Customer Reviews for

Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Last but First

This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. ...
This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. I jumped ahead and read it 2nd - I suggest you do as the author wanted and read it last. You will enjoy the other books in the series better.

posted by Becky-Books on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Obviously finished by ghostwriter

This book was in progress when VC Andrews died in '87. There are definite holes and inconsistencies in the book and the quality of the storytelling is truly downgraded from her the books she wrote.

posted by halobrown on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Obviously finished by ghostwriter

    This book was in progress when VC Andrews died in '87. There are definite holes and inconsistencies in the book and the quality of the storytelling is truly downgraded from her the books she wrote.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Last but First

    This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. I jumped ahead and read it 2nd - I suggest you do as the author wanted and read it last. You will enjoy the other books in the series better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Like Finding a Hidden Trunk in the Attic

    I read the first books of the Dollanganger series when I was a teen. I am now in my 40's,but never forgot about these books. The night I got the gift set of Flowers in the Attic, Petals on the Wind and If there Be Thorns, it was Christmas Eve and I sat in a chair at a large family function and could not move. I never knew about Garden of Shadows and came across it recently. I could not put it down! I have twin 3 year olds so it was not easy to read, but this book was fascinating! It was really cool to read about the early lives of Olivia, Malcolm, Alicia and Garland. In the other books, they are merely ghosts (except Olivia, who is a villain). Now I feel like I understand so much more of this compelling story. It's a must-read for anyone who loved the first books of the Dollanganger series! I took off one star because I felt the author didn't go into enough detail about Corinne, Mal, Christopher and Joel. They could get a whole book out of that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow

    Crazy is how I described this book. There are moments where you like, wow just wow. This is more of a prequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Lame

    Lame lame lame lame

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great!

    I really exlains everything about the Grnadmotherm Olivia. We see why shes so cruel, what made her evil, and we see the real problem- both her sons died, and she only loved her sons. Then her husbands cheats on her, producing Cornnie Foxworth- and I actually felt bad for Olivia, and now Cathy from ther series is one of the characters I dont like!! Who wouldve thought.
    This books an eye opener, but read the series first. Only problem is the author doesnt go into detail about the kids- you dont cant really say if you like Mal, Joel, Corrine or Christopher because the Author barely speaks of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Recommend

    This book pretty much pulls it all together. It brings you back to the beginning and actually has you feeling bad for Olivia because her husband was such a creep. Alittle twist in there you don't expect. If you read the series you should Complete it with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    A

    This book is such a page turner! I loved it! Highly recomend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good read

    Helped to understand how the grandmother became so cruel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read Flowers in the Attic prior to Garden of Shadows. I am only 100 pages into Garden of Shadows and I am liking it better then Flowers in the Attic. I like the story line better. Much is happening in the life Olivia that takes place in more than one spot of the house. I like the interactions between Olivia and Malcolm as compared to just the kids trying to entertain themselves in Flowers in the Attic. I just think the plot is more interesting. Plus I have already seen the movie to Flowers in the attic, so I had a general idea what was happening. Garden of Shadows is excellent so far. You really feel bad for Olivia (aka grandmother).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    WOW

    Now we know what happened to Olivia to make her the way she was. I still do not feel sorry enough for ther to understand what she did to Corrine and her children. Bad things happened to her, but it doesn't excuse her actions with Alicia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    Garden of Shadows book 5

    This book I thought would be something different but it's just the same except for the narration which is done by Olivia the creepy Grandmother who shows her nice side. We get to know how Malcolm was before the whole thing with Flowers in the Attic including some stuff about their daughter Corrine. Could of done better on the prequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    Truely captivating

    I am glad that Virginia decided to let us in on the secrets behind Olivia Winnfield Foxworth's steel gray eyes. I felt hatred toward her character all throughout this series until I read this novel. It left me feeling heartbroken that Olivia found herself in a loveless marriage with no real way to escape. And you also witness Corrine growing up, and it makes you wonder sometimes how such a caring young woman can grow up to be such a cruel uncaring viper. But I would not miss reading this novel for the world. I've owned the whole series since I was atleast 11 (I've always been a mature reader) and now almost 7 years later I still feel just as strongly about this series as I did back then. I would recommend this to anyone that enjoys reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    You will have complete character connection

    As with all of V C Andrews work this story holds true to her typical, unique writing style, wonderfully engaging, heartbreaking and she again easily introduces the disturbing storyline that would be difficult for some other writers to pull off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    makes you understand

    All through the Dollanganger series, you just hate Olivia (the Grandmother). This book flips the script and you begin to feel sorry for her. All she wanted was to be loved, but because of all the hurt and betrayl she can only turn to the 'religion' for guidence which misleads her down a horrid trail. Maybe we (as readers) would have had more sympathy for Oliva and less for Corrine (Momma) if this book had come out first, but I'm glad it didn't, because it was a great conclusion to all the hateful things they did. You end up crying for Olivia and then reading the whole series again from her vantage point! DOUBLE ENJOYMENT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Brings back old memories ....

    Read vc andrews books when I was a teenager . Always enjoyed them .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Excellent

    I recommend you read the whole series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Loved it

    Ouf of all the books in the series this was my favorite. Loved reading about the transition of Olivia from a loving mother and person to such a mean one, and reading that she was not always like that only the tribulations in her life made her that way. Sad to say goodbye to all this characters after being a part of their lives for 5 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Riverflash

    "Do you want any kits?" She purred to him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Loudfoot

    Wonderfull he purred

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5