BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Garner Files

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Jim's Voice Loud and Clear

Reading "The Garner Files" is exactly like sitting down with the subject and spending a wonderful day with him. Jim's voice comes through loud and clear, (On the golf course, sometimes louder) Having spent two years on the set of "The Rockford Files" I came to know Jim ...
Reading "The Garner Files" is exactly like sitting down with the subject and spending a wonderful day with him. Jim's voice comes through loud and clear, (On the golf course, sometimes louder) Having spent two years on the set of "The Rockford Files" I came to know Jim Garner. There is not an OUNCE of "Mr. Movie Star" in the man. "Family" is a word closely associated with Jim and that also comes through in this easy reading memoir penned with Jon Winokur (The Portable Curmudgeon) From his tough upbringing in Oklahoma, to his stint in the Korean War (where he won two purple hearts) to Broadway and onto to Hollywood, Jim is a "working actor" with a great respect for writers, his fellow actors (albeit one or two) and his crew. I can attest first hand, what you see is what you get in "The Garner Files." When you see Jim on the screen be it movies or television, you're seeing "Maverick" or "Charlie Madison" or "Rockford" you're really not seeing James Garner. Jim works extremely hard at making it LOOK like you THINK you're seeing James Garner. You can call me biased and that's fine...but I will tell you to your face that you will not meet a more decent person than Jim Garner. He hasn't changed in all the years I've known him and that is the beauty of the man. As I said before, "What you see is what you get." Robert Howe

posted by Rhowe360 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

The Baumgarner Files

Well, let me see if I can wrte a review on your book. Never done this before. Just want to say how much I have always love you in all your movies. One of my top ten actors of all time. Fun & so entertaining, a natural. All your favorites seem to be my favorites. Love he...
Well, let me see if I can wrte a review on your book. Never done this before. Just want to say how much I have always love you in all your movies. One of my top ten actors of all time. Fun & so entertaining, a natural. All your favorites seem to be my favorites. Love hearing your life story about your family and how you got started. I could identify with you since I was a poor Louisiana girl and went thru some of the abuses that you went thru. Loved your golf stories since I am a golfer and once saw you at The woodlands or Kingwood cc . Wow! Handsome guy. You were having problems with your knees. The problem is that you decided to talk your politics in chapter five......i dont think anybody cares what you think politically in this book. Just wanted to be entertained. You should of left that out of your book even though you have the right to say what you want in another forum. Besides, you don' t seem to be able to step out of the box on issues other than your environment of Hollywood. I love that you are a real family man. Not like so many in LA. Love your loyalty an honesty to people you have learned to trust. I think you get that from your southern background. I am sure you know that a democrat is not the same as it was way back when!! Well, guess I have said way to much. You probably will not even read this. Next time write a book just about politics:)

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    The Baumgarner Files

    Well, let me see if I can wrte a review on your book. Never done this before. Just want to say how much I have always love you in all your movies. One of my top ten actors of all time. Fun & so entertaining, a natural. All your favorites seem to be my favorites. Love hearing your life story about your family and how you got started. I could identify with you since I was a poor Louisiana girl and went thru some of the abuses that you went thru. Loved your golf stories since I am a golfer and once saw you at The woodlands or Kingwood cc . Wow! Handsome guy. You were having problems with your knees. The problem is that you decided to talk your politics in chapter five......i dont think anybody cares what you think politically in this book. Just wanted to be entertained. You should of left that out of your book even though you have the right to say what you want in another forum. Besides, you don' t seem to be able to step out of the box on issues other than your environment of Hollywood. I love that you are a real family man. Not like so many in LA. Love your loyalty an honesty to people you have learned to trust. I think you get that from your southern background. I am sure you know that a democrat is not the same as it was way back when!! Well, guess I have said way to much. You probably will not even read this. Next time write a book just about politics:)

    10 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Jim's Voice Loud and Clear

    Reading "The Garner Files" is exactly like sitting down with the subject and spending a wonderful day with him. Jim's voice comes through loud and clear, (On the golf course, sometimes louder) Having spent two years on the set of "The Rockford Files" I came to know Jim Garner. There is not an OUNCE of "Mr. Movie Star" in the man. "Family" is a word closely associated with Jim and that also comes through in this easy reading memoir penned with Jon Winokur (The Portable Curmudgeon) From his tough upbringing in Oklahoma, to his stint in the Korean War (where he won two purple hearts) to Broadway and onto to Hollywood, Jim is a "working actor" with a great respect for writers, his fellow actors (albeit one or two) and his crew. I can attest first hand, what you see is what you get in "The Garner Files." When you see Jim on the screen be it movies or television, you're seeing "Maverick" or "Charlie Madison" or "Rockford" you're really not seeing James Garner. Jim works extremely hard at making it LOOK like you THINK you're seeing James Garner. You can call me biased and that's fine...but I will tell you to your face that you will not meet a more decent person than Jim Garner. He hasn't changed in all the years I've known him and that is the beauty of the man. As I said before, "What you see is what you get." Robert Howe

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    A must for James Garner fans

    You know the acid test on autobiographies. If you like the subject, you will probably like the book. I¿m a James Garner fan. That one gets the sense of Garner¿s voice in this well written, well organized book is a big plus. He just tells it like it is without apology or sugar coating, which is exactly the way I picture him being in his personal life. I¿m an even bigger James Garner fan now. It¿s a good read. If you like Garner, you¿ll learn a lot about him and love this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I admit to being a Garner fan since Maverick, but I think I would have enjoyed this book anyway. It really is like sitting down and having a nice conversation with a person who is friendly and down to earth.

    Some have objected to his mentioning his political views. Huh? This IS an autobiography after all! I don't think he belabored the issue, but it certainly is a legitimate subject in an account of one's life. Strangely, the only ones I've seen complaining are those who disagree with him. Come on, people. Everyone isn't going to agree with you on anything. Everyone has a right to their opinion. It's interesting to note that Garner's life-long best friend, Bill Saxon, who is mentioned a lot in this book, is a Republican.

    On the issue of smoking pot because it helps his arthritis pain, it is LEGAL in California please remember. If it would help my own arthritis, I'd try it too. Probably safer than the prescription pain pills I take now. ;)

    Seriously, read the book. It's funny, poignant and paints a real picture of a man I've admired for 55 years. I admire him even more now.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Enjoyable reading

    My husband and I have enjoyed this book. We thought we would never see Mr. Garner's biography. Both of us enjoyed watching Maverick and Rockford files -- originally and in reruns. We loved Mr. Garner's movies also. Note to the Poor Louisiana girl: when you read a biography you learn about another person. You are free to write your own biography and express your own view of the world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Check this out

    Learned so much

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    This book was enjoyable, though I agree with some of the other r

    This book was enjoyable, though I agree with some of the other reviewers that some of us are not interested in his political views. I take offense to his attacks on Ronald Reagan saying that he was basically an idiot and had no business running the guild let alone the country. I also don't think golf merited an entire chapter on its own, though maybe he needed a little filler.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Don't wast your time

    This book has such a liberal slant that it gets nauseating tying to continue reading it. I get tired of Hollywood actors spewing their liberal views and anyone who disagrees is labeled as a right wing nut job. If I wanted to get a liberal brainwashing, I would watch network news. I deleted the book from my library.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    James Garner has been my favorite actor for as long as I can rem

    James Garner has been my favorite actor for as long as I can remember. My favorite TV series was The Rockford Files and my personal favorites among his movies are Murphy's Romance, (I could watch that one 50 times - smile). The Notebook and The Ultimate Gift. For those who made comments about leaving out the section about Politics, etc. - when you write your autobiography - you should be able to say whatever you want to in it and personally - I happen to "agree" with him so I enjoyed that chapter. I enjoyed "every" chapter! I can so relate to his stage fright and not wanting to speak in front of a live audience. I was a singer for many years and started out performing live and had some record releases, but I was such a nervous wreck before each live performance, it just wasn't worth it to me. I ended up having my own little recording studio in Florida where I did songwriter demos for songwriters around the country on a mail order basis. Like Jim being comfortable with the camera in a movie studio, I was also comfortable with a microphone in a recording studio - but just "hated" being out in front of a live audience, so I can really relate to the way he feels about a lot of things. I'm SO happy he did this book. I enjoyed every page of it!!! Thank you, Jim, for sharing a part of your life with us and if you write any other books, I'll be first in line to buy one! ......also, Happy birthday a few days late...my granddaughter was also born on April 7th and on April 7th of every year, I think of "both" of you. I've just never known where to mail your birthday card! (smile)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Very readable

    Great view of what it was like to be an entertainer. Loved stories about great escape, maverick and Rockford. Politics-not my favorite. Also- I would have preferred if the chapter on drugs was left out. I do believe marijuana is still illegal and admitting that not only have you done this for 50 years-buhat that you continue to do it is inappropriate. That being said -I really enjoyed the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Fan

    I have only read the sample. Will buy complete book this week. It is a great read can't wait to read the whole book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Still love James Garner but...

    I still love James Garner and ROCKFORD but this book tells you nothing you don't already know : Jim was a nice guy and pretty much like his characters. Reads like a money grab which isn't in character. Not everyone needs to write an biography. For James Garner, maybe everything that needed to be said was... on the movie and t.v. screens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Great man and actor!

    As a child growing up watching The Rockford Files...I really enjoyed this book. His deep,sexy voice and mannerisms came through the words of the book just right. Thank you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Goto

    Lion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    Highly Recommended - read this book!

    If you liked James Garner on the screen I think you'll enjoy this book. it's to the point and well written. If you're interested in Acting, Golf, Movie Production, Grand Prix, Even A little Politics, Hollywood, Actors or the extraordinary story of the great mans career courage and truth. This is the book to read. Im an admirer so I'll be slightly biased but I think the book has great value as inspiration to anyone on their journey through life. Jim wished to be remembered with a smile. I'm smiling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Interesting Read

    He was a much more private man than I would have imagined. I would have enjoyed his exploits on the sets of his movies more and the people he can into contact but that was somewhat covered at the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    I began reading Mr. Garner's memoir a week before he died and I

    I began reading Mr. Garner's memoir a week before he died and I could not have been happier to learn of his politics. He held nothing back. An inspiration for those willing to accept the challenge of working together to solve problems and a Rockford punch-in-the-mouth to the Republicans who, no doubt began reading the book to confirm that James Garner was the good-guy they thought he was, only to learn that he is THE ENEMY!  Scroll through the comments here and you'll quickly see what I mean. Thank you, James Garner, for a life well lived. You put your money where your mouth is for hating and standing up to bullies and for  acting to help create a more equal USA. "With liberty and justice for ALL!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Ogt i

    Tjfguwesmfffhglbjeme

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Excellent and Entertaining

    Reading this book is like sitting down with the author. The same sardonic clear and sincere voice. He tells his story, giving insights about the time and inside workings of the entertainment industry in a beatifully honest style. I even heard his well known voice tell the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    A FAV.IN OUR HEARTS

    My husband and I were just talking about MR.GARNER not even a week prior to his passing while watching a movie that the actress that played his young wife in NOTE BOOK was on,just stateing that that had to be one of our favorite all time movies and how sweet and sincere etc.he is.So ironic when we heard of his passing.Just one more thing-I had no idea of the abuse he endored and his battle with depression until now.So sad for such an amazing dear man.May you rest in peace and be with the Lord in his ever loving care.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3