Customer Reviews for

The Garden Intrigue (Pink Carnation Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    This, unfortunately, is not one of the author's best; in fact, I

    This, unfortunately, is not one of the author's best; in fact, I was pushing to get through it by about the middle. The main characters are just not that likable, and the plot didn't keep my interest. I really liked most of the earlier books, to perhaps varying degrees, but this one disappointed. Hope Ms. Willig gets her vibe back for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Love these books

    Willig always delivers fun, romance, and a dash of spy, writing with intelligence and depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    I have greatly enjoyed this series but this book was not one of

    I have greatly enjoyed this series but this book was not one of the best. The modern storyline is feeling pretty forced at this point while the historical storyline in this one is just kind of flat. I hate to say this because I do love the series but I'm starting to worry it has jumped the shark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    The 9th book of the Pink Carnation Series was great just as the

    The 9th book of the Pink Carnation Series was great just as the previous books. I was disappointed it did not cover more of Eloise and Colin and more of the time Augustus and Emma spent together. I didn't understand how Augustus in love with Jane could so quickly realize he had feelings for Emma even if he does come to understand later what he felt for Jane was not love. Regardless I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I just finished Lauren Willigs' newest in the Carnation Series &

    I just finished Lauren Willigs' newest in the Carnation Series "The Garden Intrigue" I loved it! I thought the plot was great, even though I had my reservations when I first read the synopsis, it seemed a little weird; however I always by Laurens books and am never disappointed. My only drawback in the whole book was that we didn't actually have much insight to the month Augustus and Emma spent writing the play. Also it was an extremely fast switch of affections from Jane (the Pink Carnation) to Emma which left my head spinning. It was hard for me to grasp that they were really that in love as a result. But I still really enjoyed it and will probably read it again, just as I reread all of her books on a regular basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    One of her best in this series

    I have read this entire series and I love them all. Of course, I like some more than others, and I have to say that this was one of my favorites. The characters and their relationships are fun and likeable, and they have good chemistry. I only wish that their story hadn't ended so abruptly. I would have liked for Willig to follow them a little longer on their journey.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely ADDICTIVE!!!!

    I'm strongly addicted to Lauren Willig's work. She's super talented and each of her Pink Carnation books holds something new and excited that will keep the reader hooked from start to finish. Having read all her other Pink Carnation books, I totally could not wait for this book to release. So, when the chance came up to read it, WOW! I was definitely NOT disappointed and swept away once again to the land of Lauren Willig's fantabulous characters and plot lines. This is most definitely one of the BEST historical novels that is blended with the PERFECT amount of spies and adventure! I loved Emma's character. She's a widow living in France, and her friends are Jane and Hortense (oh the poor dear! LoL!). Hortense's father, rather step-father-none other than the famed Napolean Bonaparte, enlists Emma in a job.....a job of writing a masque for Napolean's party. So, Emma's on a hunt for help, and she crosses paths with none of the fabulous Augustus Whittlesby. Now, Augustus Whittlesby has a teensie little problem....he's the world's WORST poet! Oy vay! The indignity of it! The poor man should NOT be allowed to construct poems! But, you see, he has an ulterior motive. He's a spy....a secret spy with the Pink Carnations, and he's out to catch what Napolean Bonaparte is TRULY up to with this party. And what a wonderful spy he is! Watching Emma and Augustus's growing attraction for each other was awesome! There were laugh out loud moments and few, "are you kidding me?!" moments that will not be forgotten! The wonderful characters from the Pink Carnation series are back in this wonderful new installment I loved seeing Jane Wooliston again (poor Augustus has pined for her-until Ms. Emma Delgardie enters his life!) and Gwen Meadows. I definitely recommend this newest installment with the highest of 5 Books ratings! It's worthy, of course, of more, however. Ms. Willig created this novel with wit, charm, and suspense, leaving the reader a little breathless at the end, as another Pink Carnation case comes to an end. Like her others, however, she leaves the reader hanging just enough to know that the Carnations WILL be back with yet another fabulous story and I absolutely can NOT wait!!! If you're new to this series, do despair! This can be read as a stand alone as Ms. Willig does a greatastic job at keeping the reader up to date on the past points of the series. And, if you're familiar with the Pink Carnations, well, don't just sit there! GRAB YOUR COPY NOW!!! Well done, Ms. Willig! This review originated at Reviews By Molly in part with a blog tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    More please!

    If you didn't already know, Lauren Willig is an amazing writer. I've been a huge fan of hers since her first book came out in 2005. Her books pack a powerful punch and contain some of my most favorite elements; romance, history, and intrigue, not specifically in that order. The Garden Intrigue is no different.

    Augustus Whittlesby has been in deep undercover in France for over a decade. He's been there for so long, he's no longer considered as a threat to Napoleon. After all he is a poet, and a very bad one at that. No one thinks him capable of such treachery. Instead, they all laugh at his horrible prose and him. The only one who challenges him is Emma Delgardie. She never lets him fully worship his Cytherea, the fair Ms.Jane Wooliston. It's only when Augustus is forced to spend time with Emma when he needs to get an invite to Malmaison where Napoleon is going to test out his secret weapon that will allow him to invade England, that either of them realize that the other is not what they seem.

    Meanwhile Eloise and Colin are trying to weather the invasion of Selwick Hall by inconsiderate movie people, all while Eloise is trying to figure out her next step. She's been offered a plush teaching job back home and she doesn't know what to do. Plus someone has been going through her files and e-mails, and lots of unwanted people are roaming the house.

    The book flows well and quickly and I found that I could not put it down until I had finished it. I was left wanting to know more. Especially as Ms.Willig left off just as Eloise and Colin reached some serious conclusions and a treasure search is/will be in progress! Unfortunately, I'll probably waiting for close to another year to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Another great book in the Pink Carnation series!

    Lauren Willig has done it again! Her latest novel, “The Garden Intrigue” is a continuation of the popular Pink Carnation series. And, it's one of her best!

    This adventurous spy tale is set in 1804. Our heroine is New York born Emma Delgardie and she is living in Paris, France. As a young widow, Emma enjoys the Paris salons and an intimacy with Napoleon Bonaparte’s inner circle. Her two best friends include Hortense,(Napoleon’s step daughter) and Jane (who is the Pink Carnation). Emma is commissioned by Napoleon to write a masque for his next party at Malmaison.

    Our hero is poet Augustus Whittlesby. His verse is intentionally awful. So awful that it makes his audience and censors cringe. The puky poetry provides the cover he needs to succeed as England’s undercover agent. Augustus’ current assignment is to steal blueprints for a top secret naval invention. He must smuggle them out of France and get them to London Headquarters. Fast. However, he can’t get an invitation to Malmaison and the plans without Emma’s assistance. Augustus can’t tell Emma what he needs or how he really feels about her, or can he?

    Ms. Willig does a superb job telling this charming story. She doesn’t take the easy way out and use misunderstandings or clichés to further the plot. She does use humor, romance, and well developed characters to make “The Garden Intrigue” a delightful read. This book can be read as a stand alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    An amazing addition to an addictive series

    Lauren Willig's newest book in the Pink Carnation series, The Garden Intrigue, is an excellent continuation of a fascinating story. Willig keeps the series fresh, as always, with a hero and heroine unlike those of the previous eight books. The modern love story that frames the historical ones moves along wonderfully in The Garden Intrigue -- I'm still swooning. This is an engaging, enjoyable, un-put-downable book from one of the most talented writers of the 21st century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to the series!

    Yay, a new Pink Carnation book! Jane is actually in this one quite a bit, which was a nice change from many of the more recent ones in the series--not that I haven't enjoyed them all, but it is the Pink Carnation series, after all. Augustus Whittlesby, the truly terrible poet who's really a British spy in disguise, finally gets his own novel--and it's worth the wait. His heroine is an American widow, Emma Morris Delagardie, who also turns out to be far more than she seems. I just loved reading about the development of their relationship. They're not too far behind Miles and Henrietta in my list of favorite PC couples. Their correspondence while working on the masque for Napoleon's country weekend was one of my favorite parts--too funny!

    Newly-made Emperor Napoleon makes a personal appearance this time, as do two American historical figures--Robert Livingston, American minister to France, and inventor Robert Fulton. It was a nice switch to have US history actually be a part of the series. The modern story of Eloise Kelly, researcher, and Colin Selwick, descendant of the Purple Gentian, also continues in this book, with Eloise worrying about the quickly approaching end of her tenure in Britain. (I hate to say it, but as much as I love Colin, Eloise is starting to annoy. She spends far too much time brooding and alone instead of talking things over with oh, I don't know--maybe her boyfriend? I started to skim more quickly through her parts so I could get back to Emma and Augustus faster--she's the main reason for four rather than five stars. I don't want her character to go away, necessarily, just be more decisive and grown up in her relationship, please.)

    All in all, this was a satisfying read. It was well-paced, particularly in the historical parts, hard to put down, and I just loved Emma and Augustus. I can't wait to see what Ms. Willig has in store for us next. (And perhaps we could get a little update on how life is going for Emma and Augustus? Please?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Impossible!

    Can't review a book that hasn't been published yet.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2