Customer Reviews for

Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Last but First

This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. ...
This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. I jumped ahead and read it 2nd - I suggest you do as the author wanted and read it last. You will enjoy the other books in the series better.

posted by Becky-Books on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Obviously finished by ghostwriter

This book was in progress when VC Andrews died in '87. There are definite holes and inconsistencies in the book and the quality of the storytelling is truly downgraded from her the books she wrote.

posted by halobrown on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Last but First

    This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. I jumped ahead and read it 2nd - I suggest you do as the author wanted and read it last. You will enjoy the other books in the series better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Like Finding a Hidden Trunk in the Attic

    I read the first books of the Dollanganger series when I was a teen. I am now in my 40's,but never forgot about these books. The night I got the gift set of Flowers in the Attic, Petals on the Wind and If there Be Thorns, it was Christmas Eve and I sat in a chair at a large family function and could not move. I never knew about Garden of Shadows and came across it recently. I could not put it down! I have twin 3 year olds so it was not easy to read, but this book was fascinating! It was really cool to read about the early lives of Olivia, Malcolm, Alicia and Garland. In the other books, they are merely ghosts (except Olivia, who is a villain). Now I feel like I understand so much more of this compelling story. It's a must-read for anyone who loved the first books of the Dollanganger series! I took off one star because I felt the author didn't go into enough detail about Corinne, Mal, Christopher and Joel. They could get a whole book out of that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Recommend

    This book pretty much pulls it all together. It brings you back to the beginning and actually has you feeling bad for Olivia because her husband was such a creep. Alittle twist in there you don't expect. If you read the series you should Complete it with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good read

    Helped to understand how the grandmother became so cruel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    WOW

    Now we know what happened to Olivia to make her the way she was. I still do not feel sorry enough for ther to understand what she did to Corrine and her children. Bad things happened to her, but it doesn't excuse her actions with Alicia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. It was far more interesting than the

    I really enjoyed this book. It was far more interesting than the 2 surrounding Cathy & Chris and their children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Interesting

    I will say that in the beginning I felt bad for the grandmother, Olivia. Your husband only marries you for a certain reason and doesn't give you the love that you wanted. However, towards th end of the book I didn't like her. I think it was more John Amos who made her the way she was, instead of Malcolm.

    After I finished reading the Dollangangers series an them this book, I was a little sad it was over. You followed their lives for so long, that when it ended, it was like 'what now?' I'm thinking about checking out her othr books and even looking into tue Logan series...Olivia's family. I recommend the whole series...just make sure you read this book last, even though it is a prequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2003

    Read this book first

    I read the first two books in the series years ago. I found the books in my closet one day and flipped through them. Garden of shadows was listed with a brief description. I thought I would read it first to get a better understanding of the grandmother. I was glad I did! If you are going to read this series, read Garden of Shadows first!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Great read..

    I had read flowers in the attic ages ago, and after seeing the movie on tv recently, I wanted to read the series. i started with this book, and I feel like I can understand the whole story now..this is a great book..If you like VC andrews, this book is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2001

    A must-read

    Read the first books first, and you just hate the grandmother. Then read this one, and you actually feel sorry for her. Told a friend about it, and she did not believe me until she read it. Not as good as the first ones, but still a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2001

    FANTASTIC BOOK!!!

    Garden of Shadows is an absolutly wonderful book! It is a page-turner that you just can't put down, just like the first, second, third, and fourth. Olivia (the grandmother)is narrating this story and it shows you how and why she turned so cruel, evil, and mean. It wasn't as good as the other but it was still a page turner. I would reccommend this book to pretty much anybody who has already read the Dollanger Series. Be sure to read the series in order or else you won't understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1