Customer Reviews for

Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Last but First

This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. ...
This is actually the prequel to Flowers in the Attic. It is from the point of view of the Grandmother, from before she was married. this book still did not change my feelings for the Grandmother - I still despise her! This book was written as the last of the series. I jumped ahead and read it 2nd - I suggest you do as the author wanted and read it last. You will enjoy the other books in the series better.

posted by Becky-Books on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Obviously finished by ghostwriter

This book was in progress when VC Andrews died in '87. There are definite holes and inconsistencies in the book and the quality of the storytelling is truly downgraded from her the books she wrote.

posted by halobrown on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Cool

    Seems like a book i woukd totes read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Clarissa

    Grinned and pulled it back up. "Hmm....I can't seem to pull it down." She smirked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    Dawson

    ((Okay. I'm back, too.)) He smiled seductively and strode over, holding her against the wall and kissing her deeply. Dawson silently slipped off his clothes until he was fully nude, then moved away a few inches from her body to allow her to take off her dress. He helped her a bit by starting to slip off the left sleeve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    W

    Kiss your hand three times, post this in three different books, look under your pillow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    APPRANTICE DEN

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Interesting

    I will say that in the beginning I felt bad for the grandmother, Olivia. Your husband only marries you for a certain reason and doesn't give you the love that you wanted. However, towards th end of the book I didn't like her. I think it was more John Amos who made her the way she was, instead of Malcolm.

    After I finished reading the Dollangangers series an them this book, I was a little sad it was over. You followed their lives for so long, that when it ended, it was like 'what now?' I'm thinking about checking out her othr books and even looking into tue Logan series...Olivia's family. I recommend the whole series...just make sure you read this book last, even though it is a prequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Cometstorm

    Curled up in his nest and fell asleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    The Warrior Den

    Near the wooden structure that is the nursery is a scraggily looking heather bush. It's leaves conceal a large den filled with mossy nests perfect for exhausted cats. It is here that the loyal warriors of Horseclan can enjoy well deserved rest after a hard day of hunting, patroling, or training. Without them, Horseclan could not survive and clan life would be impossible. ~ The Warrior Den - Lilywolf &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Good insight

    I loved being able to see the pre story from this point of view. It adds so much to the first book and makes you realize just what was actually going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Spoil it for me pls

    I want to know what hsppens spoil it pls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Excellent book but be forewarned

    This was listed as the 5th and last book in the series but it is actually the first. I wish I would have read this one first because so many things would have made more sense. As for my warning, the book definitely pertains to an incestuous relationship so if that nothers you then don't read any of the books. However if you can look past that, the writing is excellent and the story held my interest the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    if you loved flowers in the attic...

    sooooo good. a must read if you loved flowers in the attic. this book explains it all!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    Wonderfully written

    I absoulutely loved this novel. We finally learned how the 'Evil Grandmother' came about and that she was not always that cruel. I read Flowers in the Attic first and I despised the Grandmother. But when I read Garden of Shadows I felt compassion for Olivia and I thought she wasn't a bad person. This book was wonderfully written and I would recomend it to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Suspenseful

    This actually the first book i have read so far in the series and i found it quite fascinating. I mean Malcolm and how he changed so quickly was really... unexpected but i guess heartfelt. Olivia, though i do have sympathy for her, gave in to the ways of Joel. He was so devoted to religion he wrapped her up in it and now she is such a cruel-hearted person locking up children she doesn't even know. Overall, i can't wait to read the rest of the series and find out what happens next. BRAVO V.C. Andrews it was a spectacular book. A real Page-Turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    The major disappointment in the Dollanganger Series

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Dollanganger Series but after reading ¿ Garden of Shadows¿ I was left with more questions. I didn¿t think there was a good consistency of characters from this book to ¿Flowers in the attic¿. Oliva and Corrine I felt took on different personalities that were depthless. After reading this book you may not want to read ¿Flowers in the Attic¿ so I suggest waiting and read this one last. Most facts and events are already reveled through out the series. What I enjoyed was the history and the childhood of Corrine and Chris, but don¿t expect to be taken on an emotional rollercoaster as you may have been with the rest of the series. A good comparison would be what the ¿Hobbit¿ was to ¿The lord of the rings¿. Many people don¿t even consider ¿The Hobbit¿ part of the series. The ¿Hobbit¿ was a good book but it¿s hard to compare it to its predecessors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    GOOD TIMES

    It makes me really appreciate Olivia, I kind of understand why she was so cruel. I mean John Amos corrupted her with religion. Like it said at the end. She did want to hold the kids and comfort them. But the religion was like. NO bad Olivia. Malcolm was stupid >:C

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2003

    Read this book first

    I read the first two books in the series years ago. I found the books in my closet one day and flipped through them. Garden of shadows was listed with a brief description. I thought I would read it first to get a better understanding of the grandmother. I was glad I did! If you are going to read this series, read Garden of Shadows first!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2003

    Did We Need This Book To Finish The Story?

    I loved the first two books in this series. The third and fouth books were disappointing, yet still contributed to this good series. My English teacher told me that the last book would have an unbelievable surprise in it, that would change the whole story. I read 'Garden of Shadows' and i didn't get anything from the book that I didn't already figure out from the other four. Was it supposed to be that Corrine and Christopher were half brother & sister? I guess that just doesn't surprise me since the whole series is incestous anyway. I will say however, that despite the last three books being less than good, I loved this series and do recomend it to devoted readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Breathtaking Book!

    This book is a must read. I have to tell you that I enjoyed this book from page one. It is a page turner, suspenseful, and a psychological thriller. It actually makes you feel sorry for the grandmother. I know now why the grandmother acts like she does in Flowers in the Attic! All I have to say is, Olivia was stuck in a loveless marriage living in a spiritless monster of a home. The book only proves to the reader that there is more to life than just wealth, material goods, mansions, and servants. It also is thought provoking. Please read this book. I promise you will not be dissapointed. You will be sucked into the Foxworth family sharing their tragedies, triumphs, and their secrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Great read..

    I had read flowers in the attic ages ago, and after seeing the movie on tv recently, I wanted to read the series. i started with this book, and I feel like I can understand the whole story now..this is a great book..If you like VC andrews, this book is a must!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5