Customer Reviews for

Gap Creek

Average Rating 3.5
( 1142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(318)

4 Star

(330)

3 Star

(229)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

shakes you up

A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light ...
A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light at the end of the tunnel may not always be what you expect, but it's what you need to continue to go on. I highly recommend this book. It's a great read that you don't want to put down.

posted by loveweightedbooks on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Mega-Depressing Oprah Pick Not Worth the Effort

After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such...
After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such bad novels on purpose? From the death of her little brother from worms (which is unneccesarily graphically portrayed) to her struggles against her strange husband (whose character annoyingly is never really explained or developed thoroughly by the author), the protangonist, a young woman in her late teens named Julie, is slapped hard incessantly by her circumstances. I just wanted a break from it. Although it was an easy read (day and a half, thankfully no longer) I found myself wishing that the protangonist would just go home to her mama and forget about Gap Creek. She and her bizarre husband eventually do, but it's too late to save the effort. Try a different novel. Don't waste your time on this one.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    good reading

    this book tells about a young couple starting out and all the trials that they go thru in their marriage.. i liked it alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Don't read when you are sad

    I read from the first to the last page, and while I can say it was fairly well written, it is one of the most depressing books I have ever read --- and I have read a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Yuck!

    It was missing an end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    3

    The ending left me cold, expected more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    OK book

    This was an OK book, not my cup of tea. I kept wondering what else can go wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    OK

    Not a riveting read, though for us from Houston with Houston references was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    good book but

    The book was good until the end. The end could have been better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Sad

    The book was very well written but extremely sad. It is a very quick read and does grab your interest but the ending was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Sad

    This book can be taken two ways. It describes what life was like many years ago and how difficult it was. But...it also became too depressing. I got into the story and read it to the end when I was finished and pondered, I don't think one happy thing happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    SAd book-doesn't get better

    So sorry-it's just so depressing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Just OK

    Gap Creek was just OK. This is the story of a young girl who has to overcome many obstacles as she grows up in North and South Carolina. I found it kind of depressing because there was one problem after another that she had to endure. I kept thinking that soon it would change for the better, but it never did. There was a lot of detail on how hard life was back then. I don't plan to read other books by this author based on my experience with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Step Back In Time

    Gap Creek takes you into the mountains to a time when subsistence living was the norm. I found the characters interesting and their trials believable. Hopefully, Robert Morgan will write a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Recommended

    I enjoyed the book. Not sure I liked the worms.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    An okay read.

    Started out very slow. Not what I expected of the wording. Was an okay story not gripping, and not a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Okay

    I just wanted Julie to be happy! The ending made me mad....lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Lacking :(

    It could have been such a wonderful book. I just felt in the end there were too many loose ends, and I didn't have closure with the characters. It was neat to read a story set in an area I know from living nearby. I enjoyed the time period it was written, it truly does make me appreciate the luxuries I have in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    What?

    I was leery of downloading it, because I've never been happy with a book I've read just because it has an "Oprah Book Club" sticker on it. While I found parts of the story to be enjoyable, for the most part, it felt like half a book. As someone who grew up reading the "Little House" series over and over, I could see that that was the kind of book Morgan was trying to write--you know, only for adults, and set in South Carolina. The problem is, he can't frame his stories. I didn't mind the beginning, it set a nice tone for the book, but the end was abrupt and unsatisfying. There is no overarching plot. The characters, especially those that aren't Julie, feel flat--and despite Julie's role as the narrator, she fails to completely elicit feelings of sympathy or understanding. Even the scenes that were supposed to be exciting--sex, for instance, or the fire and flood--fall flat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Had potential...but missed

    I kept waiting for this book to get to the point of the story but it ended before it even started! Glad it was free because i would feel gypped if i had paid for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Mao

    Too depressing......nothing good ever happened. There was not a real ending. I kept waiting for some redeeming event but it never materialized. There were some good personal interactions between spouses that indicated good writing but not enough to sustain the whole book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Gap Creek

    Depressing and haunting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 109 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6