Customer Reviews for

The Gate

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    I'm attempting to finish reading this book. I, myself, had been

    I'm attempting to finish reading this book. I, myself, had been through the situation myself. Unfortunately, I have a hard time keeping myself consentrating on this book. I really don't know what it is. It's just difficult for me grasp what is being written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Hauntingly raw

    Watch "The Killing Fields" right before reading this, as I did, and all eerily comes to life. Even the French Embassy's gate in the film matches the imaged evoked by Bizot early in his book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    A pure human tragedy

    I thought I could finish the book within a few days (at most). It took me longer to finish it for I cannot help but feeling sad as I turn the page. Bizot took me back to the time that I dreaded the most and yet never want to forget. Each page of the book brought back memories filled with angers and sadness. The book should serve as a reminder to all that life is both beautiful and ugly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Only Bizot can tell this story.

    'The Gate' is simply stunning. Bizot's experience inside the infamous M13 prisoner camp commanded by 'Douch' in 1971 is a story no other Westerner can tell. The scenes surrounding the fall of Phnom Penh and the evacuation of foreigners from the French embassy are heart breaking. The description of the handover of key members of the ruling elite to the Khmer Rouge outside the embassy will haunt all readers. Bizot's year 2000 trip back to the site of his capture and imprisonment is full of shocking surprises. See the upcoming book 'Terror from the Southwest Zone' published by the Documentation Center of Cambodia (dccam.org) for a detailed account of the tortures inflicted by Douch and his staff on the prisoners at M13.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    A must read before you go to Cambodia

    If you are able to filter through and disregard the obvious anti-American sentiments of Bizot, this book enables the reader a unique perspective when visiting Cambodia. I have to add, having just been to Cambodia, Bizot would have been surprised to hear the repeated pleas, by the Cambodian business community, to this 'American-Imperialist,' to please come back to and re-invest in, modern day Cambodia's infrastructure. Cambodia is a fascinating place and The Gate is a must read should you plan to visit there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    A journey into the heart of darkness

    Extraordinary account of a chapter in the Cambodian holocaust as witnessed and narated by a peace and truth seeking Frenchman caught up in the storm. I was impressed by Bizot's writing style as well as intrigued by his relationship with his captor. It is astonishing that Khmer Rouge's most prolific torturer, Douche, turned out to be quite compassionate with Bizot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    the ultimate challenge of a soul

    First I hope that every reader tries to get in Bizot's 'shoes' while reading this book... Yes, this is yet another book attempting to describe how far and low some human beings are ready to go in the name of their 'convictions' to hurt other human beings... This is also the gut wrenching story of a man having to make the ultimate decisions: depending on what you say or do these people might survive but those will certainly die and having to live with the eyes of those who were taken away burnt in your soul for the rest of your life. This is also a book of great poetry. Bizot is a reluctant 'hero' it took him some 20 years to come to term and finally write this book under pressure from friends and loved ones...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1