Customer Reviews for

The Gargoyle

Average Rating 4.5
( 357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(225)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

An Epic love story

A story that starts in the Fourteenth Century and ends in ours, a love story between the enigmatic sculptor Marienne Engles and the narrator of the book . After surviving a horrendous car accident in which leaves him badly burned and injured beyond belief our...
A story that starts in the Fourteenth Century and ends in ours, a love story between the enigmatic sculptor Marienne Engles and the narrator of the book . After surviving a horrendous car accident in which leaves him badly burned and injured beyond belief our narrator meets our heroine Marrianne Engles a world renowned sculptor who begins telling him stories about her life and how they first met. She then beguiles him with other love stories over the centuries. As he recovers we meet other people who influence the characters and add to the story. This is a definite must read.

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't even make myself finish it

I tried to read it and it started out pretty good and then I could not get into the relationship. The converations between the two "in love" became annoying and I gave up on it. The stories she told ... Ughhh I could care less.

posted by 1273948 on September 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 357 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST BOOK EVER

    This book is my favorite of all time. It is a timeless story you can talk about with your friends and family. It's touching, romantic, funny, but most of all it defines the true definition of LOVE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    Bold, innovative, and totally interesting!

    I loved the combination of current time vs historic time, and the
    variety of concepts involved. Fascinating story, that is never
    dull and so unusual that I have bought it for my sister to read, and
    everyone in my book discussion group is passing it around to read.
    Refreshing to see someone with new ideas and stories to tell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    A Fascinating Read

    I was recommended this book by a friend. She knows that i don't like fantasy books and still said i should read it. At first i was a little worried, but soon realized i had nothing to worry about. Maybe it was the romantic in me that took over, but i absolutely loved the book. The modern characters are able to live previous lives that even the most unimaginative of us wish they could have lived. This is a book i would say anybody would enjoy reading, from those who like Lord of the Rings, to those who stick with classic literature (myself), or even those who only read books from John Grisham (previously myself).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    The Gargoyle, Sad But Great

    Though it took a while to read, Gargoyle is by far my favorite novel. Andrew Davidson's writing style is the greatest of any modern author, by far before the J.K Rowling. Marianne Engel is my favorite character and I can relate to both her and the main character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    highly recommended.

    I couldn't put it down. I can't really pinpoint what it is, but there's something about this book that just draws you in. It might be the characters, the stories, the overall atmosphere... I don't know. Not yet. After another read-through, I might be able to tell.<BR/><BR/>If you love fiction that goes against the grain, a good romance, plenty of the supernatural... pick this up. And even if you don't? Pick it up anyway. It will change your mind indefinitely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down...

    I am a huge reader, like most of you must be, and this book was very very good.. I couldn't put the book down! I shouldn't have brought it to the house of the one year old I was babysitting... It is a very original book- and the way it was written was very impressive. I will definitely read this book more than once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Haunting,Historical,Spiritual

    Upon completion of this novel..less than 5 minutes ago...I was compelled to write a review! I am breathless from the ending!! I loved this book, but was unsure what direction it was headed when I first began reading it. The years of research paid off Mr.Davidson...Please do not wait so long to write another novel!!Marianne Engel was my favorite character...tragic,spiritual,artistic and what an impact on so many lives!Depiction of a burn victim and burn unit hospitalization and physical therapy were of particular interest to me having been a PT on a burn unit. This book is a wonderful thought provoking and soul searching piece of work!! Thank you for writing this novel!!I LOVED it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART!!

    I loved this book. One of the best I've ever read. The details are very graphic and the stories Marianne tells are tragic, eerie and wonderful! I'm going to buy this book when it comes out in paperback and keep it forever to read and read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    One of the most interesting books I've ever read!

    As I began reading this book, I was open-minded and prepared to like it. After the first few chapters which are almost too horrific to read, I was spellbound. The characters are so real, I had to remind myself that they are part of a work of fiction. The narrator's injuries reminded me of the injuries sustained by 'The English Patient', but the author takes the reader inside his mind as his body endures the horror of the burns and treatments. I was intrigued by the author's decision to withold the narrators name and the use of Marianne Engle's full name at every mention of her. By the last few chapters I found myself wishing it would never end. I would gladly wait another seven years for the next book by this author. Sequel??? Please????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Do you know the difference between a gargoyle and a grotesque?

    After reading this book you will! I just finished the Gargoyle two days ago and I can't stop thinking about it! The disadvantage to reading so many books is that it is becoming more and more difficult to be surprised by what I read. This book was unusual, unexpected, informing -- everything from the author's detailed descriptions of a burn patient's recovery to the inside glimpse of monastic life in the 1300s and a journey through Dante's Inferno. Andrew Davidson's first novel includes interesting history, timeless love stories, a riveting main story and a an intriguing character that will steal your heart. You will not want this book to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    best book I have ever read

    I have never read a book as amazing as this one. I find myself at a loss of words, thats how much I loved it. A love that can last the test of time, the beautiful stories, history, and a trip to hell. I was very sad when I realized that I had finished the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    A great love story!

    I loved this book! I am hesitant on buying new books that are not recommended by friends. I am always worried I will not like them. This book was so good. I love all the stories within this story. They all come together in the end beautifully. He has such beautiful quotes throughout this book, I just had to write them down and mark the pages. If anyone loves a good love story this is it. I can't believe it took Andrew Davidson seven years to come up with such a great story. I will be recommended this book to all of my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    A review

    This story had me hooked from page one. Once you start reading this story it is really hard to put it down. By far one the best books I have ever read in my life this story makes you believe in something that seems to have been lost in our world...unconditional love. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Definately worth reading

    Not being much of a reader, the story line caught my attention and I gave the book a try...and didn't want to finish it. There were moments when I laughed, and moments when I cried. Definately worth reading - and then reading again. These types of stories will definately keep me reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Somehing different-Something great

    The porno actor with the scar on his heart is driving on a curving mountainous road when he loses control and crashes probably because of his coke drenched brain. He suffers third degree burns that are so painful he decides that the recovery is not worth it as he believes even coke will fail him especially since he accidentally poured bourbon on his crotch just before the crash thus turning the alcohol into an accelerant that made his penis into a candle that the nurse has since disposed of as medical waste. As he plans his suicide once out of the hospital especially the burn ward, insane patient Marianne Engel visits him.------------- She claims to be seven centuries old and his lover hundreds of years ago in Germany. The burn victim assumes the woman is a nut, but as she keeps seeing him, he wonders about himself as he is attracted to this kook he assumes is a mad woman suffering from schizophrenia. He learns she is a highly regarded sculptress whose gargoyles are in demand and soon has the man she claims was her lover wanting a life with her once he leaves the hospital.----------------- This is a strange second chance at love novel that hooks the audience once Marianne informs the unnamed narrator what she was to him in another time and place. Her details of a long time ago convince the former porn star she is genuine although he wonders if losing his penis cost him his head. Fans who prefer something different will relish Andrew Davidson¿s fascinating odd tale of love.------------ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    My Favorite Book

    I originally read this book about three years ago, a random paperback selection I purchased off of PaperbackSwap, and I recently just purchased the digital copy to reread. I don't normally reread books - this one I could read over and over again. During the past few years, I've randomly thought about different parts of this book. Something about it just stayed with me after reading it. I think anyone out there can relate to some part of it. I just love it. It's in my top books of all time. I can't even think of what I could write here that would really be worthy. It deserves much more than anything I could say. It's so beautifully crafted, well-written, and so very imaginative. I experienced every emotion reading it. It made me laugh and reduced me to tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Beautiful!

    Wonderfully woven into a love story so beautiful there is something for every type of lover to lose themselves in. Highly recommend. Makes one reconsider how to view "psychoses" and speak with "psychotics."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Pretty good book

    I think it's good. I don't have it on Nook, but I read it and it's quite enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    A beautiful story beautifully written. I finished this book want

    A beautiful story beautifully written. I finished this book wanting more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    The Gargoyle is a beautiful and haunting tale about one man┬┐s jo

    The Gargoyle is a beautiful and haunting tale about one man’s journey to love.

    After a car accident lands him in the burn ward, an unnamed man is ready to end it all. After all, his life wasn’t that great to begin with. Raised by lowlife parents and seemingly destined for the rougher side of life, he found his calling in the porn industry. Now that his most prized possession (he penis, in case you’re wondering) has been lost to fire, his “friends” have bailed. It all seems pointless until Marienne Engel walks into the ward and changes his life with her beautiful stories and slightly demented demeanor. Davidson’s years of research have certainly paid off. His prose and attention to detail are a marvel. His characters are some of the most complex I’ve ever read. The burned man begins as something despicable and completely unrelatable and morphs into a man with purpose. Marienne’s love stories and the parallels to Inferno only complement an already epic story. The shifting chapters flow seamlessly. This, my friends, is the product of an incredible writer with an incredible editor.

    This will appeal to those interested in literary fiction and complex tales. Davidson is an author to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 357 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18