Customer Reviews for

Gap Creek

Average Rating 3.5
( 1146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(317)

4 Star

(331)

3 Star

(232)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(157)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

shakes you up

A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light ...
A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light at the end of the tunnel may not always be what you expect, but it's what you need to continue to go on. I highly recommend this book. It's a great read that you don't want to put down.

posted by loveweightedbooks on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Mega-Depressing Oprah Pick Not Worth the Effort

After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such...
After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such bad novels on purpose? From the death of her little brother from worms (which is unneccesarily graphically portrayed) to her struggles against her strange husband (whose character annoyingly is never really explained or developed thoroughly by the author), the protangonist, a young woman in her late teens named Julie, is slapped hard incessantly by her circumstances. I just wanted a break from it. Although it was an easy read (day and a half, thankfully no longer) I found myself wishing that the protangonist would just go home to her mama and forget about Gap Creek. She and her bizarre husband eventually do, but it's too late to save the effort. Try a different novel. Don't waste your time on this one.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 232 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 12
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Good freebie

    While not a wildly engrossing read, this tale of a poor young woman manages to hold your attention. Her trials and tribulations mount one after another in what is likely an accurate depiction of life at the time. While neither meek nor quiet, the young woman is intelligent enough to know when to keep her mouth shut, although her feelings come through loud and clear. Depressing and dark, her life moves in linear fashion with little variance. Hoping for an exciting or upbeat ending, I kept reading. However, the end is like the beginning, just another life on an ordinary day with no relief in sight. Hope is always around the corner, and while our young family waits for good fortune to fall on them, we get the feeling it will be a long hard struggle with a low chance for success. Yes, it is that depressing, but her willingness to forge ahead is admirable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Damn that was depressing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Depressing

    This was a well written book, but a real downer. Nothing good ever happened to these people, they just went from one depressing situation to another. It did show their strength, or character, or lack of it, but it was not an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    It was good but.....

    I like the book but the ending left me hanging. I expected there to be some type of closure for the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    enjoyable reading

    I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Quick read

    An okay read.Didn't like how it ended so abruptly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Loved this book but left me wanting more.

    Great story! Could not put it down but disappointed at the ending. I want to know the rest of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Read

    First I have to say I got this on Free Friday. I found it to be an interesting read. Some previous commentors mentioned that is was depressing and they would like to see some good things happen. I think the love that grows between these two dispite the physical hardships they encountered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Good story but felt unfinished

    This was a free Friday book that I had read before, but did not remember. A story about struggles and loss. I thought my download was incomplete when I got to the end so I went to library and was surprises that the ending WAS ubrupt. Story just ended.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Good

    Great characters. Slow in parts. Waited for something good to happen...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    A so-so read

    I enjoyed this book but expected much more from it. If you're looking for an easy read with not much to think about, this is a great choice. However, if you want to be challenged, move along.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2002

    A short story of a woman of character that you can read in one sitting.

    A story that is told from a young woman's perspective about her youth and years as a married woman. You follow her and her husband through triumphs and tragedies of which there are many, which provides the impetus to not put it down. It is well written and does make an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2000

    A summer read for the masses

    Readers looking for an easy to digest book for the beach or other vacation spot will probably find GAP CREEK to be just the ticket. However, I kept wondering, why all the hoopla? What are the criteria to make Oprah's book club? It's just not an exceptional book, I'm sorry. I grew up reading good 20th American literature (Steinbeck, Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Vonnegut, etc) and I like an unadorned writing style, a compelling story, credible well-developed characters and some depth of meaning that the reader has to dig for. GAP CREEK has some of these components, but it falls way short of the praise I see being heaped on it. So, I suggest that readers spend some time with THE EDUCATION OF LITTLE TREE by Forrest Carter, a 1991 Abby Award recipient, or MY ANTONIA by Willa Cather. The former is a true story of youth and Appalachia in the 1930's that is a much more credible, intriquing and heart-wrenching tale. The latter is a semi-autobiographical story of life on the prairie amidst poverty, death of family and friends, ceaseless struggle against the elements and ultimately a feeling that you've actually experienced the character's lives with them. In brief, there are higher quality books with this theme available, but they aren't in THE CLUB. Hey Oprah, how about selecting some books other than recent releases?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 232 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 12