married couple money. I wanted to buy them food. I wanted to help them find a home. I wanted to help them find a job. I wanted to slap the mother-in-law. It is a good read. Just remember, it is written as if the narrator is living in the late 1800's or early 1900's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Recommended - Not for the overly romantic

    I found Gap Creek to be an interesting read because it was almost too realistic. It read much like a journal in the unromanticized portrayal of newly marrieds in a era of everyday hardships. The finale was anything but a storybook ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Waste of energy

    I trudged through this book fascinated by the authors descripion of the time era. However, I kept holding out that the heroine would find some peace and redemption in her miserable life. No such luck the book ended abruptly as if the author just gave up on the sorry lives of his characters!!! TOTAL WASTE OF TIME

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Great Book

    I grew up in an area much like the book depicts. Brought back some memories. I will surely read other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Recommend highly.

    I loved this book; when I finished, I was wanting one that continued with their lives!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Good Read!

    Great view into mountain life not so very long ago when families had to support themselves on the food they raised and grew. The main character, a young woman in her first years of marriage with a husband out of work, is believable and you find yourself wanting her to succeed. I would recommend this author for a quick read with much insight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    recommended - for sure!

    I decided to download this book to my NOOK after reading other reviews. This was a fairly quick read for me, especially becuase I wanted to know where the characters were going to end up. Parts of the story are somewhat dark in nature, but that's how things happen in life. The storyline will grab you, and pull you into the times and places.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Don't bother

    This book never went anywhere. I waited through the whole book for some kind of story, there is none. And the ending left me thinking, "What?". I really like period pieces, but this was lacking something, like a story!

    Lizzie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Youth

    Life can be so hard, but as long as you are young and there is a tomorrow you just keep going. This author did such a wonderful job telling this story. Would love to read more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    e-books

    I would read this author if his other books were available as e-books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Love it

    I was pleasantly surprised how this book dragged me in and left me wanting more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 1142 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 58