Customer Reviews for

The Gatecrasher

Average Rating 3.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Chck Lit!

    If you love the Shopaholic series, you will love this book. "The Gatecrasher" keeps the reader hooked. It is a quick and easy read. I am a big fan of chick lit books. I often pick my books based on the cover art and this was a great pick. The author does a fabulous job in moving the story along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gatecrasher Leaves you Wanting to know More

    So I have read mostly all of Wickham/Kinsella's novels, and I thoroughly enjoy them. 'Gatecrasher' is a good novel, but unfortunately leaves you wanting to know more about the characters. What happened with Philipa's divorce? How was Zara's first meeting with her father she never knew? Did Fleur ever end up committing? Too much was left unsaid and I believe it would be wise for Wickham to tie up all the loose ends. Other then that, the characters were fun, and the plot was great. If your a fan of the author pick up this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    This book was fairly entertaining but was not my favorite work b

    This book was fairly entertaining but was not my favorite work by Wickham/Kinsella. I found the main character to be a bit thin and her motivations honestly annoyed me by the time I reached the end of the book. Also, the ending was not as satisfying as I had hoped, especially since I was looking for a lighter read. All in all, I wouldn't recommend not reading it, as I found it entertaining but reader beware that this is not the author's best effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Good read

    I would have preferred a different ending but it was a good book and I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Entertaining

    Good for losing yourself in the characters problems

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Fun "beach read" type book

    I loved the characters in this novel! They were interesting and complex and Wickham keeps the plot moving along nicely. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Eh

    I felt that it was unfinished. The main character was never confronted!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    NOT GOOD NOT GREAT

    IT WAS OKAY... glad it was only 5 bucks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    Loved It

    I could not wait to pick it up and read it. I then couldn't put it down. The main characters were great and very vibrant. I would recommend it to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    okay

    I liked the book, but like many others, felt too much information was left out to develope the characters well. If you don't want a heavy read, I would recommend it. Great for on the beach or when your not worried about interruptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Good but not great

    Just not one of those books that you have trouble putting down. It was good enough that I did at least finish it, but this one didn't leave me with the feeling that I needed to buy another one of Madeline's novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing read

    Not at all like her others. Have devoured numerous books by Madeleine & Sophie, but had to stop 1/2 way through with this one. Not recommended. Read her other books instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    okay

    Although Sophie Kinsella a.k.a.Madeleine Wickham is my favorite author, this was not her best book. It was good but not great like her Shopaholic books and Remember Me?.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    easy reading but disappointing

    This book had an interesting and somewhat intriguing start in the first few pages which made me to borrow from my mom's bookshelf. However, the more I read, the more disappointed I was and at the end, I found myself reading it just to finish the book, hoping it'd get better. It did have all the elements to make the story interesting but I feel that the write did a poor job of developing the characters (by not developing it at all) and there was no progress in the story line either. Everything was all laid out for you in the beginning and there was no new information or development of characters as pages turn. You don't have to use your brain too much which I guess sometimes is a good thing....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    Another great book by this author

    I have never had anything bad to say about this authors work. Her books are always fun, funny, and get you caught up in them. I will say that the end of the book is sort of abrupt, I was expecting more I guess. While the plot and characters are great I sort of felt that this book ended too soon, with hardly any explanation. <BR/><BR/>I still enjoyed reading it and would still highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    great read!

    while not as funny and witty as the shopoholic series, Wickham offers up a new take on the 21st century gold digger. the characters were great to connect with and the storyline (while at times a little predictable) was enthralling and kept me interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2008

    not so entertaining!!

    I would not recommend this book or any book from Madeleine Wickham....i love Sophie Kinsella...and even though it's supposed to be the same person, i don't see the likeness in the writing styles. Sophie is very funny and her book is very easy to read as well as entertaining. While Madeleine's book is very dull and boring. I gave Madeleine a try and I absolutely regretted it. I read both of her books 'Sleeping arrangement and gatecrasher'..not recommended!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    Unlikeable characters and predictability

    I am a great fan of Sophie Kinsella. However, I am so disappointed in this book. The main character is very difficult to like, and the other characters are dull. The story is cliche, and very predictable. A total disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    definitely not what was expected

    I picked this up when I discovered that the author writes as Sophie Kinsella. The Shopaholic series' humor will make you laugh out loud. I was disappointed with this book. Reviews I read mention how funny and cute this book was. I say it is nothing of the sort. While the story is mildly enjoyable, I doubt that I will read any of her other titles unless written under the name Kinsella.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Doesn't hold a candle to the Shopaholic!

    I read this book and it was a cute story but it lacked the humor that this author is definately capable of! This writer always comes up with the cutest ideas for a story! This story, however, was a little flat and very predictable by about halfway through the book. I did read it though, and I enjoy this author very much overall. This isn't her best work though. If you are a shopper read the Shopaholic Series Becky Bloomwood will have you rolling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6