Customer Reviews for

The Gatehouse Mystery

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    A favorite series

    I was stunned to read the poor editorial review this book was given. I wonder what sort of books, if any, the reviewer chose to read when young.
    As a child in the 1950's, Trixie and friends immediately became my friends. I found Nancy Drew and other series to be shallow and undeveloped. Nancy was rich. She didn't work. She had everything. Everyone she encountered fell at her feet, or you knew they were villains! Had they been written today, i would suspect them to be computer generated quickies. Someone could just fill in the blanks with new names and plots.
    In contrast, the Trixie Belden series has well developed characters and places that seem meaningful to me even now. I often went to look up New York and Westchester county. Yes, they were real places. Those museums really did exist. Myths discussed were real to the region.
    These characters went to school, had families that were integral to the plots, sometimes traveled to real places, were expected to work for what they had. They were not simply adored by everyone they came in contact with. I wish today's novels were written with as much attention to grammar, spelling, and vocabulary.
    A few years ago, i bought the first 34 Trixie Belden books on ebay. I quickly read them all, with pleasure. Now I am probably going to buy these for my nook.
    I am more selective now about what goes into my home library than i was as a child. Trixie sits just as comfortably on my shelves as do old favorites, such as a Tale of Two Cities, Jane Eyre, and my annotated Complete Sherlock Holmes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    ______

    These books have different and well devoloped characters with different backrounds. These books also make you want to read more and more. They are very good at describing the suspects and characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    A great book for readers of all ages!

    If you haven't read a Trixie Belden book, now is the time! Trixie and friends are great role-models for young girls and boys as they forge friendships and solve mysteries. Unlike some other children's series, this one places high value on hard work, helping others, and letting kids know that you don't have to be perfect. In this book, Trixie and her new best friend Honey (from books 1 and 2 in the series) find a diamond embedded in the floor of an old gatehouse. The girls and their siblings (Trixie's brothers Mart and Brian, along with Honey's adopted brother Jim) use their wits and some good detective work to solve the mystery of the lost diamond, while having fun at the same time. If you're looking for a book for an 8-14 year old girl (or boy, although girls usually tend to gravitate more to Trixie), this is a GREAT choice, probably the best. Trixie is a character for the ages--even now, she still reads as well as she did when she was first introduced in 1948. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Fun series, this one is a favorite

    My first Trixie Belden book as a young girl, given to me with other Trixies and Nancy Drews from my wonderful babysitter, Virginia, was this wonderful mystery where I could imagine myself in the story. Sometimes I would want to be Trixie, but at times Honey. Series is one of my favorites when a young girl. Trixie was more real, with chores, brothers, homework (which was sometimes a struggle), a guy she has a crush on who is very nice, a best friend, and people of different ages that are characters in the stories. She sometimes cannot do everything she wants due to family responsibilities. I would like to see the rest of the series online, as those of us who enjoyed these books may not have read the later ones, and yes, I would read them just for the nostalgic enjoyment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    when are you going to have Trixie Belden in the nook book I woul

    when are you going to have Trixie Belden in the nook book I would like to read all of them give it a 5 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER

    I HAVE READ THIS BOOK 26 TIMES I LOVE IT I HOPE RANDOM HOUSE WILL PUBULES THE REST OF THE SEIRES



    SLT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    The gatehouse mystery

    An awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Great series

    I loved this series as a kid & now my daughter loves reading it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant Series

    The Trixie Belden Series is one of the best available for young girls. Trixie and her friends are good-hearted kids that like real people, don't always do the right thing, sometimes throw tantrums, and occasionally get into trouble. But they try their best and learn important lessons. These colorful characters are pulled into fun adventures that leave the reader never wanting to put the books down. Lessons on treating snake bites and rescuing a drowning person, for example, are cleverly interwoven into the story line. Meanwhile, the language is so vibrant, you want to be invited for dinner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    Most won't agree

    Most won't agree with me that I am glad that the Trixie Belden series was discontinued because it gave my generation a chance to take a break from her since my mom's generation read them. Don't get me wrong, I love the books but it gave some time for her to get big again. When I found this book, my mom and I were looking for a different book and when I picked it up my mom went nuts and she bought the first four of them and she said she had read them when she was little. She used to spend all of her babysitting money on them. When i read them I loved them too and made her buy the rest of them which I finished last october and now I'm still holding out hope that Kathryn Kenny will make more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    Trixie ROCKS!!!!

    Trixie is a funny girl and is fun to read too!one time I got it from the library I couldn't keep it down this book is GREAT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    A Book Lover!!!! Best Book Ever

    This book is a great book for any age really!!! If u like adventures this is the book for u!!!! I highly reckimend it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1