Customer Reviews for

Gap Creek

Average Rating 3.5
( 1143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(318)

4 Star

(330)

3 Star

(230)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

shakes you up

A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light ...
A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light at the end of the tunnel may not always be what you expect, but it's what you need to continue to go on. I highly recommend this book. It's a great read that you don't want to put down.

posted by loveweightedbooks on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Mega-Depressing Oprah Pick Not Worth the Effort

After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such...
After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such bad novels on purpose? From the death of her little brother from worms (which is unneccesarily graphically portrayed) to her struggles against her strange husband (whose character annoyingly is never really explained or developed thoroughly by the author), the protangonist, a young woman in her late teens named Julie, is slapped hard incessantly by her circumstances. I just wanted a break from it. Although it was an easy read (day and a half, thankfully no longer) I found myself wishing that the protangonist would just go home to her mama and forget about Gap Creek. She and her bizarre husband eventually do, but it's too late to save the effort. Try a different novel. Don't waste your time on this one.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Hardtimes

    If you think you have things bad, read this book. Very inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Interesting....but....

    Good characters and interesting story. Not an epic novel. Very sad story line all the way through. Actually too sad. Ending was lackluster although author might have thought clever. I think it had better possibilities if the writer had asked a few more friends to proof read it and brainstorm. I will watch this author in the future knowing talent when I see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Gap Creek

    I enjoyed this book but thought it ended rather abruptly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    A good read

    This book kept my attention from beginning to end, but a depressing book. This is the first book I've read by this author so I can't compare his writing, but he must really have sadistist issues.

    I had a hard time putting it down, especially at the end, wanting something good to happen to this poor couple. It was well written and had slight humor at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Interesting.

    This is not the type of book I normally read, but the writing was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    A good read

    This is a book where you have to change the cadence in your brain while you read. Slow down a little and put yourself in the mountains. I was a little disappointed in the abrupt ending. I wanted to know more of Julies story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I'm just about finished reading this book. I think Robert Morgan did a wonderful job portraying life in the "hills" and the many hardships the people had to go through. I would like to read more of Robert Morgan's novels. It's easy reading. I can't wait to finish it. Maybe later this afternoon...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Different than the way we are today - unusual book.

    The book was not what I expected. Did show a way of life we do not live today - it was one hit after another - yet they kept going - showed a perseverance people do not have today - they did not quit when the going got rough - they survived. When thinking about it - there is more to ponder than the difficulties presented - there is victory in so many ways. If we admit it - probably very close to how life truly was at that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Not a bad read.

    I would not normally have bought this book, bu it was the Free Friday book. It was a pretty good read, and captured a small bit of how life was after the civil war, and how two people handled their married life together the first couple of years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Recommend it

    1st try for this author and I enjoyed the book. Although the ending was abrupt. I will try another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    A mellow read

    I found the book to be a bit of a slow read. It appears to be set in the pre-industrial era. It's a story of young love and the trials and tribulations they must face as they start their lives together. If you want a mellow book with little "action" then this is suitable. Not my usual style of book but it was nice to read while relaxing in bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    VERY GOOD WRITING

    Such a good story and easy read. I was a little disappointed on where it ended, felt it could have continued on for a few more chapters. Overall very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Sad but enjoyable

    This is a well written book that describes a difficult life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Good story.

    A good story of the early marriage of a young couple in the late 1800's in Appalachia. Realistic account of lifestyles, and homes from that period. It describes the hardships of life without glossing over them, or sentimentalizing them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    good read but>>..

    it's probably the most depressing book i have ever read, just behind Hunger Games series and Sentence of Marriage series. well written just too sad and life defeating. won't read it twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Interesting in parts, but kept me wondering

    Gap Creek was a fairly good read, but I was disappointed with the ending. It was like" So... " If you want to feel sad, read it. Main character is strong, but really what else do we have here, but a sad story?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Pretty good for a freebie

    Some of the free book downloads are less than interesting to me, but this one was fairly good, even if it's not the happiest story. But my guess is that it is probably a true picture of life in Appalachia around the turn of the 20th century. In some ways it reminded me of the book "Christy" by Catherine Marshall, but this one, in the voice of 17-year-old Julie, is much grittier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Easy read. Little peek into another way of life.

    Good little book. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Good Book

    Good book, easy read... lots of stuff happening.. entertaining...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Won't make you smile

    The title may say "Story of a Marriage" but I think it's unlike any relationship I've known. The times are hard....I mean really hard....and it's definitely a book of struggle and mental toughness. Not a book to read for lighthearted entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12