Customer Reviews for

The Garden Intrigue (Pink Carnation Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Love these books

    Willig always delivers fun, romance, and a dash of spy, writing with intelligence and depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    The 9th book of the Pink Carnation Series was great just as the

    The 9th book of the Pink Carnation Series was great just as the previous books. I was disappointed it did not cover more of Eloise and Colin and more of the time Augustus and Emma spent together. I didn't understand how Augustus in love with Jane could so quickly realize he had feelings for Emma even if he does come to understand later what he felt for Jane was not love. Regardless I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    I just finished Lauren Willigs' newest in the Carnation Series &

    I just finished Lauren Willigs' newest in the Carnation Series "The Garden Intrigue" I loved it! I thought the plot was great, even though I had my reservations when I first read the synopsis, it seemed a little weird; however I always by Laurens books and am never disappointed. My only drawback in the whole book was that we didn't actually have much insight to the month Augustus and Emma spent writing the play. Also it was an extremely fast switch of affections from Jane (the Pink Carnation) to Emma which left my head spinning. It was hard for me to grasp that they were really that in love as a result. But I still really enjoyed it and will probably read it again, just as I reread all of her books on a regular basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    One of her best in this series

    I have read this entire series and I love them all. Of course, I like some more than others, and I have to say that this was one of my favorites. The characters and their relationships are fun and likeable, and they have good chemistry. I only wish that their story hadn't ended so abruptly. I would have liked for Willig to follow them a little longer on their journey.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great addition to the series!

    Yay, a new Pink Carnation book! Jane is actually in this one quite a bit, which was a nice change from many of the more recent ones in the series--not that I haven't enjoyed them all, but it is the Pink Carnation series, after all. Augustus Whittlesby, the truly terrible poet who's really a British spy in disguise, finally gets his own novel--and it's worth the wait. His heroine is an American widow, Emma Morris Delagardie, who also turns out to be far more than she seems. I just loved reading about the development of their relationship. They're not too far behind Miles and Henrietta in my list of favorite PC couples. Their correspondence while working on the masque for Napoleon's country weekend was one of my favorite parts--too funny!

    Newly-made Emperor Napoleon makes a personal appearance this time, as do two American historical figures--Robert Livingston, American minister to France, and inventor Robert Fulton. It was a nice switch to have US history actually be a part of the series. The modern story of Eloise Kelly, researcher, and Colin Selwick, descendant of the Purple Gentian, also continues in this book, with Eloise worrying about the quickly approaching end of her tenure in Britain. (I hate to say it, but as much as I love Colin, Eloise is starting to annoy. She spends far too much time brooding and alone instead of talking things over with oh, I don't know--maybe her boyfriend? I started to skim more quickly through her parts so I could get back to Emma and Augustus faster--she's the main reason for four rather than five stars. I don't want her character to go away, necessarily, just be more decisive and grown up in her relationship, please.)

    All in all, this was a satisfying read. It was well-paced, particularly in the historical parts, hard to put down, and I just loved Emma and Augustus. I can't wait to see what Ms. Willig has in store for us next. (And perhaps we could get a little update on how life is going for Emma and Augustus? Please?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1