Customer Reviews for

The Gatekeepers: Inside the Admissions Process of a Premier College

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I wouldn't recommend.

    This author is under the impression that all white students have advantages like personal tutors for SAT prep etc. He believes that minority students deserve extra "points" so to speak, in the admissions process because they are disadvantaged. I resent this line of thinking because my son is a white student who will be applying to college next year, and we most definitely can NOT afford a tutor, or any of the other advantages he refers to. Not all white students are rich, and conversely, not all minority students are poor. There is much too much stereotyping in this book. The author also focuses all of his "journeys" in the book on minority students ONLY.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    I couldn't find a lot of books about the admission process from

    I couldn't find a lot of books about the admission process from the perspective of the admissions officer that allowed me to empathize with them as well as other prospective college students. I found it grounding in that I don't feel that I will be completely destroyed or ecstatic when I hear back from the rest of my colleges. I'm pleased to know that I will just get in *somewhere* based on my own experiences and from what I read in this novel. Admissions officers have quite a difficult job and I highly respect them for it as I would not be able to do what they do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    A Great Read!

    The Gatekeepers is a great book for any parent or child who wants a taste of the college admissions process. Being a senior in high school, however, I found this book to be a difficult read- After hearing from my colleges already, I had little interest in the in- depth look Jacques Steinberg flooded his readers with. I would have definitely been more interested in this book if it provided perspective from multiple college admissions office, not just Wesleyan's. There are great ideas in this book, but I think it would have been a better read for someone who had not just finished applying to college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    It is a great book for high school seniors getting ready to fill out their college applications. Steinberg shares the secrets behind the walls of the admission offices and how each applicant is reviewed. It is a must read for parents and students alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    HIGHEST POSSIBLE RATING !

    This book is simply superb. Not only informative but so readable. I passed this around in the family and we all enjoyed it. He did a marvelous job in making the students come alive. You really care what happened to these kids. This will be very helpful to all families whose children are headed off to college. I highly recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    There are always two sides to a coin

    This book is great for incoming college freshmen and high school seniors who have to deal with college process. You see the other side of the admissions and the stress they have to deal with as well. It's not just hard for the students applying but for the people who have to deal with reading your applications and reviewing your test scores and evaluating your essays,etc. It's a tough decision for them to make as to who they should accept and reject. I thought this was a very insightful book for people having to go through the hassles of college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Most frightening book of my life

    I read this while I was going through the college admissions process and it scared me half to death. It's an excellent book, but not one I'd suggest reading during such a stressful time. I'd say that students should read this book in ninth grade to see what admissions officers are really looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    I'm a 29 year old college graduate and I still loved this book!

    This book was incredible! I picked it up at a bookstore on vacation because it looked interesting. Needless to say, I didn't do much sightseeing. It reads like a novel, and you just can't wait to find out what happens to the high school students featured in it. Strongly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    Nothing else like it!

    Everything an applicant/parent/guidance counselor needs to know about the college admissions process of a private institution. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2004

    A 'must-read' for prospective college students everywhere.

    I stumbled across this book while looking for college admission books for my brilliant baby sister. J. Steinberg depicts the admission process in a new light as admissions officers, often portrayed as cold and calculating, are depicted as caring humans who genuinely want the best for their applicants. This book gives first hand accounts of students, parents, guidance counselors, and admissions officers throughout all phases of the college selection process. There are definite 'admission tips' to be gained from this book, although they are interwoven throughout the book as themes. For those who want quick ways to 'outsmart the system' this is not the book for you; rather, read it to make sense of the sometimes, seemingly arbitrary game of college admissions. I think this would be a great book for any high school student (my own children will receive a copy in their freshman year of HS!) with plans of attending college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    Compelling insight and true-life stories

    Jacques Steinberg has pulled the covers off the highly selective college admissions processes. With access to every twist and turn, he provides compelling insight to this harrowing rite of passage. Using Wesleyan University as an archetype, his characters are real, adding a personal element to intrigue as riveting as a mystery novel. The passion and professionalism of the admissions Gatekeepers inspires admiration, assuring that there is a school for every kid, and usually the right one. Parents of college-bound students should read this for its humanity, not to get a leg-up on the process. Leave that to the college prep jackals that profit so bountifully by agitating our anxieties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2