Customer Reviews for

The Gate House (John Sutter Series #2)

Average Rating 3
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

I loved reading The Gold Coast and couldn't wait to read The Gate House. I was counting the days until the book came out. John Sutter is by far the most interesting and clever of all DeMille's characters. His quick witted inner commentary on situations is too good to be...
I loved reading The Gold Coast and couldn't wait to read The Gate House. I was counting the days until the book came out. John Sutter is by far the most interesting and clever of all DeMille's characters. His quick witted inner commentary on situations is too good to be true. I find myself laughing out loud while reading some of the smartest and funniest lines I've ever read. I loved everything about the book and tried to slow down my pace because I didn't want it to end. I sincerely hope there will be more sequels because I literally can't get enough of this character, his family members and the Gold Coast area. If Nelson DeMille happens to read this, a big thank you from a long time fan...and we're hoping for more Sutter stories in the future.

posted by AnxietyDoc on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

disappointment from america's best fiction writer

Will the real Nelson Demille please get back to work. Six hundred and fifty pages of wise cracks about how much he distains his in-laws is not much to sink your teeth into. Having read all his books, some twice, he is the best fiction writer on the planet. Not this tim...
Will the real Nelson Demille please get back to work. Six hundred and fifty pages of wise cracks about how much he distains his in-laws is not much to sink your teeth into. Having read all his books, some twice, he is the best fiction writer on the planet. Not this time. Lets hope this little throw away is just a filler while another masterpiece is in the works. If your new to Demille, read: By the Rivers of Babylon, Cathedral, The Lions Game or the dated but terrific: Charm School. The Gate House is a fun read for the first couple of hundred pages. but tedium sets in when another two hundred go by without a plot twist, let alone, a plot. He is laugh out loud funny when it comes to his self-effacing humor and political incorrectness. He has no peer when it comes to creating interesting characters, smart woman, plots, twists and intrigue. The Gate House is sorely lacking all of the above. "Come back Shane...Come back."
T.Harrison

posted by PILGRIMS8 on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    Not His Best Work

    To say this book was disappointing is an understatement, particularly from an author as good as Nelson DeMille. It rambles on with no action until the end, held together with clever, smart-ass remarks from the main character and sex, I mean sex sells right? After 600+ pages of clever wise-cracks, even the best ones wear thin and the sex is a bit over-the-top from a couple who must be approaching fifty and behave like a couple of horny college students.<BR/><BR/> The book drags, I mean really drags. I like some detail in a book, but a reasonable editing job could have cut this down to a book with 75% less pages to contain its minimal plot. Again, disappointing is the only word that comes to mind after reading this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Characters Interrupted!

    Wow, what a disappointment.
    The Gatehouse was boring. It's characters were shallow & had a poor storyline.
    Many of DeMille's previous books were interesting & exciting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    NOT his best!

    When I began reading DeMille, I did not believe he was a skilled writer. I did like the stories and continued to read, and he improved with great skill. The Gate House was as if he he had a manuscript he began, put back, re-worked, added-to, subtracted from, etc until he needed something for his publisher.<BR/>I know many writers have unfinished bits and pieces lying around to work further with, but this one needed edited better, and was chaotic if the reader had not read the past novel to which this referred.<BR/>I liked the characters, but I remembered them from the last novels. This time, they were not fleshed out enough for the "new" reader, especially considering that DeMille used nearly 700 pages for the novel. I read it all because I always read the entire book once I start, and that was the ONLY reason, this time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Just OK

    Gold Coast was a much better read. Gate House reads more like a romance novel than the sharp witted crime novel that was the Gold Coast. DeMille interjected way too much day to day drivel making it difficult to keep focused on the main plot. Would not recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    OK?

    I thoroughly enjoyed The Gold Coast and I was excited about this sequel. However, The Gate House re-hashed alot of the previous story (over and over) and was quite slow. John's humor was comical and fun (especially about father-in-law William) but the story dragged on and on. Definitely not a keeper or a second reading. An OK one-timer. --K--

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Suspension of disbelief impossible

    The basic plot line of this novel is simply impossible to swallow. And DeMille does very little to give it an reasonable substance. What you have is tons of cute dialog but not very much else. To call it thin is to understate.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    Not his best, not even good...

    I have always looked forward to Nelson DeMille's works, this book however has changed that. The plot is Sutter's avoid each other, Sutter's get back together, Sutter's have a drink, Sutter's have sex etc. It is only the last few pages of the book that there is a conclusion to the plot, weak as it is, and this is very contrived.<BR/><BR/>Feels like DeMille thought it's time to write another book, what can I write about. Would not recommend it and hope that he gets back to the DeMille that kept you riveted.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    Gold Coast Revisited

    "The Gate House" was very disappointing. This book could easily have "The Gold Coast" written on the cover, as it is a regurgitation of it. I mean, nothing happens in this book until the very end. Where John Sutter was fresh and funny in the first book, here he is just pathetic. I started skimming pages towards the end just to get it finished. Stick with "The Gold Coast" - a much better read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    A big disappointment for DeMille fans, like me.

    I found this book to be a waste of paper and my time. It's as if the author decided on the protagonists, the locale, and then forgot that a plot is required, too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    Not Quite what I was expecting

    Having just reread The Gold Coast I was quite anxious to read The Gate House. Unfortunately it was not that enjoyable. The first 50 or so pages got into the story, and only picked up at the last 75 pages. So much was retelling of what had happened 10 years prior. This was repeated many many times throughout the book, until it became quite tiresome, including John Sutter's on going battle with his inlaws.I have read all of Nelson DeMille's books, some more than once, so I feel I am justified in my criticism. I don't feel this was one of his better works. I liked Spencerville more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Not his best read

    I've read several Nelson Demille books but this one is like a slog to read. Pick one of the other John Sutter books which are fast paced and engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Endless!

    This book was WAY too long. Extremely repetitive, and while the author is funny, he repeated the same information over and over to get a little more mileage out of his clever interpretations of the situation. Exhausting read, with little payoff a the end except you finally get to put it down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    Turned into a romance novel

    This book started out good. I almost wonder if 1/3 of the way in a diffrent writer took over. It became childish and romantic with a lot of profanity inappropiately used.

    I have been a fan for years, but will no longer buy his books. What a letdown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a waste of my time and good paper

    the first 200 pages kinda recap the first book.....the next 700+ pages you keep waiting for something to happen, and it doesn't.

    I finished the book because I enjoyed the gold coast....but am sorry I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Boring rehash

    This was a waste and am sorry that I read the whole book.....it was mostly a rehash of the first in this series. So predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    Disappointed

    This was my first Nelson DeMille book and it left me quite disappointed. Perhaps I was expecting a lot based on other reviews but while I liked the characters I found the read to be quite slow. I really appreciated Mr. DeMille's humor and did find myself chuckling as John Sutter deals with the people in his life but I kept waiting for the big events to happen and unfortunately that was some 500+ pages later. I'm not totally turned off and will try some of his older books that those also disappointed in this book have recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Funny, but disappointing

    The book is quite long. The main character is excellent and I like DeMille's style of writing being inside the head of the lead character. In fact, the thoughts are really quite funny and enjoyable. Howver, for 550 pages, I couldn't figure out where the book was going and about that time, it appeared that DeMille was faced with the same thought since he tried to wrap everything up quite nicely in the last fifty pages. The last fifty pages are what caused me to rate this book lower than I would have normally. All of the other characters are interesting, but quite shallow. Then again, I think that is part of the message that DeMille is sending is that the society in which this is placed is quite shallow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the gate house

    Not up to his usual standard, slow read ,weak plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    Expecting something akin to Gold Coast, but . . .

    I love Demille and wait anxiously for anything he publishes, but the Gate House was a major disappointment. It had the potential to be everything and more the Gold Coast was (which I've read twice, and I never read a book twice), but it failed miserably. All of the characters were thoroughly unlikeable and shallow, even John, predictable and empty. They state over and over how they don't care about the money, but the money is ALL they care about and what their life decisions revolve around. If someone gives you a copy, read it, but do not buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    I thought it was just me and that I was missing something

    Just finished this book which took me MONTHS to read. It was so easy to put down that I did that quite often and then resumed the struggle believing that it must get better. Have enjoyed so many of DeMille's books in the past that I thought for sure it must be me. But after reading the reviews that fellow readers have posted I was gratified to learn that I wasn't the only one who thought this plot went nowhere, that the book was about 500 pages too long, and chapters just seemed to keep repeating and rehashing. What a disappointment. Much though I loved the wittiness of John's character, it was not enough to carry a novel that has no real story to tell.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3