Customer Reviews for

The Gargoyle

Average Rating 4.5
( 357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

An Epic love story

A story that starts in the Fourteenth Century and ends in ours, a love story between the enigmatic sculptor Marienne Engles and the narrator of the book . After surviving a horrendous car accident in which leaves him badly burned and injured beyond belief our...
A story that starts in the Fourteenth Century and ends in ours, a love story between the enigmatic sculptor Marienne Engles and the narrator of the book . After surviving a horrendous car accident in which leaves him badly burned and injured beyond belief our narrator meets our heroine Marrianne Engles a world renowned sculptor who begins telling him stories about her life and how they first met. She then beguiles him with other love stories over the centuries. As he recovers we meet other people who influence the characters and add to the story. This is a definite must read.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't even make myself finish it

I tried to read it and it started out pretty good and then I could not get into the relationship. The converations between the two "in love" became annoying and I gave up on it. The stories she told ... Ughhh I could care less.

posted by 1273948 on September 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    An Epic love story

    A story that starts in the Fourteenth Century and ends in ours, a love story between the enigmatic sculptor Marienne Engles and the narrator of the book . After surviving a horrendous car accident in which leaves him badly burned and injured beyond belief our narrator meets our heroine Marrianne Engles a world renowned sculptor who begins telling him stories about her life and how they first met. She then beguiles him with other love stories over the centuries. As he recovers we meet other people who influence the characters and add to the story. This is a definite must read.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    Unique and Wonderful!

    Such a unique and well written story! One I won't soon forget. I agree with other reviewers that it is hard to pick up another book right away after finishing the Gargoyle. It is a book in which the characters are so well developed you can't stop thinking about what they are doing now. That to me is great writing, to transform words on paper to feeling like you have a relationship with these people. Such a complex novel that was well thought out and thoroughly researched. When I purchased the book, I was a little worried that I wouldn't be able to remain interested in it, being that it does switch back and forth between present and past. But that was not an issue AT ALL, it flowed perfectly. I enjoyed it so much that I wish it was a series. So great job Mr. Davidson, I anxiously await your next book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    One of the most intriguing books I've ever read! Not knowing what to expect I was thrilled to be so emotionally moved by laughter, tears and reverence for an unending unexplainable and eternal love.

    If I had only one word to describe this book it would have to be intriguing. If I had only one category it would have to be a love story; however, it is so so much more than just any love story. It transcends centuries, cultures, and lifestyles. It made me believe in the everlastingness of the soul, and the love you have is taken with you throughout eternity. The story is quirky, at times smutty, a little bit sci-fi, containing some aspects of action-adventure, yet achingly human.
    A vain porn star is burnt in a fire caused by his own actions. Looks and daily functions gone, pain his company and addiction to pain-killers present, he is nursed back to health by a woman of questionable sanity. As she nurses him to health, he learns of her past encounters with life which span centuries. She convinces him that their love has been since before his present life, and as he increases she decreases.
    I can't recommend this book to children or teenagers due to language and content; however, those aspects should not influence an open minded person from enjoying one of the better books written in the last 20 years.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    a compelling tale

    This story transcends generations and time. I listened to it on tape and then read it. Wasted lots of gas driving around to hear the end of the story. The descriptions of the accident at the beginning make you feel as though you have gone through it with the main character. It begs to be read again. The history is accurate, the language is beautiful and the writing is elegant. a must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No Words...

    A beautiful and sensual story. A must read, so I will not give away any of the story (read the editor notes for a synopsis). I recommend this to anyone; you will not be able to put it down. Usually after finishing a book I can move on the next one within a couple of days, but this one moved me so much and stuck with me, I couldn't pick up another book for a couple of weeks! My mind still wanders to the story and the characters on occasion. Simply amazing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Abhorrant and Exquisite

    Really you gotta get through the first few chapters then you are really in for a beautiful sensual story of love and redemption. The first few chapters really paint how utterly abhorrant the main character is, which delves and explains his own self hatred. Allusions to Dante's Inferno where the hell is within the madness of our own minds and self destruction. Supernatural elements has you wondering what is reality or a twisting of the mind. Very lovely story with grief, excruciating pain, and exquisite blissful love.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    Very Special

    This is an amazing book, it is one of the very best book i have every read. Thank you Andrew Davidson!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    outstanding first novel!

    I'm a lover of fiction/romance/history and this satisfied all my appetites! The characters were unforgetable and mesmerizing, and the ending will stay with you for a long time. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Very cool

    when i first picked up this book i was iffy. i started reading the beginning and i still hadn't decided whether i liked it or not. Once you get about 50 pages in it hooks you. Even when you read it a second time you pick up on so many things that you didn't catch the first time. i was so enthralled by this book that i failed to notice until the very end that the author never gives the main character a name. VERY well written and it is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    Couldn't even make myself finish it

    I tried to read it and it started out pretty good and then I could not get into the relationship. The converations between the two "in love" became annoying and I gave up on it. The stories she told ... Ughhh I could care less.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    A surprise!

    I just bought this book because it was on sale at Barnes & Noble, the buy 2 paperbacks and get one free deal and it looked interesting. Little did I know the story that I picked up would be so riveting or so powerful and moving. An amazing story with a bittersweet ending that you wish didn't end and then it did. A definite keeper among my hundreds of favorites among my library of favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Book!

    The Gargoyle is the thought provoking story of a man on so many journeys. The book is so well-written and so deftly woven together. It isn't a story I will ever forget. Only a few times in my life have I read something so powerful. It's a must read and then a re-read. Fantastic author on the rise!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    I rarely rate books, however this one was pretty incredible. This book is so incredible that it will keep you up at night just thinking about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    I got this book without giving it much thought, I just wanted something for the road and I was pleasantly surprised. If you like dark stories and graphic descriptions that will make you feel the character's suffering, this is your book. It was different, refreshing and well written. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Exquisite!

    I bought it based on the cover, summary, and reviews and it did not disappoint! As a lover of thick books, I must say this is the best I've read in a very long time. This is the kind of book that can only come as a labor of intense research and academia, it will have you reaching for a dictionary every few pages. The wordplay and sentence structures themselves are reason enough to buy it! It's a triumph of the English language. As far as the plot, it's quite intricate and undoubtedly beautiful as you witness the nameless main character develop and transform before your very eyes. No praise is high enough! Many books pale in comparison.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Unique, fascinating novel

    The characters are interesting and believable. The author skillfully wove the story through time. The eras and settings of the story varied clearly and cleverly. I could not put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    I picked up this book because it sounded interesting. It was fabulous! I was sucked in from page one. It is a book that not only has romance and humor, but it gives an insight into life and love. I have quotes from this book underlined and all of my friends have loved it too. If your looking for a cute romantic novel that has meaning-buy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a love story unlike any other

    This brilliant love story unfolds through the telling of a series of timeless love stories. As someone who really only dabbles in the fantastic, I loved the framework Davidson created -- it made me willing to suspend my disbelief so I could savor each tale at it urged the main romance forward. Furthermore, the allusions to Dante truly make this highly enjoyable read and intelligent piece of fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not your normal romance novel....

    A dark yet thoughtful look at ever enduring love. This book took hold of my imagination and took me on a rollercoaster ride of emotions. From loathing to sympathy to admiration. A pure escape I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a not so normal romance..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    This is one you will long remember!

    I've never read anything quite like this. If you can make it through the first fifty pages or so of addiction and depression, you will not want to put it down and will want more when it's finished... Write on!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 358 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18