Customer Reviews for

Gap Creek

Average Rating 3.5
( 1143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(318)

4 Star

(330)

3 Star

(230)

2 Star

(109)

1 Star

(156)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

shakes you up

A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light ...
A very compelling book! The life lessons contained really give you perspective on your own life. All of the stuggles that the main character goes through leave you deep in thought as to what god really has in mind when you descend this earth. It shows that the light at the end of the tunnel may not always be what you expect, but it's what you need to continue to go on. I highly recommend this book. It's a great read that you don't want to put down.

posted by loveweightedbooks on January 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Mega-Depressing Oprah Pick Not Worth the Effort

After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such...
After the final disgusting scene in the first chapter I knew I shouldn't waste my time on this all too self-possessed effort to depress and wear on the reader. I've always been leary of 'Oprah Picks' but this one takes the prize. Do the editors at Oprah's show pick such bad novels on purpose? From the death of her little brother from worms (which is unneccesarily graphically portrayed) to her struggles against her strange husband (whose character annoyingly is never really explained or developed thoroughly by the author), the protangonist, a young woman in her late teens named Julie, is slapped hard incessantly by her circumstances. I just wanted a break from it. Although it was an easy read (day and a half, thankfully no longer) I found myself wishing that the protangonist would just go home to her mama and forget about Gap Creek. She and her bizarre husband eventually do, but it's too late to save the effort. Try a different novel. Don't waste your time on this one.

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 318 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    I found this book to be a great read.   I enjoy books that are s

    I found this book to be a great read.
      I enjoy books that are set in the past and depict how it was to live and survive
     in those times. I cried and laughed throught reading, which is what is supposed to happen when you read!
    The ending is not what I expected but was great and fitting.  If you enjoy novels that leave you thinking about the book and its characters, then I suggest you read this one!
       I wish there was a Gap Creek 2!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Thunderheart

    Is anyone on?~th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Dream to Pretrystar

    I am not here to join, but others might. I have five kits who need a home, and I was wondering if RevengeClan would be there new home. (Also, just because, do you want me to advertize for you all?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    ~_~

    +1 like~_~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Lilypetal

    Mom, clawfire is locked out and Skystorm does not know where we are! Maybe e could advertise again? I found the perfect place at 'rcc' because it stands for revengeclan cats. :) Its pefect there! @1Lilypetal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Hailsky

    Hi!~ hs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Gap Creek by Robert Morgan

    I found Gap Creek to be an interesting book....Could not believe how one woman could carry on after so many, many hardsips. Makes one feel fortunate to have lived a life with modern convenieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    This book will remind you how easy your life is.

    I love this book. Read it years ago and just bought it on my Nook so I could read it again. It's a great story well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    HOME

    I read this book a few years ago. I am from that area and it really brought back memories of my upbringing. We go to The Gap every time we go there to visit relatives.
    This book is about the people that came from the Carolinas and settled in
    The most rugged and beautiful place people love to go through.

    Possemmer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    A wonderful story of hope, love, and endurance. It is not alway

    A wonderful story of hope, love, and endurance. It is not always a pretty story, but then our forebears did not have a pretty existence. Life was hard. I have nothing but admiration for all of the pioneers, for it is through their hard work and endurance that helped make our country what it is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Amy

    Wow im so dumb leaves back to the orphanage

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Extremely well done

    This book is captivating from the very first page. I'm really glad I gave it a try because the description wasn't very good. Set in the late 19th century in the Carolinas, it is narrated by Julie, a teenager who marries to escape her difficult life, but ends up with an even harder one. Although there are many upsetting events, Julie's perseverance and strong voice makes this very readable, to the point where I read the whole book in one sitting. Very much recommended, especially if you enjoyed the Little House series, True Grit, or Half Broke Horses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    My favorite book

    This is my all time favorite book. Well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Love it

    Couldn't put it down. I love how I could "feel" what was happening to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    This is one of the best books I've read. The struggles the char

    This is one of the best books I've read. The struggles the characters faced are the same that really happened during that era in time. I may read it again just to make sure I didn't miss anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    great read

    Second time reading this...feels sweet as the first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Loved this book!

    The best book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    So well written. Gripping

    So well written. Gripping

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Loved it.

    Instead of rehashing what occured in this book, I will just say how good it was. The things that she went through were very realistic. Although it was hard to keep reading about all that happened to her, I'm glad that I kept reading until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Kk thx adam

    Thank u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 318 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 16