Customer Reviews for

The Gate House (John Sutter Series #2)

Average Rating 3
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

I loved reading The Gold Coast and couldn't wait to read The Gate House. I was counting the days until the book came out. John Sutter is by far the most interesting and clever of all DeMille's characters. His quick witted inner commentary on situations is too good to be...
I loved reading The Gold Coast and couldn't wait to read The Gate House. I was counting the days until the book came out. John Sutter is by far the most interesting and clever of all DeMille's characters. His quick witted inner commentary on situations is too good to be true. I find myself laughing out loud while reading some of the smartest and funniest lines I've ever read. I loved everything about the book and tried to slow down my pace because I didn't want it to end. I sincerely hope there will be more sequels because I literally can't get enough of this character, his family members and the Gold Coast area. If Nelson DeMille happens to read this, a big thank you from a long time fan...and we're hoping for more Sutter stories in the future.

posted by AnxietyDoc on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

disappointment from america's best fiction writer

Will the real Nelson Demille please get back to work. Six hundred and fifty pages of wise cracks about how much he distains his in-laws is not much to sink your teeth into. Having read all his books, some twice, he is the best fiction writer on the planet. Not this tim...
Will the real Nelson Demille please get back to work. Six hundred and fifty pages of wise cracks about how much he distains his in-laws is not much to sink your teeth into. Having read all his books, some twice, he is the best fiction writer on the planet. Not this time. Lets hope this little throw away is just a filler while another masterpiece is in the works. If your new to Demille, read: By the Rivers of Babylon, Cathedral, The Lions Game or the dated but terrific: Charm School. The Gate House is a fun read for the first couple of hundred pages. but tedium sets in when another two hundred go by without a plot twist, let alone, a plot. He is laugh out loud funny when it comes to his self-effacing humor and political incorrectness. He has no peer when it comes to creating interesting characters, smart woman, plots, twists and intrigue. The Gate House is sorely lacking all of the above. "Come back Shane...Come back."
T.Harrison

posted by PILGRIMS8 on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 260 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    disappointment from america's best fiction writer

    Will the real Nelson Demille please get back to work. Six hundred and fifty pages of wise cracks about how much he distains his in-laws is not much to sink your teeth into. Having read all his books, some twice, he is the best fiction writer on the planet. Not this time. Lets hope this little throw away is just a filler while another masterpiece is in the works. If your new to Demille, read: By the Rivers of Babylon, Cathedral, The Lions Game or the dated but terrific: Charm School. The Gate House is a fun read for the first couple of hundred pages. but tedium sets in when another two hundred go by without a plot twist, let alone, a plot. He is laugh out loud funny when it comes to his self-effacing humor and political incorrectness. He has no peer when it comes to creating interesting characters, smart woman, plots, twists and intrigue. The Gate House is sorely lacking all of the above. "Come back Shane...Come back." <BR/>T.Harrison

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    Not His Best Work

    To say this book was disappointing is an understatement, particularly from an author as good as Nelson DeMille. It rambles on with no action until the end, held together with clever, smart-ass remarks from the main character and sex, I mean sex sells right? After 600+ pages of clever wise-cracks, even the best ones wear thin and the sex is a bit over-the-top from a couple who must be approaching fifty and behave like a couple of horny college students.<BR/><BR/> The book drags, I mean really drags. I like some detail in a book, but a reasonable editing job could have cut this down to a book with 75% less pages to contain its minimal plot. Again, disappointing is the only word that comes to mind after reading this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    I loved reading The Gold Coast and couldn't wait to read The Gate House. I was counting the days until the book came out. John Sutter is by far the most interesting and clever of all DeMille's characters. His quick witted inner commentary on situations is too good to be true. I find myself laughing out loud while reading some of the smartest and funniest lines I've ever read. I loved everything about the book and tried to slow down my pace because I didn't want it to end. I sincerely hope there will be more sequels because I literally can't get enough of this character, his family members and the Gold Coast area. If Nelson DeMille happens to read this, a big thank you from a long time fan...and we're hoping for more Sutter stories in the future.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED

    I like another reviewer have read all of Nelson's books. It was during the reading of UP COUNTRY that I realized that this sensational book was dedicated to a son of patients who were in my practice for many years. That person was Cal Kleinman. That led me to contact DeMille by e-mail and we met in person at a vinyard on the North Fork of Long Island. We had established that we were both in Vietnam at the same time, he with the 11th Armored Cav and me, a doc, with the 25th Infantry Division at Cu Chi. <BR/> In my retirement I began reading novels and was so impressed with GOLD COAST that I was forced to reread sections and discuss them with my wife...and I am no book club type but the situations were believable and hit close to home on every level. <BR/> Thankfully, THE GATE HOUSE lived up to every expectation. One must remember that I loved "The General's Daughter" and "Nightfall". "The Cathedral" was brilliant..."The Rivers of Babylon" good. Demille has written 14 novels if you include Mayday which he co-authored. Plum Island, Charm School, Word Of Honor and Spencerville were all superb novels, however, for every male who has experienced mid life crisis, the "Gold Coast" and "The Gate House" should be required reading. It's the "Godfather" through the eyes of Dr. Phil. <BR/> I suggest reading "Gold Coast" first as one could see "The Godfather 2" without seeing "The Godfather 1" but its better if you do. Here again, 2 does not diminish 1 it only enhanced it. <BR/> I live on the Gold Coast and for years had my hair cut in the town of Oyster Bay, so for me the characters and the surroundings of THE GATE HOUSE are home. Additionally, his dialogue and sense of humor are second to none. It's been a pleasure in my life to recommend this writer of such enormous talent enhanced only by his monumental wit. <BR/> If someone reads these two books and is disappointed, contact me for a full refund....ONLY KIDDING. But trust me...you won't be disappointed!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    DeMille Knows Fiction

    THE GATE HOUSE<BR/>Nelson DeMille<BR/>Grand Central Publishing<BR/>Hachette Book Group<BR/>ISBN: 978-0-446-53342-3<BR/>$27.99<BR/>674 pages<BR/>Reviewer: Annie Slessman<BR/><BR/><BR/>Nelson DeMille has written fifteen works of fiction and The Gate House, his latest work could prove to be one of his best. DeMille knows how to weave a tight story of intrigue, humor and characterizations that are so believable they seem familiar to its readers.<BR/><BR/>John Sutter, the main character of The Gate House lives the life of the Gold Coast crowd while married to his aristocratic wife, Susan Stanhope. When Susan kills Frank Bellarosa, their neighbor and Susan¿s lover, the marriage ends. John divorces Susan and takes a three-year sojourn on his sailboat before moving to London.<BR/><BR/>He returns to New York when a Stanhope family servant, Ethel Allard, is placed under hospice care. As Allard¿s attorney, Sutter must put Allard¿s affairs in order and support her daughter, Elizabeth, as they await Ethel¿s pending death.<BR/><BR/>Staying at the former gatehouse of the Stanhope mansion, Sutter finds himself only yards from his former wife. Ultimately, they meet again and this is the point where the story really takes off.<BR/><BR/>Anthony Bellarosa, son of the deceased, Frank Bellarosa, has a vendetta he must enact and attempts to solicit Sutter in his plans. The relationship that develops between Sutter and the younger Bellarosa takes on a new dimension when Sutter refuses to go along with Bellarosa¿s plans and a reader is taken on a roller coaster ride of suspense.<BR/><BR/>When this work arrived at my door, its size seemed somewhat intimidating. However, let me assure readers, you will savor each page and want more when you finish the last page. DeMille gives his readers true value for their money. If you liked The Gold Coast, you¿ll love The Gate House.<BR/><BR/>Nelson DeMille attended Hofstra University, served in the Army. He earned the Air Medal, Bronze Star and the Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry. He has authored #1 New York Times bestsellers Night Fall and Plum Island and New York Times bestsellers Wild Fire, The Lion¿s Game, The Gold Coast and The General¿s Daughter.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Gate House Is "Fast Out Of The Gate," Then Coasts Until The Last Twenty-Five Pages!

    If The Gate House was a race horse, I'd say it came out fast from the gate, pretty much coasted for the large part of the race, then put on the speed in the last couple of lengths. For this reader, The Gate House "placed" in the race but was not the big "winner." I've been a big fan, but with diminishing intensity, of Nelson DeMille since his first book, By The Rivers Of Babylon. Demille's the Gold Coast, to which The Gate House is the sequel, is one of my favorite books of his; and so, when I recently received an ARC of The Gate House I put it at the very top of my to-be-read list. Overall, I enjoyed The Gate House but not as much as Gold Coast. I'd grade it a B-.The main reason being that with the exception of the last 25 pages of the 667 copy I read, little of any substance happens after the first 100 or so pages. In typical DeMille fashion, his character development is very strong -- particularly in regards to his main male character, John Sutter, whose sarcastic wit permeates throughout this book -- and his narrative ability is at the top of his game. However, after several hundred pages of appreciating these characteristics I was getting very impatient for some action and thrills to occur. I would have enjoyed The Gate House much more if it had 200-300 pages less fluff/filler. The Gate House, for me, is a classic example of the adage, "Less is more." Despite these limitations, if you're a fan of Gold Coast you're going to want to read The Gate House, which takes place ten years later when Sutter has come home to the Gold Coast of Long Island to attend the funeral of an old family servant. I doubt if you're going to dislike The Gate House. As a matter of fact, you'll probably think it is pretty good. The purpose of my review is to urge you to not -- as I did -- expect a book as good as the one on which it is based.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    It's All About the Characters...

    If 1 milion readers wrote reviews, everyone would have a different opinion of The Gate House. Mine just happens to be favorable.<BR/><BR/>I will admit this story may not achieve rave reviews from those readers seeking action and suspense from every page; but it will captivate the rest of us - those who may be looking for a brief, but amazingly thorough escape into the lives, places, and times of others.<BR/><BR/>I have read all of Nelson's works (under the DeMille name) and while the entire collection of stories have very good plots, excellent character development, and entertaining humor, The Gate House is really all about the two main characters. The plot is nil, but the subjects are so detailed and really enjoyable - it's like reading "Mista Sudda's" journal. I love John's thinking, his observations, his asides, his strength, and his intelligence. I can't wait to use some of his lines....<BR/><BR/>As some reviewers have noted, John and Susan may not be the nicest of people, yet one can't help but like them given all they have been through. John is insanely wise (take that however you want), and a hero as he selfishly tries to protect Susan and his children. The interaction between John and the people he does not like (read: William Stanhope) and those he bonds with, albeit briefly (Tom and Laurence) are laugh-out-loud moments.<BR/><BR/>Susan on the other hand is not as likable, but it's not really her fault as her upbringing at Stanhope Hall completely sheltered her (from blokes like us) and molded her into what she is. But I wonder how she became so..... naughty? <BR/><BR/>This was an extremely enjoyable read and it will be difficult to wait for an encore.<BR/><BR/>Other favorites are Plum Island, The Lion's Game, Up Country, and others.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    LOVED IT !

    I am a long time DeMille fan. I would read his grocery list if I could get my hands on it. Mr. DeMille has the gift of entertaining and I couldn't have enjoyed a book more. He has this "off base humor" that just makes me laugh out loud....I swear I love the guy. Wish he lived next door. Great book for me.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Gate House is a chilling page turner, kept me up all night long.

    Gate House is another in a long line of spectacular novels by Garden City resident, Nelson DeMille. It seems that he can't write a better one and then he does... Thank you Nelson! Katie

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    Great sequel

    I think you have to read Gold Coast before you can appreciate the sequel. It was kind of predictable but you were never really sure if the author was going to write what you expected. The author has a great sense of humor that he adds to his characters in the story. This is a story that has a great plot that picks up right where Gold Coast left off. I could almost see a third book sometime down the road. I would like to see him do another book with John Sutter as the main character. I love his attitude about things. Keep em coming Mr. DeMille. You have my undivided attention.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What an exceptionally well-written read . . . .

    Nelson DeMille is a masterful writer who always entertains his readers well. Not a word is wasted in his cleverly woven themes. I throughly enjoyed the character, John Sutter's ability to mindlessly adlib through any situation. I kept going back and forth in my mind as to how this story would end, and was a captive to this book from beginning to end. I always anxiously await the next Nelson DeMille novel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    A DeMille Classic

    The book was a little long in text, but that is DeMille's style. Most of the characters are very wealthy and seemed vapid. If having wealth makes you shallow, glad I'm poor. The book like the "Gold Coast" is a departure from DeMille's usual writing. I enjoyed the book very much but I still like his more dramatic writings. Read it you will enjoy it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    Loved it!

    I thought it was an excellent sequel. It held me hostage for 3 days. I was hiding in my car reading. It was like meeting up with old friends. Now it needs to be made into a movie. Julianne Moore, Jack Nicholson as Frank, Nic Cage as Tony, and maybe Richard Gere as John. Good job!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    Another great Nelson DeMille

    After a slow start, I almost gave up, I thought this was a great read. The wit that Mr. DeMille puts on his John characters (Sutter and Corey) makes this another great book. I hope his next book follows John Corey and I will wait with anticipation.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Characters Interrupted!

    Wow, what a disappointment.
    The Gatehouse was boring. It's characters were shallow & had a poor storyline.
    Many of DeMille's previous books were interesting & exciting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Gate House --- Just for the Money

    I was very disappointed with the Gate House. I am a big Nelson DeMille fan, but no more.
    This book was predictable, repetitious and actually boring. I couldn't wait to reach the end. I kept holding out hope that he would surprise me in the end. Didn't happen.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    Wish I could get a refund.

    Received my nook last week and this was my first download. Kept hoping it would get better. Didn't know if I was disappointed in the nook (since I wasn't holding an actual book) or the book itself. Just cannot seem to get into this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Absolutely Awful. A Waste of Time

    I have read all of Nelson DeMille's books and enjoyed them thoroughly. This one is 650 pages of boredom, concluded with 25 pages of plot. I could have read the first chapter and the last chapter and saved myself a lot of time. Don't waste your money. Read Cathedral and The Charm School if you are looking for the real Nelson DeMille.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    very poor

    I have read othe Demile books and found then quite enjoyable. This book however was a total waste of time. Very long with absolutly nothing happening until the last 20 pages. Very predicable conclusion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not much here

    I am a huge Demille fan. Read everything. But this book, I'm sorry misses on so many levels. The entire story is written around the impending funeral of a family servant. the Iranian neighbor, who maintains no connection to the family or any other character is continuously inserted. The character we want to hear and see more of (Frank Jr) is oddly absent from most of the story. 98% of the story is pithy dialog and quips from the main character whose biggest conflict seems to be whether to stay in the Gate House or at Susans. I'm sorry. Big disappointment

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 260 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13